Ratings based on 3,429 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lodi Ca.

Very clean,very comfortable

Posted May 5, 2015
Location: Great location off Michigan Ave
The was very friendly and helpful ,they were very attentive and more importantly they were knowledgeable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

A great Chicago Hotel

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Comfortable beds, clean, great staff.
Cons: Free Wi-Fi
Location: Right on the magnificent mile. Plenty of shopping/restaurants. Short walk to Navy Pier.
We had a great experience here, the accommodations were fantastic, they let us check in early at no charge which was great. The staff was very pleasant too! The only downside is that they charge for Wi-Fi which is crazy in this day and age.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Halifax, NS

Very comfortable bed in a historic hotel

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Location, bed
Cons: Restaurant options
Location: Very close to the Magnificent Mile and the Water Tower
Very comfortable bed in a well-located historic hotel. We had a room right beside the elevators and were concerned about noise. As it turned out, noise was not a problem. The bed was exceptionally comfortable in the standard room. As an older hotel, there were some things that were a bit worn. However , overall it was a very good stay. I would have granted more stars in the facilities category if there were better in-hotel restaurant options. The hotel has a martini bar (with a limited food menu) and a breakfast restaurant. There was no room service option other than delivery from external restaurants (that were advertised in the room)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pittsburgh, PA

Will stay again

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Excellent staff, beautiful historic hotel. Due to historic nature, rooms are small but renovated and well appointed. Bathrooms are well done but dimly lit. A lighted makeup mirror would be helpful. Great location for walking, catching a cab and 6 blocks from a red line station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom IND

Not too bad

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Staff are friendly and helpful, hotel condition is ok as far as an old facility goes, the fan in one of my bathrooms wasn't working, for one night stay, I didn't bother to call the front desk. Other than that, it was good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

My home away from home

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: The staff and the location just cant be beat
Cons: Better selection on the bar menu
Location: You are 2 minute walk to Rush street. 30 steop to Magnificent Mile. Pizzanos Pizza 5 minutes. The lake 2 minutes. Hancock Building 2 minutes
I have been staying here for 30 years. Incredible staff and best location in Chicago. Rooms are spotless, concierge is the best in the industry. The doormen spectacular. Best best bar staff in the world. And location is where you want to be.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vinton, LA

Nice location.

Posted Apr 28, 2015
The room was uncomfortably warm and we tried to adjust the thermostat to cool. Even at 65 the cool air would not come on. When we asked the desk we were told it would only work depending on the temperature outside. What that had to do with anything we could not understand and were told to open a window or that they would send up a fan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Fine old hotel in a good location

Posted Apr 28, 2015
The old Knickerbocker has a lovely lobby and a marvelous Crystal ballroom. The bar area is very comfortable and calm, with fine service and good food. It's a cosy hotel at a good price. The location at the top of the Magnificent Mile (North Michigan Ave.) is convenient for shopping and restaurants, and it's an easy 20 minute walk to the river (if that) with lots of buses and cabs, if you're in a hurry.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Room was very comfortable (bedding very soft) and spacious.
Cons: In room dining would be nice even if for light fair.
Location: Ditka's restaurant is only bloacks away. They ahve great food and a fun atmosphere. This hotel is close to many things in Chicago.
The hotle room was beautiful, clean, and well kept. The bathroom facilities were wonderful although I am not a big fan of the rainfall showerheads. The hotel does not have in-room dining services but the bar and restaurant are great. Overall, this was a great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cincinnati

Beautiful hotel with great location

Posted Apr 27, 2015
I loved this hotel, but did not like that they would not change my original accommodations after one of my party was unable to join us.