Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston TX

very nice hotel in the Hyde Park shopping area

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: the room was definitely the best part, and the location was very convenient for visiting UChicago.
Cons: parking
Location: lots of fun places to eat, and a lttle bit of shopping too.
The room was large and very nicely lighted. Beds were comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious. No real "unloading zone" in front of the hotel, which is awkward, given that there is not much other parking nearby either, but the lot we were directed to was very convenient.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Out of state

Managers need to start managing!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Rooms appeared new and clean.
Cons: Staff levels need to be reviewed, particularly the valets. Personnel on Sunday morning appeared, well, lazy and disinterested in their jobs.
Location: Police were everywhere. It was a bit overwhelming and concerning.
Poorly staffed. Upon arrival valet was trying to park triple-parked cars to keep up. We circled the block several times. The police were there yelling at the valet. Breakfast was abysmal. They ran out of food! The place was a mess and the staff was behind the front counter socializing. When I asked for assistance I was told it takes time to replenish supplies. Then she went to help. Check out was equally as bad. I stood there waiting while the same person I spoke with (Sara) stood stroking the hair of the counter personnel. It was really weird. Hire and train some people and turn this place around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guadalajara

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Some far from downtown but really good conections, some steps to train. This will be a very good option if you want a nice hotel, with a nice breakfast and dont want to pay extra to be at downtown or in a cheap hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great stay

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: Room size, comfort, location, friendly & helpful staff
Location: It's about 5 minutes from the fantastic museum of science & industry and about 10 minutes from downtown
The hotel is a short distance away from downtown and most of the major attractions. The room was lovely and the bed was very comfortable. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV.

A fantastic boutique Hotel with all the aminities!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms!
Cons: Communication with staff between shifts, IMPORTANT instructions conveyed to staff that need to execute the needs of visitors!!
Location: The museums, coffee shops! A great location for all your needs while visiting!
I enjoyed my stay and my room was always kept clean, the morning breakfat was more than you could ask for. My only and morst important disappointment happened when checking out, I went to the front desk the night before and requested a wake up call at 5:30AM and to also have a cab at the hotel at 6:30AM to take me to the airport. The night staff wrote this information on a metrix form. Unfortunately, the connection was lost and no one called my room nor did they call for a cab. I was frantic to say the least! I also left behind my curling iron and hair brush in room 626 after rushing to make my flight at Midway. I called the following day and received VM and no one has contated me thus far and I left my call back information and also indicated the purpose of my call. I am extremely disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place if you want to be in Hyde Park.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Staff was fantastic! Very helpful with helping me get around and where to eat.
Cons: Parking is $32 a night, which adds up. I paid for it because street parking is near impossible and I wanted the extra security. Valet staff was great.
I wanted to be close to the Univ. of Chicago. It is close enough to walk in about 30 minutes, but the hotel also has a shuttle there. I had a noisy group having a reunion one night, and asked to be moved for the next night. They were full, but did find me a different room. I wouldn't want to be there with kids. The swimming pool is tiny, so nothing for kids to do there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
close to U chicago, that's the reason you go to the hotel. It's clean, or at least as far as I can see.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near U of C

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Creat place to stay, just blocks from University of Chicago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Cons: My tub was backed up and this should have been caught by housekeeping before I got there.
Location: Go to A-10!
Lovely place. Liked the architecture and layout. Room was spacious and clean. Very nice bathroom; good size. The free breakfast is a plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great new hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2014
New hotel with large rooms in great neighbourhood. Also, though it is fairly far from downtown I saw very little traffic each day at rush hour, so I could be downtown in 15 minutes flat. Real HiDefTV with HBO and inputs for external sources. Also a sectional couch and fridge in every room. In short: Great hotel!