Ratings based on 1,025 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Good location but very bed room

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: bad experience
Cons: the invation is not very friendly
Location: good and can park car free
the room is old and all the furniture is bad condition. the bed is not clean at all .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2014
The hotel smelled bad when we firsted walked in! The shower curtain was very very smelly! I couldn't even take a shower after spending the kind of money that we spent to stay there and I oil don't even shower for my drive home! I was very upset. So bringing this issue upto the front desk she rudely tells me since I purchased my room from a third party (Expedia) I now have to get ahold of ur customer serve I to make a complaint then ur customer service has to contact the hotel to see what they can so for me then the third party will get back with me.. This is crazy! When the hotel is the one who isn't clean not the customer service!! Needless to say we won't be returning!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laguna Niguel, CA

So long to the best deal in downtown Chicago

Posted Sep 5, 2014
I have been staying at this location for many years. If you were willing to look past the facade you found an excellent affordable place to stay which even included free parking; almost as rare as a Cubs World Series. It is being torn down for more condos. Farewell Ho Jos Inn. I will miss you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Excellent location and ammenities!!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The location, the wifi was excellent the whole time. Room was clean and staff was friendly. The dinner Cafe Luna was also great.
Cons: A better paint job in the room... it was not bad but it could be better.
Location: Near the best bars and clubs in town. Walking was not an issue.
Location was near the hottest spots in Chicago including Fogo de Chao, one of the best brazilian restaurants I have ever been to. Walking to Miracle Mile was not an issue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkeley

Great Location, questionable security

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Good location for connecting to public transit an free parking in an expensive neighborhood for parking.
Cons: better door locks for the room
Location: It was a short ewalk to many different transit lines making getting around the city very easy.
We were given a room with a door lock that was not functioning. The place was more like a motel with great visual access to your vehicle and also great street visual access to your room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Nasty. Not clean. Smelly. Not recommended for anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Daytona Beach Florida

downtown

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: location parking securityt
Cons: like it the way it is
Location: center of town clubs restaurants drug store
center of every thing free parking night time security guard
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

3 night stay

Posted Aug 17, 2014
The location of this hotel is perfect, we opted for this hotel because of location and free parking. On arrival we we're advised 1/2 of our rooms had been canceled, in fact they did have any record of this. The lady at reception couldn't of been any less unhelpful, even though we had written confirmation from Expedia, it was clear she didn't want to help! Finally sorted after we made phone calls to Expedia ourselves. It's a run down hotel, very dated, but it's cheap! If you don't have a car to park, there are plenty of other hotels which would be comfortable and great value.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We didn't even stay. Pulled in, parked, and booked a different hotel. Yuck.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Great location for cheap!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Hard to beat this rate in downtown Chicago! We stayed with our little dog and had a great experience. The hotel was quiet (during Lollapalooza weekend), the bed was so comfortable, and best of all-- there was free parking on site so we could see the car from our window. Staff was friendly, and the room was cozy and very clean. The exterior appearance of the hotel was a bit underwhelming, but overall, well worth the money! I would definitely stay here again.