Ratings based on 3,033 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Awesome

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Location and cleanness
Cons: Free WiFi
Location: All kind of Stores, Restaurants and bars. Even Movie theaters
Awesome location with lots of excellent restaurants, bars and stores in a walking distance Very clean and spacious room (At least for a couple) with big bathroom Lobby was in remodelation but didn't bothered us at all No Free WiFi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: The staff were simply amazingly nice, and the cost very reasonable (probably depressed by construction)
Cons: Finish the hotel
Location: Really convenient for business in Chicago, and also close to many fun spots.
The hotel was under serious construction during my stay, which was a bit crazy. Also neither the phone nor the alarm clock worked in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Joseph, MI

First time across the river

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Location to restaurants and entertainment
Location: Excellent restaurant choices, both new and old
Great hotel, convenient location, excellent staff. A totally satisfactory trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Chicago Weekend

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Location and room comfort as well as cleanliness.
Location: Location is awesome. I used to live in River North and I love this location. Close to the El and within walking distance of anything you need.
Hotel was great. Under renovation but it didn't effect our stay. We had stayed before when it was hotel Sax and it hasn't changed much. My only issue with the room I was in, was the closet door configuration. It was difficult to get into the closet. Otherwise complimentary coffee every morning which made it delightful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but under constructuon

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Great location and nice rooms but the hotel is being remodeled currently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome Hotel, will be back.

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The staff was amazing, extremely friendly from check in to check out. Everyone went above and beyond any time we had a request.
Cons: The lobby was nothing special but we didn't come to Chicago to hang out in the lobby. The money is the room amenities, which is where it should be.
Location: Everything is with in walking distance, a prime location.
The staff was amazing and the location is perfect for anyone. Parking was super easy too. Walking distance to a great night life and tons of restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Great location!

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: see above.
Location: It is near great restaurants, as well as State Street, and only 3 blocks from Michigan Avenue.
They're working on remodeling the lobby and lounge, and then I expect it to be closer to all 5s. It was roomy, stylish, clean, great staff, and the location is ideal for what we want in Chicago.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lindenhurst, IL

Nice hotel, minor issues.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Clean room, comfortable bed, modern look/décor.
Cons: Room service food quality/prices.
We experienced a domestic disturbance from a couple staying elsewhere on the floor. Obviously that's outside the hotels control, but as it was happening the phone in the room failed to work preventing us from contacting hotel management. We were lucky we were able to recall the address for the police dispatch on a cell phone. The hotel management didn't send anybody to our room to check on us after the situation was resolved. After we brought it up to the manager the next morning he offered to comp us 40 dollars towards breakfast the following morning. While a generous offer, the food was of minimal portions and poor quality and way overpriced thus sending us well over the 40 dollar limit. Good people overall, but just several unfortunate situations on top of each other.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Hotel Chicago, Hotel Management
First and foremost, please accept my sincerest apologies for the unsatisfactory experience you had during your time with us. The security and safety of our guests is our number one priority and I apologize for the any inconvenience that happened during our hotel wide telephone system outage. We are certainly glad to know that your enjoyed other aspects of your recent stay, and we look forward to having you back at The Hotel Chicago soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Very convenience place, beds were a bit too small

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The lounge, the housekeeping service was impeccable
Cons: Wifi pricing, and more amenities
Location: Very close to the subway, great location, close to the river
Beautiful area, quiet lounge - would have liked a cheaper daily fee for the wifi though. A pool would have been great, and maybe less construction or some sort of compensation for the construction right outside the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2015 by Hotel Chicago, Hotel Management
Hi Lou, Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience you suffered as a result of the issues you experienced with our renovation process. I understand how frustrating this would have been for you. In regards to Wi-Fi, our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and extensive facilities. However, in your case it appears we failed to meet expectations, and for that I am truly sorry. On a more positive note, we are glad to know that you enjoyed other aspects of your stay, and we hope you choose the Hotel Chicago on your next trip to Chicago!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Construction nightmare

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: A good location.
Cons: Please don't sell rooms in the construction zone!
Unfortunately, the tales of some reviewers proved true. Pounding and sawing began at 6 AM. The initial noise was enough to shake us out of bed, and it continued at headache inducing levels. Some reviewers said they spotted potential problems and had them remedied, but how do you defend yourself against a six AM jackhammer?
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by JKnudsen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for being a recent guest of Hotel Chicago. While we are known for our quiet, luxurious rooms, we are sorry your experience fell short of that during your stay. We always appreciate hearing back from our guests and are sorry that the lobby construction was disruptive. Our new remodel promises to raise the bar on luxury and we would enjoy the opportunity to show you our new look and provide you with a peaceful night’s sleep during you stay.