Ratings based on 637 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Location convenient to our son

Posted Feb 24, 2015
We have stayed here twice. It is conveniently located to our son who lives in Chicago. The motel is clean but dated. Rooms do not have hairdryer, clock, mini-fridge, coffee maker. It is very basic but clean and the bed is comfortable. Breakfast is basic. Cereal, coffee, juice, donuts, apples, instant oatmeal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Parkville, Mo

Good Basic stay

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Clean
Location: Aragon Ballroom is 2 miles away
Stayed there for New Years. Every thing was fine. Nothing extravagant or anything. Clean rooms, nice staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southern Illinois

Nice when you just need a place to stay

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable beds, good water temperature and triple locked doors.
Cons: maybe complementary shampoo/conditioner in the shower.
Location: nothing but a white caste, domino's and a small bar nearby but you're a 15 minute walk from the Red Liine
No frills here just a nice, clean place to stay. Water pressure in the shower was a little too extreme for my liking, and the only complementary cleaning product was a wrapped bar of soap but luckily I brought my own. Beds were comfortable, room was warm and doors were triple locked. 2 minute walk from White Castle if you get hungry late at night. I didn't get to try the complementary breakfast, but it was offered from 6am-10am
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bloomfield Hills, MI

Retro Motel near Andersonville

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Clean 1960's basic motel close to Andersonville and the CTA Red Line. Room and furniture dated, like taking a step back in time before flat screen TV, in-room fridge and ironing boards became expected amenities. Plusses are price, location, free parking. On the minus side light sleepers should bring earplugs for traffic noise and the very loud HVAC units. Wi-fi signal was weak/slow. Continental breakfast buffet was carbs, coffee and juice only, no protein. Courteous and efficient staff. Not the kind of room you want to linger or lounge in, but a fine and reasonably priced place to crash at the end of a day exploring the neighborhood or city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Horrible TV channel options. The TV set was an old tube TV as well. Very dated
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michaelfrom Connecticut

Old School Motel

Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is definitely an "Old School" Motel. It is straight out of the 1970s!! There is a lot of traffic noise. On the other hand, the price and location are great and the room was very clean and odor-free. It does have wifi and limited continental breakfast (coffee was fresh and good). We found lots of good pubs,restaurants,and shops in easy(less than 1 mile)walking distance. If you are just looking for a cheap, clean, base of operations to explore Chicago, this one will do just fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Simonfrom Aalborg, Denmark

Great standard American Motel

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
We wanted a trip to Chicago. Since we are students we wanted something cheap. The Heart O' Chicago Motel was fairly cheap the location was perfect since it was only a 800 meters walk to Thorndale station (1-day ticket for public transport cost 10$, 3-day for 20$) with direct route to downtown Chicago. The Hotel room was what we expected, two 1.5 beds which were really comfortable. Since their were a lot of traffic nearby we could hear the police cars driving by, but this was really not a big problem but expect to hear the sirens from police cars. The most annoying thing in the hotel room was the air condition, it was really noisy we were able to feel asleep when it was not running, but if you woke up during the night we could not feel asleep again until it turned off. The television was a 4:3 monitor which cutted off parts of the screen, so if you want to see a lot of tv during your stay, you should probably consider other options, however, again this was not a problem at all for us. Breakfast, is included in the rent. expect donuts, and cupcake as the only type of bread. They serve juice, tea and coffee. Lastly they serve oatmeal and apples. Parking, we had no problems with parking our car a lot us space(time of visit was november, so probably off season), and the parking lot is hiding behind a wall so people passing by the motel on the road cannot see what's inside your car so easy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Theresafrom Rhode Island

family college weekend

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was expensive for such a motel. It was old, very outdated, on a busy intersection (heard traffic all night). I have stayed in much nicer places in Chicago for not much more money, but unfortunately booked late and did not have many choices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com