Ratings based on 3,241 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible acommodations

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Cons: Customer Service
Booked a room for a group of 4 people and the hotel gave us a room for a 2 people occupancy. Their excuse was that Expedia sent the request for a King bed room and they couldn't do anything about it because the room was booked online and not through them. They also mentioned that the hotel was completely full and they couldn't give us a Double Bed Room as it was requested when I was booking online. I do not recommend this hotel at all. Four people in a room that is designed for two people is not acceptable. If I specifically request a room for more than two people, I expect to get a double bed room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

Perfect location!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Great staff, awesome customer service, rooms decor was not the most contemporary nonetheless room was clean and comfortable, and just what we needed. Gorgeous view of Chicago river and theater, close to magnificent mile, we actually walked to grant park! Surrounded by shops and restaurants, subway and l train close by, donut vault, cvs, few blocks away. It's perfect, my family and I had such a wonderful time staying here, we highly recommend the Chicago hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg Canada

Probably would have been ok...

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Guarantee my reservation
Location: Downtown Chicago - museums, tours, restaurants, theatre, shopping.
Great location. The room was fine. The concierges and valets were particularly good. Front desk lady was a little snooty - perhaps busy with July 4 / Grateful Dead concerts. The biggest problem, and what started our stay off on the wrong foot, was that I had booked a room for 4 people with 2 queen beds but because I booked through Expedia, the bedding arrangement is only a "request" so when we arrived, all they had was a room with 1 king size bed. Four people in one bed?! The front desk clerk acknowledged that we had a reservation for 4 but couldn't seem to get my complaint about having one bed. After some back and forth and a talk with her manager she managed to "upgrade" us to a room with a king size bed and a pull out sofa. She actually had the tamarity to tell me that I "should feel lucky that she was able to do this for me." After 4 nights on a sofa bed, I did not feel lucky. I guess my complaint is partially with the hotel and partially with Expedia for the inability to guarantee the room I had paid for.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Did not provide the room that was promised. Had to squeeze 2 adults and 2 kids on one king bed. The room was very small too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2015 by The Hotel Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for our inability to accommodate your requests. All of your comments will be dealt with at an Executive level and relayed back to the manager and team for further review. I hope you will give us a second chance to show you why we have so many wonderful reviews on Expedia. Warm regards, The Hotel Chicago
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Wayne, IN

Excellent Hotel Phenomenal Staff

Posted Jul 14, 2015
The Hotel Chicago is an excellent place to stay. It is located in a very good location next to several options or dining and entertainment. It's not to fare to get to Michigan Ave. for shopping either. Thought the room was very nice. Had some minor cleaning details when we check in but nothing really to major that change our minds about the Hotel. The staff is phenomnal. Everyone of the staff we came across said hello and acknowledge my wife and I. Asked us how we were and also wished us a good stay. Never have come across a hotel staff like this. I will be staying here again when I travel to Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great location!

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: It's location is prime and what isn't within walking distance is only a subway ride away. The subway and buses are within a few minutes walk.
Location: Millennium Mile, Park, Architectural Tour, Segway Tour, Museums all within minutes.
This is a gem of a hotel located at the north end of the loop. Walking distance to the Park and Millennium Mile. The rooms are spacious, clean and quiet and the staff are lovely. I would recommend this location and return in a heart beat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Beautifully appointed rooms & gathering spaces. Every staff member we encountered was very friendly and helpful. Great city view from huge windows in our 14th floor room. Television screen seemed a bit big for our room though. User unfriendly fridge fitted for exhortbitantly priced beverages, and we stowed companion priced snack tray out of sight for more space and less temptation. (Market in adjacent Marina City is the way to go for these items and fresh foods. Boar's Head deli makes sandwiches!) Excellent breakfasts served hot or continental in lobby eatery. Converts to bar later in the day. Fitness room could use a couple more pieces of equipment. Overall, a pleasant upscale place to call home base while visiting Chicago!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Daughter's graduation...

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Fantastic shower! Good location.
Location: Things to do near by: Don't miss the chocolate factory. Shopping. Kayaking. Architectural tour. Parks. Eat. Eat. Eat.
Stayed at the Autograph partly because of location and partly because of Expedia package price. All hotels in Chicago are way overpriced but Autograph had offered the best rate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Great location, in the heart of the LOOP...walking distance to everything.
Allowed to get an early check in. The staff were very friendly and responsive and supportive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Excelente ubicación, confortable y bello

Posted Jul 11, 2015
El hotel ofrece todos los servicios que se puedan necesitar: wifi, recepción de paquetería, guardar las maletas si llegas antes de la hora del chekin, habitaciones muy cómodas e incluso manzanas gratis para tener energía !