Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bob

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Davidfrom Longmont, CO

Will definitely return

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely excellent. Older building with an iffy elevator, but not only was the room old-world-charm wonderful. The people were exceptionally friendly. Lots of great places to eat/walk just blocks away. Only drawback is that its a long way from a freeway and takes a while to get to either airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Claudiafrom Jacksonville Beach

Not good for a business trip

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would not recommend this for a business trip. The room was small and lovely but did not have a desk. I had to sit on the bed to work on my laptop. The only outlets near the bed were the lamp and the clock radio. I had to disconnect the clock in order to have an outlet. Getting a wifi signal was difficult and had to sit close to the window. The hotel definitely needs a facelift and it seems like they are going through some renovations now. Beautiful area and quaint old hotel but not set up for modern business conveniences.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2014
The looks of the hotel were deceiving on the internet. The employees were pleasant, but the accommodations were a little lackluster.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tomfrom Buffalo

Nice away from congestion place!

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice place, A/C was a little loud. Quaint place. Great neighborhood. Nice breakfast outlay, could use some coffee cup covers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by michael

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable, clean room & bed - great shower! Close to train stop - walking distance to some nice restaurants, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by MarCKfrom Michigan

Quaint, lovely and pleasant

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Definitely planning to return when we're back around Evanston. The Margarita is a lovely hotel with old-fashioned elegance that my teen son and I really enjoyed. The beds were very comfortable with multiple pillows of varied softness, so we both got a good night's sleep. The room was somewhat small, but had an amply-sized bathroom and closet and it was very clean. The staff was eager to offer assistance and the morning continental breakfast spread in the sitting room was delicious (if carb-centric). A better tea than Lipton, would be icing on the top, but we'll consider it a treat to return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago Ill

wonderful place

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: I have never stayed in a hotel were the Staff was as wonderful as this Place The front desk person would do anything to help you.
Cons: Not anything that I could find except a little more tender care on cleaning the windows only thing i could find wrong
I was there for five days for business an pleasure. The front desk staff would do anything for you to have a wonderful stay. From recommendations for food how to get around , trains to the city and buses and places for coffee for the theater. My friend wanted to rent a car had his wallet stolen in another state trip and had a temp licence. The car rental could not rent a car with a temp licence and the woman at the frond deck worked on finding a way for him to travel to kenosha for a meeting the next day. It was a challenge for finding some one to take him but she found someone. She went out of her way for my friend. The sweet rolls and coffee and breakfast was nice and very fresh. And Hot Coffee all times of the day nice to have when you cannot sleep and come down and have a nice cup of coffee at 2 am. Just the most wonderful stay and such a beautiful place so historic. I just love the Designer hotels as they call them. Here in the Chicago area, talking old hotels and redoing them so much more character and wonder. I am a person that does not need a pool and work out room and just want something different, I reminded me of being in Italy or Spain or any other European country. So nice to find a Diamond in the Ruiff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Old school charm
Cons: Taxi service. Loaner umbrellas when raining. Bellmen to assist with luggage
Nice in a quaint way. Front desk staff on the morning I was there seemed overwhelmed and unhelpful. Good luck getting a cab to Chicago if it's raining outside.