Ratings based on 3,836 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Enjoyed hotel over all

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: The comfort of the room and it's location.
Cons: Clean the grout lines of the shower to remove mold/mildew.
Location: Architectural boat tour was amazing. Lots of museums, shops and restaurants all within short walking distances.
Upon arriving 10 minutes before 3pm check in was told room was not ready. Receptionist took my cell number and said they would text me when it was ready in approximately 15 minutes. 40 minutes later I went back to check in to see if the room was ready. I noticed a shift change in staff occurred and the new person said my room was ready. Fortunately we utilized the ping pong table in the lobby to pass the time. Once in the room it was found to be completely accommodating. Only down side was there was mildew in the grout lines of the shower. Two floors of the hotel are preserved for historic reasons one of which was the 13th floor where it's purported to have a room where Al Capone had a meeting. Would like to have been informed of that neat piece of history. Overall it was a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

The best in the area!

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Fantastic views and room accommodations. Best location!
Location: Michigan Avenue shopping, Navy Pier, Architecture Boat Toura, Ghiradelli ice cream and chocolate shoppe
Our favorite hotel. Really experience all of Chicago here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin

Giant room with a view

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: Cool art deco, historic building with interesting prohibition era history and symbolism.
Cons: maybe only fill the fridge halfway with crappy soda and alcohol so that parents can put in a small bottle of milk to subdue their toddler in the AM
Location: Great location and great view of Millennium Park. Close to the river and downtown attractions.
We had originally booked a more expensive hotel but there was barely room to move around the beds so we checked out early and moved to the Hard Rock. Our room was massive and was reasonably priced. Everything was clean and the beds were very comfortable. Only downsides were some cracked tile in the bathroom and the minibar situation. The minibar has two problems. 1) The snacks (candy and chips priced at about $8) have a motion sensor that means they charge you for picking it up!!! I don't have to explain how this is stupid and inconvenient when traveling with small children who cannot read or comprehend the meaning of the little warning sign. 2) They pack the mini fridge with drinks and alcohol leaving no room for you to put anything in - also full of Pepsi, gross.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Muy buen hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Excelente ubicación, personal muy amable. Buen restaurant
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need some work

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Cons: The bathrooms needs an update rush!!!
Location: Location was great.
I change my room three times the bathroom was horrible (tiles broken and grout dirty).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Disappointing, but adequate.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: The location of this hotel is great. It has quick access to the buses and trains. The location and concierge staff were the saving grace.
Cons: Decor and business center.
Location: Lots of shopping, night venues, and restaurants were within walking distance. Also very quick access to CTA for all transportation needs.
This Hard Rock Chicago was adequate, but far from other Hard Rock properties I've stayed at. I was assigned three different rooms within the first 5 hours. The first room smelled like sewage, the second was extremely noisy as it backed up against an elevator shaft, and the third one was fine. The business center's three computers routinely didn't work or connect to the internet. The front desk staff were adequate, but the various concierge staff were very helpful and friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Have to pay for wifi there's really no bar in the hotel that's open late or has any room no lounge area. I checked in late and the guys didn't seem to know anything charged me twice then accused me of not having the money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from omaha

Booked for family of 5, beds for 4

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Booked room for 2 adults & 3 teens. Photo of room clearly showed 2 queens & a couch. We checked in & room did not have couch- one of our kids has to sleep on a chair as hotel was out of rollaways. Check in time was 3, our room was not ready- no apologies for this or the lack of beds. Our reservation clearly shows the number of people & their ages- why ask for this information if no one pays attention to it. You should not allow someone to book this room if you cannot accommodate sleeping for 5
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Has good location, but....

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: the location
Cons: The staff was not very friendly
Location: The Millenium park and the Museum of Art are very close.
The bathroom was smelling mold. The lights close to the bed and the safe box were not working. When I received the checkout summary several beers were in my account, but anyone has drinked......In overall, looks like the hotel is outdated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 11, 2015
The hotel was clean and the downtown location was great. My only complaint is there is no fridge or microwave in the room.They offered to bring one up for 10$ each. Even the red roof inn has a microwave