Ratings based on 2,668 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Convienent hotel location.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: We liked the location of this hotel.
Cons: An improvement would be free wi-fi
Location: The location was very near the John Hancock centre, shopping and other scenic architecture which Chicago is famous for.
We stayed 4 nights. Thought the hotel should have a free shuttle to the airport and free wi-fi. Desk staff were polite. Housekeeping staff very friendly and did a good job. It also would be nice to have a continental breakfast included. Also more information re city transit system.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The beauty of the hotel, its history and location
Cons: Reception could be more enthusiastic that we are there and the restaurant needs to be more attentive.
Location: Location awesome!! Shopping and many tourist attraction are near by
The actual hotel was beyond our expectations. The rich history and its location could not have been better. The only thing I have to say that was a draw back was the hotel staff in the restaurant-we had the buffet and not one person came to take away our dirty plates the whole time we were there to eat and we had to beg to get our bill to pay. This happened on both mornings. When you have your day planned this was very frustrating. The bell staff I would say was exceptional-made up for the reception staff. Over all we would come back as the pro out way the cons
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Nice hotel near Michigan Avenue

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Vet nice old fashioned hotel...smallish rooms, but nicely appointed. Staff was great & very attentive. You are 1/2 a block from the Magnificent Mile and a couple if blocks from the Oak Street Beach. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Cool historical hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Close to everything. Great staff. Martini bar gets rockin and bartenders are fun and expert. No room service is the only small knock on a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Family celebration

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We traveled to Chicago to celebrate our daughter's recent PHD graduation. She had traveled to Chicago early in her academic career and wanted to return. The hotel was not only in a great location, close to shopping and the water, but absolutely beautiful. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We will stay at this location whenever our travels takes us back to Chicago. It was a wonderful experience that we will not soon forget. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chicago

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable beds, good martini bar.
We had a great time. The hotel was clean,comfortable. You could walk to all the attractions on the mile. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Our stay at the Knickerbocker

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: The staff were very attentive and helpful.
Cons: no
Location: This hotel is two blocks from the John Hancock building Chicago 360 observatory on its 94th floor. It is close to shopping as well architecture tours.
We had a very pleasant stay. We went to Chicago on a vacation to explore the city. The concierge Cheryl was especially helpful and attentive to our needs. The rooms were a bit small but typical of hotels of this era. The location was excellent and within walking distance of most of the attractions in the heart of downtown. Valet parking was pricey but worth avoiding the hassle of trying to locate a parking spot for our mini van. Many of the lots in the area do not have spaces for larger vehicles.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dryden, MI

Nice hotel close to the heart of shopping.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The rooms were very clean.
Cons: The shower system as unique as it is makes it hard to rinse off. ;)
Location: There is shopping galore, restaurants in abundance, close to the beach, and bikes close to rent.
We love the location and the friendliness of the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall nice hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Everything was great until i checked out left my bags with the bell man....he then helped four people that were not waiting in line...he then called me out for NOT tipping him...when he helped everyone else who was not in line before my friend and I....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chicago Knickerbocker

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Bedding
Location: Shopping
Convenient to shopping and downtown, train stop about 5 blocks