Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by lynn from mid-Michigan

great for the price

Posted Jun 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great modern b and b. Altho a breakfast was not prepared there was plenty of food available: great coffee, juices, fruit, bagels, muffins, cereals and you could make your own omelet/eggs. Great location: L train was easy 3 block walk, free street parking was okay since we arrived at 3 pm. Back deck was already occupied when we awoke but still enjoyed backyard view. Would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jennifer from Portland, OR

Great place

Posted Jun 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
This B&B was the perfect little place. Its located in a residential neighborhood very close to the train so you are able to go anywhere in the city you would like via the train. The breakfast is serve yourself, which I liked. It allows you the leisure to get up and eat when you wanted to. Our room was very big and the bed was comfortable. Would most certainly stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was very convenient to Hamburger Mary's where we went to see a show and wanted a nap before and ability to walk home at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Randy Bob from Dallas, TX, USA

Sweet B & B

Posted Jun 6, 2013
Pros: classy place
Cons: the fact that Expedia would not let B & B contact me directly & did not get codes for room, etc.
Location: see above
The B & B was very homey & nicely decorated. The location was very good for using public transit. The neighborhood was beautiful and had many restaurants.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from San Juan Capistrano, CA

Posted May 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Television broken for three days, was not repaired. No contacts numbers for assistance. Phone messages left not returned. Room was not made up/straightened daily. Amenities such as tissue not replaced when empty. Continental breakast was well done. Cleanliness of hotel/room above average. No one to let us in as Hotels.com did not pass on the pass code to get into the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Canton, IL

A cozy little place to stay

Posted May 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
My girlfriend and I stayed recently and we were very impressed. Don't let the 1.5 stars fool you, its a great place to stay. It's in a nice, upscale neighborhood (if you're concerned about that), within walking distance of several stores, a library, the Riviera Theatre, and the subway. The place itself had a nice decor and an interesting layout. The rooms are just a bed and a TV, and all rooms have access to a communal living area and kitchen (fully stocked and entirely complimentary). They each have private bathrooms and the doors are key-coded for privacy. Our only complaint was that the shower seemed to only have 2 settings: scorching and frigid. All in all, its a nice, affordable place to stay, especially for small parties. Just rent the place out, hang out in the communal areas, then turn in to the pricvacy of your own rooms. I would also recomend it to the outgoing, lone traveler. 4.5 / 5
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Madison Wi

This IS a B&B

Posted Feb 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
with the positives and negatives inherent therein. We really liked it. Nicely appointed and VERY well kept up. It’s modern rather than the butter churn ambiance many B&B’s have, and the website gives you a very accurate picture of what to expect. Street parking was easy as promised. Even though there were some other guests there, we were barely aware of them. Kitchen was large and well stocked. Excellent mattresses. Like any B&B however, I always feel like I’m in somebody’s house. The positive of that is that it’s relaxed and comfy; the negative is that at some level you’re always conscious that other people are there. I really don’t want to overemphasize that issue, the walls are thick. But if you’re in the mood to be loud you’ll want to go to a regular hotel. That said, I thought it was very good value for money. We found it pleasant and restful. One final note, if you book though a service you will pay more, but more importantly, you still need to contact the House, because there is no desk and one needs a key-code to get in. Presumably this might be done by phone when you get there, but you don’t want to chance it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Washington state

Unique hotel in northend of Chicago/Andersonville

Posted Nov 18, 2011
I found this hotel by chance because everything else was full for the 2 nights I needed and this was a good value and pretty clean. There is a combination lock foor the front door and another one for each room and a private bath with the same combination lock as the room so it is very secure. I found the room was very nice and clean, no desk and a strange shelf arrangement that I had to use as a desk. Good wifi and easy to connect, with a computer and printer that was also available in the living room that hardly ever had anyone using. The kitchen is fully stocked with fresh fruit, coffee made in the morning for the taking, all types of cereal, granola bars, pop tarts, and even fresh pastries and chocolate covered almonds and raisins! But the private bathroom was in need of some repair with the shelf on the wall hanging down and the shower curtain that hung too low on the floor was soiled at the bottom. I loved all the fun art on the walls and will return to give the bathroom another chance!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Iowa

will stay here again

Posted Nov 16, 2011
Hotel was clean, funky decorating. breakfast part was not a scheduled sit down breakfast, but a kitchen stocked with coffee, tea, cereals (both cold and hot), bagels, bread, fresh fruit, pop tarts, eggs, milk, juice, chocolate covered almonds. Liked that you could get breakfast when you wanted - and have a snack later in the evening. Only drawback was parking - on the street in a residential area - took a few times around several blocks to find something. we will stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Would've been perfect w/o construction noise starting before 8am on a Saturday and lasting ALL DAY!!

Posted Oct 29, 2010
Our stay would've been perfect if not for what sounded like a chainsaw, starting BEFORE 8am on a Saturday and lasting pretty much all day. They were cutting (and replacing, I guess) bricks on the patio right below our windows, allowing access to neither the lovely garden/patio area, nor the deck above it (because of the brick dust rising up). We complained to the manager, who implied that we were lying about the time the noise started, since he said he'd arranged it to start at 10am. That was the reason he gave us (after supposedly talking with the owner) for offering a paltry 10% off our next stay for our trouble. This work couldn't be done midday/afternoon on a weekday, when it'd be less likely to disturb guests?? Aside from these problems (which we thought were pretty major), I would recommend this B&B. House 5863 is a lovely and contemporary, set in a gorgeous, very residential north Chicago neighborhood (with ample free street parking), yet still walkably close to restaurants, shopping, etc. The "breakfast" part was via a self-serve kitchen area, but there was a nice spread of fruit, pastries, snacks, Halloween candy, soda (albeit no diet, which we found odd), and even eggs if we'd felt like cooking. Too bad about the noise, and the way the manager implied that we were lying when he said he "couldn't verify" that the work had started before 8am.