Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Not impressed

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Dirty sock under bed very peculiar smell, musty and humid. They should not state breakfast as it is a couple of granola bars and apples. Would not stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Nice hotel..peaceful

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Good and responsive to our needs...moved us to a new room due leak in bathroom and in kitchen..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that you had a leak in your room. Still, we are happy to know that we were able to move you to another room and that you found the staff responsive to your needs. Thank you again for your review. It would be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Jason from Creve Coeur

Great Value

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice room with all the amenities of home. And the price is good for what you get!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Jason - Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your room and found it to be a great price. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should your travels bring you back to our area.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Hell

Posted May 8, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everythinh
Location: Plenty of good dining options
Worst hotel I have ever stayed at in my entire life.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel. I apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Christine from Stob

Close to highway

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was really nice. We didn't cook in the kitchen but the silverware came in handy when we ordered out. Jim was really nice on the phone. I told him it was my husbands birthday so he went out of his way to make sure our room was clean and comfortable. Thanks for the service. Next time we stay it will be be longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Don

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeanie from Pingree Grove

Weekend Getaway

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice nice Hotel. Fast easy check-in. Desk staff very friendly and helpful. Room was very clean, comfortable bed. Would recommend and stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jim M. from Hartland, WI

OK for the discounted price.

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was in great shape...Recently renovated. There were a couple of problems with the kitchenette - The light bulb above the cook-top was burned out (quickly replace by maintenance), and there was no sink drain stopper (the one supplied by maintenance did not fit properly so it was impossible to fill the sink with water to wash the dishes. As advertised, there was no daily linen service for bedding or towels. May or may not stay here again given the high advertised rate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not go there again!

Posted Apr 28, 2014
For all of us, cleanliness and hygiene is the most important thing and somehow this hotel lacked it. The room smelled funny and cleaners were only available once a week. The receptionists were not available after 10 p.m. since most of them would be sitting inside their rooms listening to music or something and we had to yell out several times before they would finally come out to the front desk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the odors and the level of cleanliness in your room. I am working with the housekeeping staff to improve our cleaning procedures to ensure your experience is not repeated. Our housekeeping service is provided once a week for guests staying 8 or more nights. For those who are staying for shorter periods of time, services can be purchased for a minimal fee. Please know, you can reach a member of our staff at any time of the day using our lobby phone. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and it will help us in our efforts to continually improve our hotel. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.