Ratings based on 410 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago ill

Worst hotel stay ever

Posted Mar 30, 2014
The place is dirty and outdated. The staff is rude. I had to go back to the service desk twice because I was given keys to two different rooms that didn't work. When I did get a key that worked, the room was ice cold and the heater barely worked so I had to go to the service desk a third time to ask for a different room. Howard Johnson should be ashamed to have their name on this franchised hotel. Expedia needs to take this hotel off of thier list of hotels to book. Very bad experience overall.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not close to the airport!

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Waited to check in for about 10 minutes. No one was at the desk or in any of the offices. The room was awful, no amenities, and hard bed. I will never stay here again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gross

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: None
Service sucked. Room wasn't much better.
1 out of 5
by Adesuwa from Chicago,Il

Will never stay here again

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Saw a bug and had to kill it Old furniture Dirty floors Cobb webs everywhere Old heater went from hot to cold Old fridge that we had to pay for Only 5 channels on tv, when called the front desk no one answered. The second time he said he was busy and he would call back but never made the attempt to call back Dark hotel No one should eat their "Continental breakfast" Uncomfortable beds Cracks in the wall Hard Water stains on the surfaces Ran out of tissue couldn't get more We checked out early I left my shower gel they claimed they had already threw it out. Long checkin process Only one attendant at the desk Maintenance man was unpresentable and motives were questionable Only 3 outlets for lamps and the tv and the old fridge because of this the clock and the coffee pot had to be unplugged so we could charge our phones.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jameson from Wisconsin

Outside does not match the inside

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Very good price for the room. The inside looks a lot better than the outside. Conveniently located. Wallpaper was coming up and the bed was a little hard but over all, it was worth the $50.
2 out of 5
by Tony from Carbondale, Illinois

You get what you pay for...

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly, room was clean, and it was in a very convenient location for where I was going in the city.
Cons: All of the above...also, couldn't find an ice machine on our floor... (3rd)
Location: Not much to do in Addison, but the city is just a quick hop away on the L-train.
I don't require a lot, and I shopped basically for price when I was looking for a hotel for this last weekend. First problem was the lack of a fridge...when I called the front desk, I was told I could "rent" one for $10. a night. What looked like a fridge, turned out to be a locked, no longer used mini-bar. Breakfast was a waxy donut, and a bowl of cereal. Room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. Clearly an older, declining hotel, but I wasn't looking to be impressed. It was about 9 degrees outside, and our heater started blowing ice cold air in the middle of the night. I turned it off, let it sit, and then turned it back on a total of 9 times. Front desk said they didn't have a space heater to give us, but would move us to another room. We declined, due to the large amount of gear we had in the room, and the time of night. Shower water was very warm, and perfect after a cold night. Elevator was entertaining, as it reminded us of something out of a horror movie. :) Not the condition, but the rather rapid and jerky way the door would close, and then fly open when we reached our floor. The satellite was "temporarily out of order", and they were "working on it". I would imagine that they hadn't had satellite for months or even years... I had forgotten my toothbrush, and followed the directions of the placard on the bathroom sink, and went to the front desk to get one. Of course, they had just given out their last one...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Bowler from Indiana

Low Price/Low Expectations

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not bad for the very low price--not exactly "nice" but not disgusting either.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

COLD ROOM

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Our stay was in January when temperatures were cold. However, heat in hotel was broken and rooms were heated by the air conditioners. Apparently staff would turn them on in advance of guests coming. Our first room was frigid and our second was better but was not comfortable the next morning.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Leslie from St Louis, MO

A bed; Nothing more except bad service

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed at this hotel a few times to save money. My stays were never good. This was the worse. I will never go back again. During this visit, I was called back into the hotel from the parking lot and accused of not paying for my room. When I checked in, I gave my confirmation number, my name and the clerk gave me a room key. To confirm that I paid for my room,, I, once again, gave my confirmation number and showed my receipt. The desk clerk said I had to pay again because they could not find the reservation and the receipt I showed was not adequate. I wasn't allowed to talk to manager. They would not call Hotels.com for assistance. It became a big scene. I eventually just left after being told I could not leave the hotel. Other issues:. The heating system did not work properly. I had to turn off the heater and then turn it back on around 4 am so it would not be freezing in the room I wake. I tried to use the phone for a wake up call and it did not work. I then tried to set the alarm clock. It did not work. I had to re-dress and go to the lobby to ask for my phone to be fixed or an alarm clock. neither request was done. The TV did not work. The best part was the wireless internet did work well.