Ratings based on 243 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Location and price. Staff very nice.
Location: Close to Midway Airport.
Nice staff. Good location. Aged facility, but clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I truly appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our hotel and our friendly staff. Thank you again for posting your review. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Good value for the money.

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Quiet. Like an apartment. Had a fridge, microwave etc.
Cons: Better soap & shampoo.
Location: Lots of restaurants and stores nearby.
There was a large citywide convention in Downtown Chicago, so all the hotels were either booked or overpriced. This was a great alternative, and just a few miles away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am so pleased to read that you found us to be a great place to stay and that the area had a variety of conveniences. I’m thrilled we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay at a great value. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, Illinois

Over priced

Posted Apr 19, 2015
The hotel was way over priced there were no perks like a coffee pot hair dryer in room. Won't be staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. The situation you described regarding the hotel amenities not being readily available for you is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. We provide dishware, additional toiletries, and hairdryers at the front desk upon request. To prevent this from happening again, my team is being re-coached on explaining the amenities we offer to guests. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Better choices in area

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived around midnight. There was no one at the front desk. Laundry was running and I heard noises in back, it was 5 minutes of loud calling between noises to get front desk help. Apparently there was a leaking sink. Our nonsmoking room smelled of smoke, looked old, had a curtain for a closet door, and most concerning was 2 open bottles of alcohol left in the kitchen area. The phone message system contained 8 old message from a month ago a former guest. We were moved to the room next door quickly. The grab and go breakfast was not what I expected. They kitchens empty, if you ask for supplies then they'll bring items, to me this reflects the area. There are several hotels a short drive away. I would recommend trying one of those. The staff was nice, but this is not a good choice if you have one.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. I appreciate the kind remarks about our staff, but I am sorry to hear that there was a delay at check-in and that you experienced housekeeping issues. In response to your feedback, I am looking into the housekeeping issue and making sure each room is clean upon guest arrival. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Gregoryfrom St. Louis

Weekend visiting friend in Chicago

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed in an Extended Stay hotel in New Orleans and it was fantastic. So this time I decided to stay in one in Chicago. The rate was a lot less than the one in New Orleans so I expected less service. I didn't partake in any amenities like the breakfast. I only needed a place to stay. The location is great, except that there are apparently 2 South State Roads in Chicago and my iPhone kept taking me to the wrong one. Make sure you put in the zip code in any GPS you may have. Staff was friendly and helpful and by using Hotels.com, I only had to present my license and no credit card to check in. Check out was hassle-free too. I recommend it to anyone staying in the Midway Airport area.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Find somewhere else!

Posted Jan 1, 2015
I have stayed in a lot of hotels. This ranks right up there with the worst. Completely ugly and unfriendly entrance and lobby; "I have more important things to do" front desk staff; miserable decor. Noisy bathroom. Not even a spoon in the kitchen. I felt compelled to scour for bedbugs. Did not find any. That's one redeeming quality.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. I am sorry to read that your room did not meet your expectations, and that our staff provided you with such poor service. In response to your feedback, I am having our maintenance engineer inspect the bathroom for noise issues. As well, please note that our dishware and kitchen utensils are available at the front desk upon request. We have removed these items from the rooms to ensure that they are properly sanitized for the health and safety of our guests. Our staff should have informed you of this. I will work with them to ensure that we are being more helpful, informative, and friendly moving forward. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay America location in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom kentucky

Convenient to my Contact an Meetings

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Pros: The response time and action by the maintenance crew; he showed up within minutes and took care of a leaking toilet all within about 20 minutes.
Cons: Policing the hallways and making certain that incidents as I have noted are brought to the persons responsible that they should respect other guests.
Location: Any thing that you can think of happens within five minutes of the hotel. Be that movies, dining, shopping, car repair, car shopping, airport, etc.
The was a lot of actions taking place down and up the hallway in others rooms. Given that the sounding proofing of the walls was not that extensive, you could hear noisy happenings from two rooms away in either direction. One night it was a woman on a triage using more profanity than any one person should. The next night it was a family with three teenaged ? children banging on the door for access in and repeated this demand at least 15 to twenty times in a matter of 5 to ten minutes. In conjunction with this scenario was the youngest one crying through it all and others yelling to tell him to shut it up!!!!. Given that I was out of my room most of the day and into the night, I truly wonder as to how long these situation had really been going on?; and, what the other quests thought about these incidents. The bathroom fan was extremely loud and could not be shut off independent of the light.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Alex - Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location; however, we are disappointed to hear that you were disturbed by noise during your stay. In response to your feedback, we will increase monitoring of our common areas in an effort to maintain a relaxing environment for all of our guests. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by adelinafrom Chicago

sucked

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels
It says queen or 2 doubles. The queen bed is not a queen. Its a double. The room was dirty. Hallway smelled like smoke. Way to experience to pay for something you don't like. I will never stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Adelina - Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are very disappointed to hear that your bed did not meet your expectations and that the cleanliness in your room was not up to standard. We will work with our housekeeping staff to ensure our rooms are cleaned to our standards and smell fresh at all times. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Aaronfrom Grand Rapids, MI

Good price for Thanksgiving.

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
Check-in/check out was quick and easy. Staff was friendly. Hotel lacks fitness or business center. Free Wi-fi is reasonably fast. Continental breakfast has good quick options.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Fair

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Size of room.
Cons: Add kitchen items back. Coffee.
Location: Lots of stores nearby. Far from downtown.
Service is OK. They no longer include any kitchen items in the kitchen. Many guests smoke. Coffee (both vats) tastes terrible. Columbian coffee was especially bad. I think the coffee makers are broken. They raised rates.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our most sincere apologies that our new dishware policies did not meet your expectations, and that our coffee was not to your liking. In response to your feedback, I am inspecting our coffeemakers to ensure that they are working properly. As well, please know that we do offer kitchen items at the front desk upon request. I will work with my staff to ensure that we are better communicating this policy at check-in. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.