Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Nice stay. Chair in our room was extremely worn and one curtain was falling off the rail, but otherwise a decent room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: It was like a home away from home.
Cons: Improve the breakfast selection and equipment. Also check the condition of the room microwaves.
Location: Within a few miles... Mitsuwa Marketplace Woodfield Mall About an hour drive... Shedd Aquarium Science and Industry museum Downtown Chicago
My family stayed here for the weekend; we had two rooms. The rooms were clean, the flat screen TVs were a bit small but there were two (one in the bedroom and one in the living room), kitchen was small but enough, and the AC worked. I'm glad to see that there was dish soap available, hand extra towels, garbage bags, and a sofa bed with extra sheets and pillows. The fridge also had an ice maker. There were a few minor things that did not go so well. I thought the breakfast was a bit lacking compared to other places I've stayed at -- particularly the drink dispenser and waffle station was not working. Luckily I had leftovers from our dinner that filled me up. That goes into our next issue: the room microwaves were not working as well as they should. I had to set long timers for my food to properly heat up. Overall though, I'd stay here again. The staff was friendly and resourceful. It was unfortunate that my two rooms were far from each other but I can appreciate the effort that used to try and get them close. Also, there is plenty to do in the area; Woodfield mall is only a few minutes away with many restaurants also within reach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice Place if you have a Car

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Freddie!
Cons: They could get a vending machine or 2 -- if I could get food past 8:00 a.m., I wasn't aware of it or told about it.
Location: Close to the Convention Center which is what I wanted, but not much else.
The place is nice and clean, but I was hoping to find a hotel with a restaurant, coffee shop, bar or other amenities, and even though you get a full breakfast at Hawthorn Suites, that's the only time you can get food at this hotel -- this is why I gave them 4 stars instead of 5. The front desk clerk said it's really meant for longterm residents, or if you have a car and can get out and travel on your own. I was stuck taking cabs all the time -- and their "preferred All-Star" cab company is horrible -- I ended up using Uber after the 2 bad experiences and will never use All-Star again. Freddie, the shuttle bus driver, made my stay more than bearable -- he was fantastic! Dan at the front desk is also nice and helpful ... even though he may not remember you 5 minutes later :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2015 by Your Hawthorn Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to complement our property. In addition to our daily, complimentary breakfast buffet, we also have a manager’s reception we conduct 3 times a week in the event that you do not want to venture out and would prefer to have a light meal. We also have a great local company that will go to almost every one of our local restaurants and deliver it directly to your room anytime of the day. I can’t wait to share your review with Freddie and Dan, both love to hear that they were able to contribute to a guest enjoying their stay. Wishing you many happy travels,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Very clean, quiet, and comfortable hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Big Disappoinhtment!

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Traffic was difficult everday.
Our 4 night stay was booked through Expedia and therefore nonrefundable; otherwise, we would have never stayed. Our first impression to the last was disgusting. The hallway floor had crushed potato chips, torn paper,and used q-tips that remained on the floor our entire stay.; The hallway was also filled with disgusting cooking odors of Indian foods. Bedsheets were not changed daily and towels replaced only if requested. If you could find a seat in the tiny breakfast room, you'd find the breakfast which was included was not edible. This stay has certainly made sure we would never book a Wyndom property again..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Nice hotel in a nice area

Posted Jun 15, 2015
The hotel was clean and in a nice safe area not far from Chicago. The check in and out were quick with the staff being friendly. The hotel had a hot breakfast buffet each morning which was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Overall experience is above average. I would recommend the hotel to my friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Great place to stay!

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Stuart, desk clerk, was very friendly and helpful. Great overnight stay and would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Trip to visit mom

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Location: Great evening at Benihana's - across the parking log
Last minute trip to visit mom. Good weekend rate, friendly staff .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2015 by Your Hawthorn Team, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are very excited that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you had a fabulous time with Mom. Excited to see you again!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty okay experience

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: Location and big room
Cons: air fresheners
Location: They had a Wine Steak and Fish place across the street but most everything you have to drive to.
I got in an hour earlier before the 3pm check in and was told there were no rooms ready for check in, so I left and came back an hour later and still no rooms ready for check in. Once I was able to check in I was put in a room that had a really strange smell coming from the bathroom. My shower curtain had hair and maybe toilet paper in one of the rings. Room size was nice and location was good.