Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was lied to over the phone making the reservation

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Kids enjoyed themselves
Cons: Maybe hire some reservation takers that know what they are talking about
When I made the reservation, there were a couple different prices. I opted for the highest priced room because the reservationist told me it included parking and it included full breakfast. So I get there and was told parking was not included in the price and that it was $60 per night. WOW!!! The next morning I'm hungry for a good breakfast and am told that it just basic continental. A bagel, a coffee....etc. Very disappointed with that whole thing. The room was ok. The staff was great.
Comment from
Jan 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. I regret there was a miscommunication in the package booked and would be available to review the specific requests. We appreciate the kind words regarding our staff and will pass those comments along.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patricia & Bea from Wisconsin

Outstanding service

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: the food, the service, the accommodations.
Cons: I would have appreciated free internet.
My friends and I stayed at the hotel for the Amnesty International 2014 conference this past weekend. The conference was amazing and the event. The hotel and its staff were all amazing. The beauty and comfort of the hotel, along with the outstanding service and delicious food, made this event the experience of a lifetime. My friends and I needed a mini vacation and the hotel helped us feel like we had one. Many employees were very, very helpful. Kelly, one of the staff, helped me during the day with a problem. He went out of his way to be sure my problem was resolved. Later, Kelly heard me coughing at the end of a very long day. Kelly was with several employees who were finishing up preparing the conference rooms for the next day. I was waiting in a hall for someone who was talking with one of the presenters. As s side note, I have been sick and on antibiotics, but I the conference was too important for me to miss. It was late and there were no refreshments available. Kelly heard me coughing and offered to get me a cup of hot water so I could have tea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

X

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Staff is outstanding - very friendly and helpful. Bed sheets were very stiff. Nice flat screen TV, but no HD service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Beautiful place

Posted Mar 3, 2014
The only thing I can say regarding our stay aside from it was gorgeous and the staff was awesome...we left and went out between 9am and 1pm and no one made up our bedroom or replaced the toiletries. It was beautiful and clean but during a stay at a hotel you expect those things to be done. And we knew someone came in because they removed out room service tray.
1 out of 5
by Anita Bodega

Always looking for another little pinch.

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Price and included amenities.
Location: You can go to the financial district and work. Lots of sandwich shops and offices that close at about dinner time. I don't think anyone lives there.
Travelers are accustom to getting pinched an excessive amount for small things here and there. This Hotel has taken a page from the Airline industry, only they still charge a premium for the room before picking your pocket at every opportunity. It's like paying for a business class seat on a plain, then getting pinched $10 extra for pretzels. It's a nice hotel. Not any better than Palmer House or any of the others that go for 40% to 60% less per night, but it's a nice hotel. You would think they could give you a free cup of coffee or maybe some internet access at $240/night, and you would be wrong. A small coffee will run you $3 in the lobby on your way out in the morning. And that internet access will run you $15/night. The hand full of M&Ms in a little jar in your hotel room will be $12. I avoided buying anything in the Hotel because the recurring pinch was just insulting. If they were %40 cheaper than other hotels, I would expect no frills. But at a premium, I expect more. I got less.
Comment from
Jan 28, 2014
The management team respects and values the opinion of all our guests, and we appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. Our apologies if you felt we somehow misrepresented our pricing structure which regrettably had a negative impact on your stay. It should be noted we do provide complimentary coffee to our guests in every room, and our pricing for mini bar amenities is similar if not lower than those hotels which offer this in-room feature. We are confident the enhanced service level as well as the physical attributes of the only luxury hotel in Chicago’s loop warrant our actually competitive rate, and that on future visits we would ask you to please address these or any other concerns with the manager on duty to ensure you feel your stay is equal to the price point paid.
3 out of 5
by Noah from Grand Rapids, MI

Some strange features here

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Cons: Architectural decisions, interior design.
I traveled with my wife to Chicago and stayed one night at the JW Marriott in Chicago. The staff and common areas were nice. The room we received was a little strange. Because of the layout of the hotel, many rooms will not have a view. What is bizarre is that instead of being able to open a window for air, or look out onto the dull view of a roof or the other side of the hotel, the entire window is frosted so you cannot see outside at all. The second strange item is that there was a telephone handset installed adjacent to the toilet. The third is that the toilet paper holder was installed such that it interfered with sitting straight on the toilet. The fourth is that the mouthwash appeared to have been opened and possible refilled. Bottom line is that for the money, there are equally convenient and overall nicer to stay in hotels all over the city of Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pete from tinley

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Stayed here for New Years Eve. Had a comfortable few days. Staff does their job and does it well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ACHDCH

JW Marriot Chicago

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Expedia, Marriot Page
Cons: Hotel Staff concierge not very nice or helpful.
Location: Is located very near the Loop and Millenium Park and everything.
The hotel is near the Loop, near everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alan from mishawaka in

Love it

Posted Jan 6, 2014
They all nice co work, clean