Ratings based on 2,694 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n

Good location.... And that's about it...

Posted Aug 18, 2014
The trip started off to a poor start when I learned the hotel could not honor the expedia reservation for a deluxe room with two double beds(I made this over a month in advance). So they offered to comp my first night then move us into a different room. The beds and sheets were comfortable but there was no fan in the bathroom. The decor was an odd mix of chic and budget. There's a bar in the lobby area called crimson which is yet another poorly done mismatched area. I heard that the hotel was recently updated but it feels like they skimped quite a bit. Otherwise the doormen were very helpful and should have been for 69/night fee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello Stina, We appreciate your feedback, as it helps us identify areas we may need to improve. Your satisfaction is very important to us. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to a reservation error. We’re happy we were able to offer you some form of compensation, but we are sorry to hear our décor and lounge failed to impress you. We appreciate your suggestion for a bathroom fan and will take it into careful consideration, as we look forward to upcoming improvements. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and the service provided by our dedicated bell staff. The next time you’re planning a trip to Chicago, we hope you consider another stay with us. We would love the chance to prove our worth and win you over!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Our room was very large, we were pleasantly surprised. Bathrooms are slightly outdated but the size and cleanliness make up for it. Hotel staff was very friendly. Hotel is centrally located. Couldn't have asked for a better stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great, 5-star review! We’re thrilled you enjoyed our spacious rooms, friendly service team, and fantastic location, in the heart of Chicago. We are sorry to hear certain aspects of our bathrooms failed to impress you, but we’re happy you found them roomy and clean. We’re delighted you had such a wonderful stay. Please come see us again; we look forward to making your next visit even better!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Great location, great hotel.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location and staff, as well as nice room.
Cons: Adding vending machines and/or small store area in lobby.
Great location for touristy things. Everything you need is in walking distance (food, stores, etc.). Also, very nice hotel with very friendly staff. I wish there were vending machines or a small store in the lobby for quick, small items on the go, but there are 711s right near the hotel for that as well. All in all, great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello Robb, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review and share some helpful suggestions. We’re happy you enjoyed our convenient location and some of the exciting attractions nearby. We’re glad you were pleased with our friendly team and beautiful hotel. We appreciate all your feedback and will take your vending machine and store suggestions under careful consideration. We believe there’s always room for improvement, and we strive to offer our guests the best experience possible! We’re glad you found what you were looking for at the nearby 7-11, in the meantime. We hope your great visit will bring you back to us soon. We’d love to make your next one even better!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness, IL

Good Location, Dimly lit.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Location, Location and Location
Cons: Views to south are blocked, worn decor.
Location: Eataly, State Street, Millennium Park, Michigan Avenue and plenty of great restaurants withing walking distance.
Great location, walk to everything. Room comfortable but showing wear. Hall and lobby not very inviting, poorly lit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello Angelo, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We’re happy you found our location very convenient and our rooms comfortable. We are sorry certain aspects of the accommodations failed to impress you. We apologize that you didn’t feel our lighting was particularly welcoming. We appreciate the feedback and will take it into careful consideration, as we look forward to some exciting improvements. We hope you return to Hotel Chicago; we would love the opportunity to win you over!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Girlfriends Back to School Meet & Greet & Shopping

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Great Location, happy and helpful staff, comfortable beds, Gorgeous, recently renovated and spacious rooms. This hotel exceeded our expectations
Cons: They could leave the FREE morning coffee in the Lobby out a little longer for us 2 cuppers!!!!
Location: Right beside the Chicago River, just off Mag Mile, a Hop Skip & a jump away from the Loop & Millennium Park & Navy Pier!
We were very pleased with our stay at the Hotel Chicago :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello Barb, Shopping with your girlfriends in the city sounds like the perfect way to prepare for returning to school. It’s great to hear that you loved your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the future. Good luck on your upcoming school year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol, uk

Great location, large rooms

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: large rooms, lush bedding, great location
Cons: price
Location: right in the middle of everything
breakfast isn't included. pretty luxurious ! would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for the great review. We’re thrilled we could offer you a “luxurious” experience, from the heart of our beautiful city. We’re sorry we didn’t provide you with a complimentary breakfast, but we hope you enjoyed our delicious on-site dining options. Your recommendation is the best compliment! We hope you come see us again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Hotel is in a good location and is very nice, but they charge for every extra including $18 a day for wifi!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello, We love our fun location, and we’re thrilled you feel the same. We’re sorry to hear you were unhappy with our Urban Fee and all it offers our guests. We strive to offer every guest a wonderful stay from beginning to end, and we’ll take your thoughts into careful consideration. Come visit us again when you’re next in our beautiful city; we’re confident we can win you over.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in great location

Posted Aug 13, 2014
This is a great hotel in a prime location of the city, with lots within walkin distance. A bit pricey, but I got it on sale through expedia and that made it a good deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for the great review! We’re glad you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and fantastic location, in the heart of Chicago. We’re sorry if our normal nightly rates aren’t to your liking, but we hope you take advantage of another fantastic special and come see us again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palatine, IL

Great location and friendly staff!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Helped us with an early check-in even though we didn't ask for it until the day of. Super friendly!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
Hello Bobi, Thank you for the glowing review! We’re glad you enjoyed our fabulous location and friendly service team. We’re thrilled we could accommodate your request for early check-in; we love making our guests happy! Please come visit us at Hotel Chicago soon for another terrific experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Only downfalls-no fan in bathroom and lounge was a bit cheesy. Thumbs up- staff great. Rooms great. Location great. Beds very comfortable. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Mark, Hotel Management
We’re so pleased you enjoyed our comfortable beds, great location, thoughtfully designed rooms, and dedicated service team. We are sorry to hear the lounge décor wasn’t to your liking. We truly appreciate your feedback about the bathroom fan. We’ll take your comments and suggestion into careful consideration. Thank you. We love all your compliments, but a repeat visit would be the best one yet!