Ratings based on 1,497 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wood Dale, IL

Weekend away. Staff is always friendly and helpful

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: The elevator could be a little faster. At one point there were ten people waiting on the third floor for the elevator.
Location: Near everything I was interested in seeing and doing.
This is becoming a regular winter break tradition. The price is right, the place is great and the food at the Meli is fabulouts
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Guatemala

Great location, Great comfort

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: location and comfort
Cons: shower caps and body mirror
Location: Starbucks Michigan Ave
They were missing with shower caps and a body mirror in my room, but great restaurant, location
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by Michael Ditterline, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review. Your feedback is valuable. Thanks for the compliments! I am glad that you enjoyed our historic Printer's Row location. Warm Regards, Michael Ditterline, GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom c

Unexpected gem.

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Staff was very friendly, located near theater district am close to hwy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by Michael Ditterline, Hotel Management
Thank you for your compliment! I am glad that you found the location convenient to your needs. Thank you for staying with us! Michael Ditterline, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Check in was very smooth, the bell captain and front desk person were very helpful and friendly. The hotel us within walking distance of many bars, restaurants and shopping. The room was very comfortable. Not much of a view but it was clean and had a roomy bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2015 by Michael Ditterline, Hotel Management
Tom, Thank you for taking the time to review and for the compliments. I am glad you found the area to have many amenities and things to do. I hope you come back again very soon! Thank you! Michael Ditterline, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very friendly staff.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Parking was a bit expensive, but being from a small town, we don't pay to park.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Michael Ditterline, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and the compliments! We hope to have you back soon! Sincerely, Michael Ditterline, GM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not luxury hotel, but personal

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Cons: Friendly, helpful staff and very reasonable price.
Location: Gino's East pizza is across the street! Classic Chicago deep-dish pizza.
If you're looking for a luxury hotel on or near Michigan Avenue or Chicago's Gold Coast, this isn't it. It's not new, it's not in a great neighborhood (Printer's Row), and it's not close to any major attractions. However, it is small, reasonably priced, and personal. The small staff befriends you almost instantly, making your stay feel personal and homey. They are very helpful, too. (Shout out to the entertaining and helpful doorman, "Showtime.") The room was comfortable and clean and the hotel adjoins a restaurant with yummy food. A good choice for those on a budget who don't mind walking a bit more or taking transportation to popular tourist attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Michael Ditterline, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review. I am am glad that you enjoyed our staff and they made you feel like you were home! We hope to have you back in the future. Sincerely, Michael Ditterline,GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago, il

Posted Jan 9, 2015
The hotel was great! The room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable. The front desk was very helpful and accommodating when we needed an extended check out time. I would definitely recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2015 by Michael Ditterline, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review! I am glad we were able to accomodate your needs. Please come back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bournemouth, UK

Excellent hotel; excellent location.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Everything! The location, the room size, the staff...all perfect.
Cons: Nothing, really. Although laying out bottles of water that cost $4 (if you open them) in the rooms for tired travellers is a bit of a liberty!
Location: Centrally located, a couple of blocks from a blue line and red line train. Ten minutes from the Willis Tower by foot, good bus links too.
I had a wonderful 3-night stay in this hotel over the new year. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and my room was large and quiet. The hotel is located very well, just a couple of blocks from a blue line 'L' station (thus easy to reach from O'Hare airport), and a ten minute walk from the Willis Tower. It doesn't take much longer to reach pretty much anywhere else in the city, either on foot or via the 'L'. My only real negative I can think of is that the cafe located in the same building (although I believe privately owned) is pretty expensive for average food - I paid $20 (including tip) for a large orange juice and some pancakes on my first morning. I never went back. There are plenty of other options in the area, though. Overall, an excellent hotel. Would happily stay there again and recommend it to anyone thinking of a trip to Chicago :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Michael Ditterline, Hotel Management
Shane, Thank you for the wonderful review! I am so glad you enjoyed our historic Printer's Row location! We love it too! I will let the staff know what a wonderful job they are doing! Thanks again! Sincerely, Michael Ditterline, GM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The hotel's location is great and the staff really friendly. However, we didn't like that the elevator doesn't go directly to all the floors. With my elderly mother, we had to walk up about 12 stairs to get up to our room. Not ideal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Michael Ditterline, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review. I apologize for the inconvenience you endured with your mother. Our building is actually three buildings connected to each other so in construction there was need for stairs on our 2nd and 8th floors. We hope you come again and please let our staff know that stairs would be an inconvenience, they will be more than willing to accommodate your needs. Thank you for the compliments, I am glad that you enjoyed our great location in historic Printer's Row. Sincerely, Michael Ditterline
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The people who work at the front desk is pretty nice. He is funny, I remember his name is showtime. I feel like the Hotle like a home because of him!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Michael Ditterline, Hotel Management
I am so glad Showtime made the Hotel Blake feel like home to you! I will let him know personally what a wonderful experience you had! Thank you for taking the time to review! Sincerely, Michael Ditterline, GM