Ratings based on 336 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Nice but not comfortable

Posted Jan 20, 2015
This is a value priced biz hotel that has a nice location for doing biz in and around Lake Forest. It has a comfortable lobby, easy access location and easy parking with nice staff. However, the rooms are small and the beds are hard. The bathrooms are small and basic as well. I had just stayed at a Marriott Courtyard in another city and this hotel room was not as comfortable or as large as that hotel. I was here with my family and we were comfortable but not impressed. We'll stay at the Marriott next door next time we come to visit family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 22, 2015 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We will certainly look for any opportunity to improve upon what we do. We're happy to hear that it does sound as if you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel including a comfortable lobby, great location, and most importantly friendly and helpful service. I do want to apologize that the room size did not meet your expectations. At 335 sq. feet our rooms are above industry average for a typical guestroom but it sounds like you've enjoyed some very spacious accommodations at other locations such as the all-suite Residence Inn next door. I can certainly understand the need for some extra space when traveling with a large family. We do appreciate your business and we wish you safe travels on your next adventure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Hilton Garden Inn - Lake Forest

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Husband and I met friends from out of the area, so we alls stayed at this hotel overnight. Nice low key bar where we could easily visit. Good area for night out for a good meal. I would recommend the hotel. The only down side (and it wouldn't stop me from staying here) is that the rooms that face 94 are loud from road traffic. We just turned up the fan in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the outstanding review and wonderful comments. Great to hear you enjoyed the bar at our new Garden Grille & Bar. It sounded like a fun evening with friends and we are glad to have been of service. We hope to see you again sometime soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wilmington, Delaware

excellent

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing that I can think of
we where there for my daughters 50t birthday party being held at another location. The Hilton location was perfect to everything that was taking place . The hotel staff was very friendly the room was great and very clean with the most comfortable bed I've ever sleep in
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Tom, Thank you so much for the kind words and for taking the time to share your experience. We're so glad to know you found the property to be clean, comfortable, and convenient. Of course it's always wonderful to hear about great service being provided. We really appreciate you choosing our hotel and we hope you'll stay with us again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Even side is loud do to proximity of the highway

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Pretty close to the location I needed to travel to for business.
Cons: Quality of the mattresses. Sound reducing glass on the even side of the hotel.
Location: I was visiting for business so I did not get to go out
The biggest issue was the noise that came from the highway. I was 3 floors up and had an even numbered room near the elevator; all night the traffic on the highway was buzzing and it was difficult to fall asleep. I wanted to turn the fan on in the bathroom, but for whatever reason, they don't have fans. Trying to get comfortable in the bed and I swear that every person before me slept on the alarm clock side of the bed; there was a impression from over use. The far side of the mattress was firm enough from lack of use.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed and unfiltered feedback. Without it, we cannot strive for continous improvement. I do want to personally apologize for the unacceptable discomfort caused by highway noise. A good night's sleep is critical to a great stay, and I am truly sorry for your frustration. It is a fact that some guests do occasionally experience enough noise from the tollway that it impacts their stay. Please know that our team is prepared to do anything within their ability to ensure this is a non-issue. We welcome and encourage request for non-highway side accommodations. We are able to consistently satisfy these request for the many regular, loyal guests that stay with us each week. In regards to your mattress...thanks to your feedback we discovered an issue with the adjustable firmness control system and it has now been resolved. Should you see fit to visit again I'm confident we can exceed your expectations, and most importantly we will deliver a great night's rest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Hillaryfrom Green bay

Stay was nice

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a nice time! Hotel was very nice, the only complaint I have is the bed was joy very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thank you for the overall excellent review and for taking the time to share your feedback. My personal apologies that the bed comfort did not meet your expectations. Our Garden Sleep System beds offer fully adjustable firmness settings which should allow for wide appeal to all guests. It's clear there was an issue with your bed that did not allow this to happen. Our engineering team has likely already discovered any possible issue during routine preventive inspection but I will personally follow up to ensure it's certain. We hope you'll plan to stay with us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the stay, we would stay there again. The staff was very accomodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. It sounds like you had a great overall experience and it's particularly rewarding to learn that the service and hospitality provided by our team stood out. You mention that you would stay again and we hope that you have the chance to do just that. We really appreciate you choosing our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Junefrom Tenafly, NJ

Wonderful in every respect

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Every detail has been considered to make you welcome you here, from the sunny atrium lobby, where there are coffee and cookies, to the unusually clean and comfortable bed and bedding. Breakfast is as easy as can be, and there is also a bar after 5. Pool and hot tub. Business services. Friendly staff. Great location near Lake Forest and I-94. We were delighted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
WOW, what an awesome review...thank you for sharing such incredibly kind words! It's wonderful to be appreciated so please know how much we appreciate happy, satisfied guests like you. It sounds like every aspect of your experience was outstanding...we're glad to have exceeded your expecations. Frankly, we are the ones that are "delighted" to have had you choose our hotel. We hope you'll plan to stay with us again the next time you visit the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Forest, IL

Posted Sep 17, 2014
The hotel staff is incredibly friendly and welcoming. The rooms are spotless, which is very important for a clean freak like myself. I did not use the pool facilities so I can not speak to that, but, overall, it was a very pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 22, 2014 by Jason, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for sharing such outstanding feedback! It's always very gratifying to read about exceptional hospitality being provided by our team. Also, anytime a self described "clean freak" tells us our rooms are spotless we are always thrilled. Frankly, we welcome the toughest critics and encourage, even beg for their unedited feedback as we know it's our best opportunity to maintain our goal of constant improvement. Thanks for choosing Hilton Garden Inn Lake Forest/Mettawa and please come back and see us again soon.