Ratings based on 2,726 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel central to everything in Chicago

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: how updated and clean it is...#1 thing I look for in a hotel. Makes your stay comfortable. And of course very friendly staff.
Location: located in the same complex as the house of blues. walkable to almost everything - shopping on state street, Michigan avenue, the pier...
If you're looking for a place to stay in Chicago that is central to everything, this is the spot! My husband and I visited for the weekend and wanted to stay somewhere that was walking to distance to almost everything. If you are good with walking, I would say everything is within 20 minutes walk max (the pier, millenium park, shopping on State St. and Michigan Ave. etc and many many restaurants). If you wanted to take a cab, the hotel always has someone to help out with getting one for you. The room is spotless and very well maintained. I have zero complaints! There is a club directly outside the hotel which may seem to be noisy while you're outside but once you are in your room, it is complete silence. Our room was even next to a group of maybe 3 other rooms that were a bit more 'rowdy' but we honestly didn't even notice them once our door was closed. Would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello, Your wonderful, 5-star review is appreciated! Thank you. We couldn’t agree more about our fabulous location, in the heart of the city! We’re thrilled our dedicated team took such good care of you, and we’re happy you enjoyed the peace and quiet of our clean, comfortable rooms. A return visit to Hotel Chicago would be the best compliment! We’d love to see you again and offer another delightful experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale,AZ

Nice hotel close to downtown

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Walkable from chicago major attractions.
Cons: Can add breakfast option.
I tried expedia unpublished hotel rates and got Hotel chicago, autograph collection. I am happy with the unpublished thing from expedia. The Hotel was very close to the major attractions in chicago. within 1-2 miles. Car rental was right there. We didn't had a car, but we saw rental companies. As Hotel was close to the downtown, we made day and night trip to downtown just to see the views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello Doctor, Thank you for the brilliant 5 stars! We’re delighted you enjoyed the convenience of our fabulous location, and we’re happy you were pleased with our beautiful hotel and reasonable rates. The next time you’re heading to Chicago, we hope you choose another memorable stay with us!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Honduras

Accomodations

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: its ubication.
Location: great, could be better.
The room offered the mínimum, halls are to dark, need more signs to direct you to your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello Ricardo, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are sorry to hear our rooms failed to impress you, and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you encountered while navigating our hotel. We also regret that the lighting in our hallways didn’t meet your expectations. Your feedback is invaluable. We’ll take your comments under careful consideration, as we look forward to many exciting improvements. We hope you return to Hotel Chicago to enjoy them. We’d love the opportunity to win you over!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Not worth it

Posted Sep 1, 2014
A/C in room didn't work. They never came back to clean the room after I shooed them away at 9:30 am. Valet had some parking hustle instead of being straightforward about parking options. Wifi not free and free TV channels limited.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello Midwest Traveler, We’re very sorry to hear you were unhappy with your recent experience at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to malfunctioning air conditioning unit in your room. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities. Once notified we hope our dedicated team was able to remedy that issue for you. We are also very sorry for failing to return to service your room, and we regret any frustration or miscommunication over parking. We understand finding convenient and secure parking in downtown Chicago can be challenging; we are happy to offer on-site valet services and only wish we could have provided you with more satisfying assistance. We apologize that our Wi-Fi policies and included channel packages did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is invaluable to us, as we strive to offer every guest a wonderful experience. We’ll share your helpful comments with the appropriate departments, to ensure your poor experience is not repeated. The next time you’re in the area, we hope you give us a chance to win you over. We would love to make your next stay much more rewarding!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hudsonville, MI

Close to town, friendly valet, no pool,

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Didn't like how expensive it was and didn't include a pool or free breakfast. Room was small. The showers were amazing though. Probably would stay again because of location
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello Cori, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are sorry you weren’t a fan of our price quality, and we apologize if the size of your room didn’t meet your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us. We’ll take your suggestions about providing extra amenities and complimentary breakfast under careful consideration, as we continue to improve. We’re thrilled you enjoyed our refreshing showers and reliable valet service. It seems like our fantastic location was a big hit! We hope it brings you back to us again soon. We promise to make your next visit more rewarding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

A day and night in Chicago

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Room was spacious with two bathrooms and two tvs. Bed was very comfortable.
Cons: The locks on the bathrooms did not work. Have a two year old who loves to open doors.
Location: Park and Navy Pier close by. Also had breakfeast at eggcentric which was only a few blocks away.
Great Hotel. Called to get two standard beds and was upgraded to a suite. Beautiful room right in the heart of downtown chicago. Everything was in walking distance. Booked through expedia and I was very happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello Allon, We’re thrilled to hear how pleased you are with your recent stay. We love being able to accommodate our valued guests, and when possible, surprise them with wonderful upgrades. We’re happy you enjoyed our beautiful hotel, thoughtfully designed rooms, and fabulous location, in the heart of the city. On your next visit to Chicago, we would love to see you again. We look forward to continuing to impress!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great place to stay on our college tour.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Nicely situated just off the Chicago river in Downtown close to many attractions and good restaurants. The Hotel was an exceptional value for the discounted rate we received, with a very well appointed room, and most comfortable bed. Would definitely recommend this to friends and would try to stay here on our next visit to Chicago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for the terrific review. We’re glad you chose to stay at Hotel Chicago. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed our fabulous location, wonderful value, thoughtfully designed rooms, and comfortable beds. Your recommendation is the best compliment! We would love to see you again; we look forward to making your next stay even better!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great location, rooms a bit dated

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The location is perfect, right in the heart of everything. Staff is approachable and accomodating.
The location is great, but the rooms were quite dated. Our thermostat could only be set for freezing 62 degrees or turned off. The toilet flushed with such force, water spewed everywhere when flushed. The lamp above my head was dandling by a thread. The issues were resolved the day, but no compensation was offered (or asked for). I am not a complainer by nature, but it seemed like a chain like the Marriot could have offered something. $18/day for Wifi is a bit much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello Bigfatcat, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re thrilled you enjoyed our outstanding location, but we’re sorry to hear our rooms failed to impress you. We genuinely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to a faulty thermostat, over pressured toilet, and improperly secured lamp in your room. We are happy our dedicated team was able to remedy your concerns, but we regret not making you feel more compensated. We are also sorry our Wi-Fi policies displeased you. Your comments are valued; we will take them under careful consideration as we look forward to exciting improvements. We hope you return to Hotel Chicago to enjoy them. We would love the opportunity to win you over!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Great location, fabulous (and large) room. Very helpful staff. Great overall experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello, We love knowing you thoroughly enjoyed your experience at Hotel Chicago! We’re glad our helpful team, fantastic location, and beautiful, spacious rooms impressed you. The next time you’re in the area, please come back for another memorable stay!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thorn

Plush hotel, pay through the nose for facilities

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: In the heart of Chicago
Cons: Staff were very helpful, but the facilities were rubbish.
Location: Walk out of the door and encounter, great bars, clubs, restaurants and river walks.
Nice decor, however I have stayed in motels at 40 bucks a night where the rooms were just as comfortable, the Wi Fi and pool is free and I get a free breakfast. For a hotel as expensive as this to not even give you Wi Fi or breakfast? Come on! Even the plushest hotels in England supply breakfast, the pool and Wi Fi all in. Not going back
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello Vic, We’re very sorry you weren’t impressed with your recent stay. We’re happy you enjoyed our stylish décor, but we apologize our range of complimentary services and amenities didn’t meet your expectations. We appreciate all your feedback and will take your comments into careful consideration. Your satisfaction is our top priority; we strive to offer all our guests a wonderful experience. We hope you reconsider your position and give us another chance to prove our worth. We would love to win you over!