Ratings based on 2,753 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walk to everything!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Very helpful concierge desk who helped us with all the details of our bookings!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice stay for a weekend away.

Posted Sep 28, 2014
We went to Chicago for a long weekend away. Picked the hotel pretty much at random and were very happy. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very nice, with very pleasant d├ęcor and a very comfortable bed. It is right near the top end of the magnificent mile so was convenient to everything we wanted to see. The restaurant staff we had for breakfast were particularly friendly. We will consider staying there the next time we go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Great location

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Amenities in the rooms replenished daily and free WiFi in the rooms. It would be only reason I would stay some where else next time
Location: Great restaurants, Hop on hop off bus tour stop, lots of shopping ( Magnificent Mile)
The staff at this hotel is amazing. The location was great for everything shopping, food and tours. We could walk to so many places. The concierge Henry was wonderful and has great advice as well as the ever pleasant door staff. My only complaint was not having our coffee and soaps restocked in our room and having to ask a few days in a row. They were quick to bring them up which was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stayner. Ontario

Excellent Hotel North End of Magnificent Mile

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, friendly and helpful staff, sound-proof rooms
Cons: We were missing a computer screen in our room but the couple travelling with us had one so we didn't bring it to staff's attention.
Location: The hotel is at the North end of the Magnificent Mile. The John Hancock Tower 1 block away. The Navy Pier 15-20 min. walk. Several restaurants nearby.
We really enjoyed our 6 night stay at the Millenium Knickerbocker. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Charlie, the doorman, who met us when we first arrived and greeted us with a smile and helpful advice each day when we were heading out or coming in. The hotel is conveniently located at the North end of the Magnificent Mile. Several attractions, quality restaurants and shopping locations are within walking distance. We purchased the 3-day Chicago Go Pass, which allowed us 2 days on the hop-on, hop-off bus and entrance to several attractions - a real money-saver if you plan to see all Chicago has to offer. The rest of the time we used public transit and cabs which are very reasonably priced. The Knickerbocker is an older hotel but it has been beautifully renovated and well maintained. Our standard room had a king-size bed, sufficient cupboard/dresser space, large closet, computer desk, mini-bar and bathroom with marble/glass shower enclosure and rain shower head. The room was adequately sized for a couple. The rooms are quite sound proofed which led to an excellent sleeping environment. The elevators are a little small by todays standards but we very seldom had to wait longer than a few seconds to get one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muscatine, Iowa

Day Trip to watch the Cubs play at Wrigley Field

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Hotel service and guest service at this Hotel was amazing. We had a little difficulty finding it; but once there - there was no other concerns. Small room, but great view and awesome comforts! Would definitely stay here when doing a short visit to Chicago again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Helpful friendly staff, very clean and comfortable . Nice bar and great drinks!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Sep 24, 2014
We checked in rather late and everyone was still bright and friendly. The complimentary travel items in the room smell amazing. The day we checked out, they even held our luggage while we went shopping and grabbed food, free of charge. Overall a very good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burbank, CA

Ideal location...excel service

Posted Sep 24, 2014
We had the best time ever. The location was perfect. The staff from the front desk, concierge, bar, maid service and front door men were amazing. We made friends we won't forget. I went as far as emailing them personally. Also not to mention the history of the hotel.....WOW!! again, we definitely go back! Thanks expedia!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Hotel close to the Magnificent Mile

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: The lobby bar was very comfortable and had a wide variety of drinks and food. It was nice to relax at the end of the day.
Cons: The room was a bit small there was no drawer space and with only one tray in the shower there was not enough room to put out shampoos, soaps, etc.
Location: The location of the hotel is wonderful. It is located between Michigan Avenue (Magnificent Mile) and Lake Shore Drive (the Beach).
Overall the trip was wonderful. We were walking distance from the Pier, the Zoo, the Beach and the Magnificent Mile. We were only 2 blocks from State and Rush Streets which were full of nightlife. The people could not be nicer and the hotel staff was very knowledgeable about the surrounding areas and things to do.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Chose the hotel for its location.

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Location and breakfast.
Cons: Tell the customer about the lack of temperature control. Find a way to stay more up to date on concierge information provided.
Location: Location good. If you are not a walker--we had two older adults in our party--everything is a short cab ride.
While this is an old hotel, we encountered a long list of problems that the staff finally "resolved" on the last of our three night stay. Good location, old hotel should be part of the charm. I think we had every staff member in our room to fix issues. You can not adjust the temperature in your room. We requested early check in and waited for a preferred room-- then were told we had to wait until after 5 p.m. to use the shower due to repairs. Pre booked and paid with the request for a rollaway--sadly the bed must have been a used hospital bed. We had a least four people in the room to fix the temperature which can not be adjusted --the first person should have told us this!