Ratings based on 2,198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charleston, illinpis

My review

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: The room was clean.
The rooms were too small. Most people would appreciate a bigger room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto ON

Chicago - my kind of town!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location, added touches
Cons: We love to have a coffee maker in our room - it would have been nice to have one but not a big deal.
Location: Everything is near by including the rapid transit system which we used to get to the Sox game on Wednesday!
We had a 5 day visit to Chicago planned that incorporated both business and pleasure. Our hotel experience complimented a great 5 days in Chicago. We look for clean facilities, good showers and comfortable beds. In addition we enjoyed a great location within walking distance of great shopping, theaters and great night life. In addition we were treated to a nightly wine tasting hour with h'or d'oeuvres in the very nicely laid out lobby area. Not much more you could ask for! Our room had absolutely no view but we did not mind a bit!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Nice hotel in the theatre district

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Very kind and friendly staff. Complimentary coffee in the morning, refreshment in the evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the Loop District

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
It is close to many attractions and was able to do lot by walking. Close to many hop-on hop-off pickup points. Very convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel close to train and downtown

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Not much they can do about room and bathroom size.
Small room; very small bathroom. The staff was pleasant. I wouldn't stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Downtown hotel with a much bigger potential

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location, decor.
Cons: plumbing, A/C, elevators.
I stayed in Kimpton Allegro on Saturday night in July. I was able to get a reasonably good rate from Expedia - $200 with taxes for a king bed room. The check in time started at 3 pm. I arrived to the hotel at noon and a receptionist took my phone number and called me an hour later (while I was having lunch in a nearby cafe) to notify me that my room was ready. The room was on the 11th floor. There are only 3 guest elevators in the building and no matter time of day or night, they were always slow/ and full. So one time I ended up using a service elevator, after waiting for a guest elevator for more than 5 minutes. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Despite A/C being set to 65 degrees, the room felt dump and humid. The bathroom was small and the toilet was clogged. Before I used it for a first time I had to call maintenance to fix it. They did..and after flashing 3 or 4 sheets of toilet paper it clogged again!!! The ice machines were only on even floors and it so happened that the machines on 10th and 12th floors were out of ice, so it took me a while to fill the ice bucket. Despite the hotel being in a nice location, I would not stay there again... I never had to deal with a clogged toilet in the hotel, and it happened twice here...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good stay!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
No problems with Hotel at all. Location ideal with Train Station only a short walk away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Do not stay here.

Posted Jul 20, 2014
I travel frequently and have stayed at Kimpton hotels before. This stay ruined Kimpton for me. I was moving across the country and chose this hotel as a good place to stop and rest. Under the watch of housekeeping staff, while we were checking in, our cooler with water, food, etc. was stolen from the lobby when we stepped out for a few minutes to move our vehicle. We arrived at 4am, given that our food and water was gone, we asked if they could give us a few bottles of water and snacks or point us in the direction of a vending machine. They declined the request and had us walk to a 24 hour convenient store a few blocks away...at 4am in Chicago. Overall the service was terrible. I called 5 days in advance and the day of to remind them that I'd be traveling with a dog and cat, thinking they'd have a litter box, beds, bowls...not the case, we waited until the next day for a litter box. Do not stay at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Comfy bed!

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: The noise and the thermostat. Loud music in the lobby and entrance, and from the room you can hear people in the hallway and the floor above.
Location: The location was great-we were within walking distance from the parks, museums, shopping and restaurant.
My husband and I stayed from Thursday night to Sunday morning. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom is huge. There are plenty of outlets to plug in ipads, phone chargers, etc. It's a very loud hotel-there is loud music playing in the entrance and lobby of hotel, and from your room you can hear people in the hallway and people on the floor above you. The workout room is really nice-with plenty of towels, water and late-model exercise machines. The room is set at 66 degrees and when we moved the thermostat to 70, the heat kicked on. The room is small-only the bed and a small desk. The staff is very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Saint Joseph, MI

Hotel close to Broadway Theaters and restaurants.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Convenient for walking to Broadway Theaters and superb restaurants. Encore was open for drinks after theater finished.
Cons: Deluxe king size bed room and bathroom too small, need sink with drain stopper, need love seat or 2 chairs for watching TV, and need coffee maker.
Able to check in a little early and parking was close by. Liked internal entrances to Encore for great drinks and to 312 Chicago for an excellent dinner with superb service and a great breakfast with superb service. Convenient for walking to the Oriental Theater to see Motown. Disappointed in the size of the Deluxe king size bed room and bathroom and other negative features such as no loveseat or additional seating, a coffee maker and other amenities compared to other hotels we have stayed at in downtown Chicago. I marked Yes for recommending this hotel to a friend because of its location to surrounding theaters, restaurants, and points of interest and not for the quality of the hotel room features.