Ratings based on 2,074 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Troy, MI

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Very good hotel, excellent location, and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Not bad for a short stay

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We stayed one night at the Fairmont. I must admit I was a bit disappointed in the quality of the hotel for 4 stars. It was fine - but nothing special. The rooms were a bit noisy - we could hear traffic all night and lots of noise from the hallway. We ordered room service and it took a very long time to get our food. We asked to have a wine bottle opener sent up - since there wasn't one in the room - and it took over an hour to get it. Besides that - it was fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lilburn GA

Great location

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: super view off 36 floor; concierge helped with my husband's surprise birthday to the town.
Cons: More trash cans available...water out but no place for used cups! PS Instead of heavy rose scented lotions & soaps try something cleaner/simple.
Location: Easily walk to park, restaurants and bus stops to museums.
Very nice hotel with good location: walk to bus stops, restaurants and Millennium Park. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We loved the fact you can walk under the buildings in the Pedestrian pedway to get to other places without going outside. (AON building)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Too busy to bring some sheets

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: Staff efficiency, friendliness were sorely laking.
Expect to pay for everything, even things you don't get. Our suite had a pull out couch for the kids to sleep on, but no sheets. We called down for some sheets and pillows around 9 PM. The front desk said they would have some sent up. 45 minutes later, a second call, answered by the same person, sounded surprised that we hadn't received anything, but stated that they were "pretty busy right now". 30 minutes later I called to cancel the request. We took some sheets from the bed, the bathrobes, and some of the girls stuffed animals to make them comfortable (enough) for the night. Not the type of service I would expect from such a "quality" hotel. I will never stay at a Fairmount anywhere ever again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy, comfortable, and great location.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Very pleasant. Nice room, nice hotel appearance. Central location. Overall awesome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Fairmont Chicago, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay especially your accommodations and the hotel's location. I could not ask for a better synopsis of a stay than Awesome. Come back and visit us soon. Kind Regards, Ken Hall Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Very good hotel in a prime location

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Professional Staff & prime location.
Cons: Helping customers to navigate to this hotel.
Location: Architecture River Cruise is about 2 blocks away. Never ever miss the deep dish pizza @ Giordano's which is right behind this building. Go early.
Very good hotel in a prime location. Great privacy and professional staff. But be very careful with your directions to this hotel. If you are driving with your GPS, please be informed that for security reasons, the GPS signals are scrambled to 1 1/2 blocks. Write the down the directions from the mapping software of your choice as you enter the downtown area. I could see the building and struggled to navigate to it eventhough I have significant driving experience in NY, San Fran, and Boston downtowns. The other reason is there are multiple layers of traffic which could confuse you. I had to take one u-turn in the wrong location (safe though) to reach this hotel. The hotel did NOTHING to help me TIPS. If you manage to get there they will take care of it. The vallet parking worked perfectly. No issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Fairmont Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Keyva, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to sample some Chicago-style pizza and take an architectural boat cruise. I hope to welcome you back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Ken Hall Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Short stay, fantastic experience

Posted Aug 4, 2014
We were in Chicago for a 2 night stay and the Fairmont was perfectly placed for us. It is close to all of the attractions and numerous L stations. The beds were super comfortable and the room was a fantastic size for the 2 of us. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Fairmont Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Birdie, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations and a pleasant night's sleep. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Ken Hall Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario

Central Chicago Comfort

Posted Jul 30, 2014
We loved the central downtown location for our sight seeing vacation. The staff was helpful pleasant and completely accommodating! The valet parking worked well for us when staying in Chicago or visiting family just outside Chicago. The food in the restaurant and room service were very good. The room was clean comfortable and the layout worked well especially with 4 adults. The separate water closet (toilet) and big closet gave the extra space we needed. The shower water pressure could have been better and the beds could have been bigger though both worked well for us during our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nc

Nice! Nice!Nice!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
First time to Chicago and boy did I pick a good hotel!!!! I can't think of anything negative to say! It was very convenient and 2 min from Millennium park! Just an awesome trip-oh Engine 13is rightacross the street
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Fairmont Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear reid, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your first trip to the Windy City and liked the location. I hope that a trip to Chicago becomes an annual tradition. Kind Regards, Ken Hall Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern illinois

Perfect for exploring on foot!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Walking across bridge at Wacker to so many sites and restaurants . Parking at Prudential Plaza with great ease! Rooms and Facility a true get away!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Fairmont Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear kathy, Thank you for posting a review on Expedia. I am delighted that you enjoyed your getaway and were able to explore the city. There is so much to see and do, I hope to welcome you back to the Windy City soon. Kind Regards, Ken Hall Hotel Manager