Ratings based on 566 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Uk

Lovely hotel in quiet and convenient location.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Location - comfortable bed
Cons: nothing we were very happy
Location: We have stayed nearby before and like the quiet location plus the nearby restaurants.
This lovely hotel met all our expectations. Staff very helpful, fabulous decor,great amenities and a really comfortable bed. We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. It's close to the lake and near the city without the noise and bustle. There are great places to eat nearby as well as a fabulous hotel restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2015 by David Miskit, Hotel Management
Dear Suzy, Thank you for taking the time to review PUBLIC Hotel Chicago. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, the hotel décor and the comfort of our rooms. We are also delighted to read you were able to enjoy our PUMP ROOM restaurant. We are looking forward to welcoming you again! STAYPUBLIC David Miskit General Manager PUBLIC Chicago
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago, il

The pump room/bar area was the nicest part.

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Our room was very small and was not as updated as the lobby and the rest of the building. There were very small and awkward pictures on the wall and our room didn't seem very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by David Miskit, Hotel Management
Dear Kelly, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We understand that gracious, candid feedback is what drives success. We apologize for the guest room aspect of your stay falling short. If you would consider giving PUBLIC Hotel Chicago another chance, we would very much like to show you what a delightful experience it can be. STAYPUBLIC David Miskit General Manager PUBLIC Chicago
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Great Hotel, Excellent Locaion

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need an upgrade
Location: very central
If you are looking for something trendy and central, look no further!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2015 by David Miskit, Hotel Management
Dear Saad, Thank you for this review of PUBLIC Hotel Chicago. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in the not to near future. STAYPUBLIC David Miskit General Manager PUBLIC Chicago
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carol,Stream,il

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Pros: Friendly efficient staff excellent customer sevice at every opportunity/ encounter
Cons: Room furniture not very comfotable for sitting...bed was excellent
Location: close to the lake,biking/walking great places to eat and drink within short walking distances
3rd time at this hotel...1st visit under the new Public /management...excellent visit for one night...room...very comfortable...good value,good location for our needs...professional,friendly staff...during every encounter...would recommend and return any time . Great hotel expierience overall.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2015 by David Miskit, Hotel Management
Dear Jim, We appreciate your very positive review of PUBLIC Hotel Chicago. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, the good value, our location, and most of all the friendliness of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! STAYPUBLIC David Miskit General Manager PUBLIC Chicago
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Champaign, IL

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Staff. Location. Bed. Cleanliness.
Room was a little small but very clean. Hotel staff were very nice every time I had an encounter with them. Mini bar in the room was a little expensive(6$ for a regular size bag of m&ms) but what can ya do. Bed was extremely comfortable. Set up was a little odd, they put the desk in front of the ac/heater unit and I'm short so it was a struggle to change the temperature. Towels were soft and plush. No long mirror in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2015 by David Miskit, Hotel Management
Dear Breanna, Thank you for your review of PUBLIC Hotel Chicago. We are delighted you enjoyed the service provided by our staff. We do apologize for any shortcomings you may have experienced. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. STAYPUBLIC David Miskit General Manager PUBLIC Chicago
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Leesburg, VA

Cute hotel on quiet street but close to the action

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Soothing decor, comfortable room.
Cons: The bed was a bit hard for my taste.
Location: Only two blocks from great eateries such as Hash House a Go Go, a great place for breakfast and Lou Malnati's Pizzeria. Close to Water Tower Place.
This is a nice, boutique hotel on a quiet street two blocks from shops, bars and eateries on State St. It's only a 15 minute walk from Water Tower Place and 5 minutes from the lake.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by David Miskit, Hotel Management
Dear Karen, Thank you for your review of PUBLIC Hotel Chicago. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed our location and all the Gold Coast has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. STAYPUBLIC David Miskit General Manager PUBLIC Chicago
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toledo

Close to Michigan Ave The Magnificent mile

Posted Mar 16, 2015
The valet parking was rather a shocker. The staff was at your beck and call. Thought we were a little under dressed. Most things were within walking distance to transit bus service or what have you. We used Uber to get around. The bathroom in the room was rather tiny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2015 by David Miskit, Hotel Management
Dear Juice, Thank you for sharing your experience at PUBLIC. We certainly appreciate your kind compliments about our staff and location. We do apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back! STAYPUBLIC David Miskit General Manager PUBLIC Chicago
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Mar 15, 2015
There were a few minor things not working in the room but overall I would stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2015 by David Miskit, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we truly appreciate any feedback regarding our guests experience at PUBLIC. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again! STAYPUBLIC David Miskit General Manager PUBLIC Chicago
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2015
The room reminded me of a dorm room with IKEA furniture. They charged additional fees of 100 at check in that were not disclosed. They put us in a queen bed when I requested a king at booking and would not accommodate. The staff was rude and arrogant. The elevator was banging against the wall and kept us up all night long.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2015 by David Miskit, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write this review; I understand gracious, candid feedback drives success. We do apologize for any inconveniences during your recent stay this is not typical service for PUBLIC. I hope you will give me the opportunity to discuss your recent stay directly. Please feel free to contact me directly at PUBLIC hotel. STAYPUBLIC David Miskit General Manager PUBLIC Chicago
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to restaurants and bars

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Although the room looked a bit older than the pictures, we still enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The front desk even let us check in early. We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by David Miskit, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I am very happy to hear our staff was friendly and able to accommodate an early check in for you. We hope to welcome you back soon! STAYPUBLIC David Miskit General Manager PUBLIC Chicago