Ratings based on 2,023 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Crazy expensive parking, paid $ 56 per night ,so it ended up really high. But location of the hotel great, walking distance anywhere, everywhere, Rooms are very modern, nice, clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Great location, a little stiff

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Great location, perfect for walking or getting to transit.
Cons: Staff "friendliness" (vs. job-politeness). Cocktail time advertised needs a lot of work.
Location: One block North of the river. Very close to restaurants, bars, nightlife and shopping. Great location.
The hotel was in a great location north of the river. Lots of night life and shopping within walking distance. The hotel was very "modern". The bed was comfortable, but for the expensive price of a hotel it felt a little lacking. No restaurant or bar, other than a small converted room that they turned in to a cocktail space from 5-8. Minimum bar service - basically just two hotel employees making basic drinks. Also disappointed that I paid such a high price for a hotel and still had to pay over $50 per night in parking. Breakfast was good, lots of choices. I also liked that it lasted until 10/11 am. I hate having to get up early on vacation just to make it on time to breakfast. Lastly, staff was kind but stiff. This hotel was "nice" but I feel it was overpriced for what it is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice modern hotel with caring staff.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
On my last night at the kinzie while writing this. I book this hotel because it was the best value on Expedia. I made a great choice. They did a great job at renovating and making it modern. The staff is very helpful and polite. Beds are very comfy and room is spacious. The continental breakfast has a decent selection, however first two mornings there was no coffee left but after talking to the staff they quickly sent a fresh pot to my room. There is also a Kurieg in the room. I'm sure this is the same at any hotel but it can tend to be noisy outside as Chicago drivers seem to love honking their horn any chance they get. The staff will go out of their way to book dinner or attractions for you and give great recommendations. Btw... The subway is only couple blocks away North or south as your right on the red line. Rest of the lines just north. I would absolutely come back again and hope this hotel becomes more popular. The way a hotel should be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Aug 24, 2014
The family enjoyed, we wished they have a swimming pool
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the 5-star review! We’re delighted you and your family had a “great” stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another Chicago getaway soon. Warm Regards, Melissa Driza Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My kind of town Chicago!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The free happy hour from 5-8 pm is wonderful and also the complimentary continental breakfast on each floor in the morning.
Cons: Perhaps a free shuttle to and from the airport.
Location: Great location close to everything.
Terrific city lots to see and do!The river cruises are wonderful and going up the Willis tower is great.The waterfront is beautiful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind feedback. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m happy you found our central location in downtown Chicago to your liking and were able to take advantage of all the nearby attractions, like the river cruise and the Willis (formerly Sears) Tower. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Warm Regards, Melissa Driza Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Room, and Service

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We arrived several hours before check-in with our luggage. We were hoping to stow our luggage until check-in time, but they happily checked us into our room early. All desk personnel were always cheerful, eager to assist, and very helpful with restaurant and entertainment recommendations. The room was elegantly furnished and clean. The location was great, within walking distance of many attractions and the "L." We highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
What a flattering review! We’re thrilled to receive such positive guest feedback. I’m happy you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking—especially our comfortable new Serta Perfect Sleeper Signature beds. I’m pleased you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. I’m also happy you were able to indulge in our complimentary evening cocktail reception as well. I’m further pleased to hear you enjoyed our central location in the downtown River North district and were able to take advantage of all the great restaurants surrounding—including Harry Caray’s Italian Steakhouse, who also provides our in-room dining. Your glowing recommendation is truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago. Warm Regards, Melissa Driza Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2014
clean hotel, great location, friendly staff but staff made a few mistakes
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback. While I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, I’m sorry to hear about the issues you experienced with our team. We encourage all our guests to let us know of any issues so we may rectify them immediately. Thank you for sharing your review. We wish you safe travels in the future. Warm Regards, Melissa Driza Guest Experience Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel close to everything.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, location, staff.
Cons: Wish hotel had pool and a restaurant.
Location: shopping cruise of Chicago river was fun and worthwhile.
Nice breakfast was provided every morning. It was set up in front of elevators on each floor. Rooms were nicely decorated. Staff in front office were helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for the kind review. We’re pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased you found our newly renovated rooms and décor to your liking. I’m happy you enjoyed our complimentary deluxe continental breakfast and appreciated the convenience of it being served on each floor. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Chicago. Warm Regards, Melissa Driza Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to everything.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive and close to everything.
Cons: The room was small. Would not be good for a family.
I booked it last minute at a great price, especially for downtown Chicago. Everything seemed pretty new, the staff was very friendly and the room was quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star review. We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m especially pleased to receive such kind words about our team and will be sure to pass those along. I’m happy you found our central location in downtown Chicago to your liking as well. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon! Warm Regards, Melissa Driza Guest Experience Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Great location, free breakfast every morning great and free cocktail party every night
Location: Perfect location within walking distance of everything
Great hotel in great location close to everything and great restaurants, staff excellent hotel newly renovated
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5-star review! We’re so happy you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the new Kinzie Hotel. I’m pleased you found our location in the downtown River North district to your liking and were able to take advantage of all the great restaurants surrounding us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon! Warm Regards, Melissa Driza Warm Regards,