Ratings based on 608 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 30, 2015
Great value for money and centrally located to explore around Chicago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom 東京

相部屋が気にならず宿泊費を安く上げたい方におすすめ

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: ドミトリーのイメージから不潔なところを想像していましたが、全く不潔な所はありませんでした。 また、無料のwifiがもらえますが、通信速度が驚くほど早かったのは驚きでした。 個室のホテルでも恐ろしくインターネット回線速度が遅い所があるので覚悟していましたが、いい意味で裏切られました。
Cons: 特にありません。
Location: 鉄道の駅が近いのでどこにでも出やすいです。 バットマン・ビギンズのロケ地が点在しているので、好きな人は鉄道の1日券を買ってロケ地巡りも楽しいかもしれません。 私もジョーカーが銀行強盗をするシーンが撮影された郵便局の跡地に行きましたがあまりの重厚な作りに圧倒されました。
シカゴに3日滞在することになり、街から離れず宿泊費を抑えたかったので人生初めてのドミトリーを選択しました。少し不安でしたが中の雰囲気も綺麗で安心できました。 私の部屋は2段ベッドが4台並ぶ8人部屋でした。 貴重品(PC、カメラ)が心配でしたが、ベットの脇に人数分の大きなロッカーが備え付けられていて安心でした。 ただし南京錠は自分で用意する必要があります。私はホテルの向かいにあるmacy’sで購入しました。 ロッカーは機内持ち込みが出来るキャリーバッグであれば余裕で入る大きさのため、よっぽど大荷物で無い限り荷物が入らないことは無いでしょう。 ただ、私も含め同室の人は貴重品のみロッカーに入れ、洋服などが入ったカバンは外に出している感じでした。 バスルームは部屋に1つ備え付けられていて、シャンプー/ボディーソープも自由に使用できるものがあります。 バスタオルはチェックインの際にベッドにおいてあり、それを使用します。 2泊3日の滞在でしたが、ベッドメイクもタオルのチェンジもなかったので、気になる人はカウンターに持っていけば対応してくれるかもしれません。 私は使用しませんでしたがランドリールームもあり、長期の滞在でも対応できそうです。 共同スペースも充実していて、フロアに一つ共同キッチンがあったり、ランドリースペース、飲み物やスナックなどの自動販売機などもありました。 朝食も付いていてシリアル、パン、リンゴなど簡単に済ますなら十分な内容でした。 2Fは共同スペースになっていて、ビリヤード台やピンポン台なども設置されていました。 私は参加しなかったので内容はわかりませんが、ホテル主催のイベントなども定期的に行われている様です。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent firm bed.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Free food, though mostly carbs for breakfast.
Cons: Add aggs to breakfast.
Location: Very cental and 2 blocks from multilple trains.
No sink in room but bed was really good and that's what a room is all about. Under 50% occupancy in the 4+4 room suite so very little delay sharing only men's toilet and shower. Spare shower and toilet in hall was usually available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom JAPAN

ダウンタウンにあって、安い。

Posted May 7, 2015
Pros: スタッフの対応、所在地。
Cons: とくになし。
Location: ダウンタウンにあって、周辺にもある程度のお店がそろっている。 シカゴ美術館にも近い。
所在地、費用などとてもよかったです。 またスタッフの対応も非常に丁寧で、私の質問にも丁寧に対応してくれました。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philippines

Ideal location

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Accessibility
Cons: Maintenance
Location: A lot of attraction a few steps away
We had a nice time. The hotel is very accessible to the main tourist attractions of Chicago and the transport system as well. The continental breakfast is just enough considering that there are many food choices nearby. This is ideal for family and groups, although not suited for those who want privacy and extra comfort. Perfect for a few days of stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a quick trip to Chicago

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: friendly staff, nice rooms, clean
Location: Perfect location! Downtown, across the street form Millenia park.
I usually don't write reviews, but HI deserves one. I went to Chicago for a conference. I was a bit skeptical about staying at a hostel- would it be safe? Would it be a bunch of rowdy kids, etc. Instead, I found a very nice hostel, in a perfect location (right across the street from Millennia park). The staff were super friendly, even maintenance went out of their way to talk to you and make sure you had everything you needed. Also to my surprise, there were a lot of older adults there, and a good amount of the people staying there seemed to be on business trips or attending conferences, so it had quite a mature/professional atmosphere. The safety is great. You need a key to get in the building, in the elevator and into your room. I stayed in a dorm, with 8 beds, and we all shared a bathroom/shower (with extra in the hallway). Each floor had a kitchen/fridge for us to use as well. Everyone I dormed with was nice, didn't need to worry about them being up late or being loud. HI also provides a nice breakfast selection and has a great lounging area. I'll definitely be back in I'm in this area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Didn't know hostels could be this nice...

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff, free breakfast and WIFI, very inexpensive rates.
Cons: Slightly bigger rooms, if possible.
Location: Great location, in the south loop of Chicago. Right next to public transportation. A few blocks from Michigan Avenue and lakeside activities.
I had a fantastic time staying at HI in Chicago. Very pleased with everything. I thought hostels were for unkempt college kids, but boy, was I wrong. Stayed there for a conference last weekend, and now wish that I had known about these earlier. Very clean, attentive, friendly, helpful, and the like. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York Upstate

Nice hostel in the heart of Chicago

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: I guess everything.
Cons: Hard to think of anything when I think it was the best hostel I have stayed in so far.
Location: I could walk to many interesting places and I love walking! Art of Institute, Cloud Gate, John Hancock tower with an impressive view over the city.
I was greatly surprised by the professionalism, easy access to many things and general cleanliness. Nice free breakfast, free Internet, main attractions close by - why would you ask for more? And all of that for a very reasonable price. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MI

Ideal for a short stay

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: I liked the activity room on the 2nd floor. It was more comfortable than my room.
Cons: Mattress and pillow
Location: It is really close to the loop. Panera bread is within a walkable distance.
Since I needed a lodging only for a few hours before take-off at ORD, I chose this place. Given the price and hours I spent, it was okay. However, it you look for comfy stay, then I would not recommend this place. This place is hostel for backpackers. Basically, you may have 7 other people in the room with a noisy HVAC. If you don't have a hostel membership, they charge you extra $3.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Awesome experience

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The most economical place to stay in the downtown chicago which has clean bathrooms beds, good breakfast and awesome student environment!