Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2015
The hotel was clean but, showed signs of age. They did very little to make the areas outside the hotel look appealing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Charlotte FL

No cleaning service

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: Closeness of restaurant
Cons: Service
Location: Was not part of our trip.
We stayed 4 nights here for which we paid an additional service charge to keep a dog. Two days we did not receive any cleaning service. One day we left the room at 11:45 and return at 8:00 pm. The second time we left the room at 10:30 and returned at 4:30. In both instances no cleaning had been done. I was told that the cleaning staff would not return to check a room once they tried. The dog was never left in the room alone. I find this totally unreasonable and will be unlikely to stay at a Holiday Inn again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2015 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
We'd like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us about your stay. We are truly sorry to hear about your experience and can assure you we have addressed the issue with our housekeeping department so this situation does not occur again. Thank you for your patronage and we do look forward to your return so that we may better serve you.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, IA

Don't stay here!

Posted Jun 6, 2015
I arrived late in the evening to check in and the front desk help was very friendly. When we got to our room it was stuffy, so I tried to turn on the air. After a few minutes of meddling with the old fashioned dials on the air conditioner, still no air. I called the front desk to ask if there was something I needed to do differently to make it work. The front desk lady, who was very nice, suggested I turn the light switch on and off. Ok, I know she was joking, but it was midnight, I was exhausted, and I just wanted air. She offered a new room, which we were going to take, when magically the air came on. The bed and pillows were comfortable and I slept well. However the next morning when I needed to get ready to go, I couldn't get the shower to turn on. Again, meddling with it for a few minutes: push, pull, turn, etc...no agua. Then my son gave it a try. Not a drip. Since we were in a hurry to go, there was no time to deal with switching rooms for a shower. Therefore, we cleaned up the best we could with washcloths and a sink. Upon checking out I told the front desk clerk about the shower and she said she would send maintenance up, but there was no offer to refund or anything that would help make it right for us. While the staff was decently nice, I would definely not stay here again. At the very least, when paying for a hotel room I expect that a working shower is included in the price! Not worth any of the hassles for basic comforts.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Not far away from Chicago.
Cons: It was clean and well maintained, but out dated.
When we reviewed the hotel on line it said that there was breakfast. I was assuming that that meant continental breakfast. No this was breakfast served in there restaurant down stairs. Also I was looking for a hotel with a pool. Well they do have a pool, but it was being renovated. Wonderful when that is what you specifically was looking for. Should say something on site if something like this is happening. No refund so had to stay there or dish out more money on another place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2015 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our guests’ opinions matter to us a great deal so we want to thank you for your feedback concerning our property. We do try to make every effort to update information regarding the hotel when guests are making reservations. We apologize greatly for the confusion on about the continental breakfast and that the updated information about the pool being renovated at the time of your stay. We do hope your travels bring you back to the Matteson area and you would give us another try to exceed your expectations!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Matteson IL

Nice hotel, too bad the staff is not

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Nice ammenities
Cons: staff should be more polite to paid customers
Location: many restaurants
Our room hadn't been cleaned and I call down to the front and she was completely rude and hung up on me because we needed clean towels and she said she was busy. We offered to bring the towels down and everything and she said no we had to wait because housekeeping was gone and we paid for a week stay there. Then we had to ask for our room to be cleaned a second time. The elevators weren't working also
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2015 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointments you experienced during your stay. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. It is unfortunate that we fell short in achieving this goal in regards to your experience. Please rest assured the issues that you experienced with the staff was immediately addressed. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunedin, Fl.

Nice hotel, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
The hotel was great, stayed for 2 nights while working nearby. Staff was friendly, room was comfortable. Ate at Bar Louie's in the lobby both nights, food was tasty and a large selection of draft beers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2015 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review! We will be sure to pass along your kind words to our staff. We look forward to servicing you again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Lashana is great

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Lashana really made our experience, she was extremely friendly and helpful. Our shower was clogged as soon as we arrived which was super disappointing. She said she would call someone to fix it but they didn't come so we decided to go to dinner and assumed it would be fixed when we came back. It wasn't, so she called again and someone came right away and fixed it! Because of the wait she gave us a complimentary breakfast which was greatly appreciated. I would recommend this hotel just because of how great Lashana is!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2015 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review and for recognizing LaShana. She is an incredible asset to our hotel and it's wonderful to have her recognized for her awesome guest service. We greatly appreciate you allowing us the privilege of serving you and look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bradley from Wisconsin

overall nice place

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
Room was nice little small for family of 4. Bad thing pool was out of order with no notice from hotels.com so we had no pool. Hotels.com gave us partial refund, but I will call ahead before I book from now on.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the lack of notice with the pool being renovated and out of order. We do hope the rest of your stay was enjoyable with your family. We look forward to better serving you in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Ok Hotel...Not-So-Friendly Staff

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Clean and comfy rooms, nice pool, great location.
Cons: Staff needs training on making customers feel that their business is appreciated.
Location: Lots of nearby restaurants and conveniences.
I had two encounters with the hotel staff that were very rude. I'm six months pregnant and was taking my six-year-old to the pool, and there was an oddly-placed security guard at the pool entrance who hassled me about not having a blue wristband to get into the pool. The front desk never told me we needed one, and the night before we swam without the bands with no problem (you access the pool area with your room key, so I'm confused as to why these bands are needed in the first place). The "guard" looked me up and down and treated me like a criminal even after I explained that the front desk failed to inform us of the band policy...after listening to his mumbling for a bit he reluctantly let us in. The other issue: The second evening of our stay we returned to the room to find that the maid had not visited (we did take the "do not disturb" sign down). I was ok with this actually, but we needed towels. When I called the front desk to request some, the attendant said "ok" and then promptly hung up on me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by lashelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels