Ratings based on 1,289 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Great location, friendly staff

Posted Apr 26, 2015
This is a beautiful, older hotel that has wonderful atmosphere and a great staff. My only complaint with the stay is that the seal around the window A/C was unsound, so I my room was a bit cold and drafty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Total dump

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Hotel staff was very nice but the hotel needs to be gutted , just way to old. Great location but that's about it
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Springfield, IL

Much room for improvement

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: The area, the parking, the reasonable rates
Cons: Cleanliness. Install central heating and cooling.
The lobby was pleasant, more charming than many. The room itself was pleasant enough, the bed fairly comfortable. The air was somewhat stale, but the only way to get fresh air into the room was to open windows~they had no screens. We were on the second floor. Fortunately it was a nice night in early April so we did not need A/C. The huge drawback was the muddy accumulation in the bottom of the bathtub. The room itself had a nice dressing room, frig & microwave that appeared fairly new. The huge drawing card for us was that it is nestled into the Lincoln Park area, close to where we needed to be, and the parking was reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom c

Awesome hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Great hotel! A little older but a very comfortable hotel in a great area. Within walking distance or a cheap cab ride from wrigleyville area. Cab ride for 5 cost 9 bucks to wrigley. I recommend this little charming hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, slow disgusting

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Hotel was not like the pictures. Very slow, very dirty, falling apart, poor service, elevator was dimensional like dysfunctional
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Very loud fellow stayers. Convenient to downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Lake County, IL

Great Location.

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Location / Cleanliness.
Cons: Hotel could use a refresh.
Location: Too many shops, restaurants, etc. to mention are only steps away.
The staff was very friendly and helpful right from the get go. Rooms are tiny and a little outdated, but for the price, I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes to be close to the Lincoln Park / Lakeview scene.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

pretty good for the price

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
Rooms were nice but a bit old. The bathroom door would not stay closed. The location was great, close to the Zoo and other attractions.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice for short stay

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels.com
Receptionists were nice and helpful. Room OK but a bit overheated. First floor with a view on the trash container and noise when sanitation vehicle comes. Still a good price/quality ratio
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

Good location, nice staff

Posted Jan 29, 2015
I stayed here on business 1-26-15 because hotels downtown area (Loop, River North, Grant Park, Michigan Ave) were all booked and since I was driving anyway. The hotel is very nicely located near Lincoln Park and is surrounded by many restaurants and shopping. The parking was $30 at the hotel (I guess cheaper off-site but I don't know $), which compared to downtown was very good. The staff was very nice and very efficient. The room was dated, the bed and pillows very comfortable. A few things could be improved: the ceiling fan in the room was on high when I turned on the light and walked in with the remote hidden on a window ledge behind curtains. Didn't matter since it didn't work anyway. So I just shut off the overhead light. Wouldn't be an issue except that then the TV remote only worked half the time. At one point, it finally just quit working and so I turned the TV off manually and read instead. Small things, but annoying though not annoying enough to call the desk about. The included breakfast was only ok. Overall, it was clean and well located and the staff was nice. The price I got on Expedia made it a very good deal. I would stay here again.