Ratings based on 1,145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Atlanta Ga.

nice location near theater to see the play Motown

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Near theater
Cons: Not allow dogs near furniture in lobby. Got dog hair after sitting in chair in lobby.
Location: Near theater and some shopping
Personnel was very nice...room was decorated very nice..wall mirror frame needed a good cleaning it was very dusty...easy access to bay window seat was not good at all..I had to climb on the chase lounge to get up there and down..Not good at all for 2 seniors..River view that was seen on advertisement online wasn't available unless you had a room at the corner of the building. Which I didn't have..Location was great for attending the theater.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Great hotel and excellent location.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Quieter than some of the other major streets around that area. Beautiful interior with high end finishes. Staff friendly and attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

Convenient location, friendly staff, very nice

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Proximity to public transit, spacious room, friendly staff.
Cons: Housekeeping would tend to come early in the morning, and if they didn't clean the room by 2:30 or 3 pm, they weren't going to clean it that day.
Location: The trail along the lake is nice, and several good places to eat are within a two-block radius.
The hotel was very nice. I would definitely come back here on my next trip to Chicago. They give free wireless internet after filling out a brief form (name, address, pillow preference, etc.). They welcome pets, although we didn't test this out on this occasion. Also, perhaps most valuable to us on this trip, they are within 3 city blocks from every subway line. The room was considerably larger than other hotels that I have stayed at in Chicago (in the same price range). The view was considerably less impressive than others, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Very nice and new accommodations. Keurig coffee in the room (on request) was a plus. Concierge was a bit stuffy but rest of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location, too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Unfortunate experience. The photos looked very promising, but reality was different.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Fun and Funky in Chicago

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: The blackout drapes were fantastic for a bright morning after a long night out. I loved that the hotel wasn't too stuffy or traditional in decor.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: The hotel is right on the river, so be sure to explore along the riverwalk for some fabulous food and incredible sightseeing!
The staff was AMAZING. So helpful and thoughtful! Only two nights, but a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, quality
Cons: Air control
Location: Great local, right next to river, tours, close to Grant park and Mag Mile, as well as happening spots on the north side of the river.
Loved this place! Great location, staff were excellent and the window seat facing the river and Trump tower was spectacular. Centrally located so easy accessibility to all kinds of sights to see. The rooms were very nice and clean, only one comment in regard to temp control...couldn't Get the air conditioner to quit blowing even when the thermostat was off. Definitely would go back and will be recommending to friends.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel not 4 stars

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Smaller room, 2star bath room. Bed leaned Nicer options out there trump, Langland, Sheraton towers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to the river and the park.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Nice size room, great value,convenient location.
The room was very quiet and nice. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was missing soap, paper, pens...all those things that you take for granted. Took a couple of phone calls but did get the items we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great location! Fantastic staff!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: We got a great room -- lots of space and very comfortable. Love the staff. Special shout-out to Gwen and Ryan!
Cons: Noticed the free bikes for hotel guests. However, it would have been good to get some information on that program before I arrived in Chicago.
Location: Millennium Park, river tours, close to Hubbard and Clark St., Michigan Ave with great restaurants, shopping; near the lake, museums
I have stayed at many Kimpton properties and this is one of my favorites. The staff has been consistently great -- friendly, helpful. Location is the best for anyone wanting to be close to the river, Millennium Park and other signature Chicago sights and experiences.