Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

nice hotel in gold coast

Posted Jul 27, 2014
parking very expensive staff ok, if you don't need anything you will be fine 1 elevator out of 2 was down for several days, could not get it repaired, invite you to take the stairways but not to the bar with a voucher to apologize
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston MA

Great location, pleasant hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Hotel is a few blocks from the beach and is in an area with plenty of fun bars / restaurants. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Great bar / restaurant in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Mixed feeling about hotel, book two bed bedroom.

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Location, decor, service, cleaness. Its modern, trendy,
Cons: Accoustic isolation of the walls, more drawers and closet area.
Location: Subway is 4 blocks away. Walking distance to Miracle Mile. Great neighborhood
I loved the Hotel. Excelent location. Close to the busy downtown area but in a very elegant and quiet neighborhood. Elegant, very very cool and trendy. A bit noisy in the lobby and restaurant area but very quiet an tranquil on the floors. Staff is very professional and friendly. The rooms are roomy and I enjoyed the decor very much. Minimalistic and done in very good taste. There are a few issues with the king bed bedroom. There is very little space to unpack and the restroom y extremely small. Not so with the two bed bedroom which has a much bigger bathroom an closet. My big complaint about this hotel is that walls are extremely thin and you can hear a conversation or the TV on the adjourning room. This may also apply only to King bed bedrooms since it looks like this was a much larger room and was divided to make two smaller rooms. The bed, pillows and mattress are very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a quiet area of Chicago

Posted Jul 16, 2014
The hotel was quite comfortable - really nice place! Most of the staff were very accommodating, but a few gave the impression that I was bothering them. Overall it was great and I would definitely stay there again! Also, very close to good small restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

You're missing out if you don't stay here!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
The minute you walk up to and in this hotel you're immediately relaxed. There is an amazing fresh scent throughout the hotel. The design of the lobby, coffee bar, restaurant, and room is so peaceful and architecturally well-crafted. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The beach and long path along the water are a five minute walk away. Shopping at the Magnificient Mile is a fifteen minute walk as are great Art galleries and tourist sites. The neighborhood of the hotel is also beautiful with many brownstone residences and restaurants. I highly recommend and encourage you to stay at Public. It is simply the best hotel in the city!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chattanooga, tn

Very nice hotel. 1 blk N or food/entertainment

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Very nice hotel. I booked thru expedia, when I arrived they offered to upgrade for only $40 per night to suite. During our stay met MR. Willson with hotel sales, we needed to stay another night beyond original plans, the rate was $130 more per night than we originally paid, so I spoke with Mr. Willson and he worked things out for. Overall a great experience!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liberty, MO USA

Lovely hotel, we enjoyed our 3 night stay!

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: We felt welcome. Comfortable room, in room safe, enough space that our bags were out of sight, blackout shades on the windows. Many other extras.
Cons: Personally I would rather have a fridge than a mini bar fridge.
Location: Easy Red Line ride to see a Cubs game at Wrigley Field.
We were very pleased with the hotel overall. All of the staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful. They seem to be proud of the place. The size of our room was a pleasant surprise, very bright, spacious and comfortable. The location was great, the Red Line just a few easily walked blocks away. So easy to hop on and be downtown in no time. The Library Bar and Pump Room are both impressive. We didn't have time to have dinner in the Pump Room, but it was fun if only for drinks. Love this type of hotel, old that feels new with lots of character.
3 out of 5
by D

Might enjoy more if a 20 something hipster

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Clean
Cons: Welcome
Location: Not much nearby. I had a nice dinner at the 3rd coast cafe about two blocks away.
Room was clean but oddly painted all white with white furniture so I did not find it very inviting. Bathroom was dimly lighted. The hallways are monochrome dark brown/stone colored. It was some kind of distopian future theme painted onto an old hotel. Service at front desk was similarly indifferent, maybe a little arrogant - not really welcoming. Positives: the room was large, the restaurant in the lobby was quite busy so must have been good and the downstairs library work area was nice. I guess I just didn't really fit in to the hipster scene.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jerry from Birmingham, MI

Could Use Some Improvement

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Pros: Location, lobby area, bed and bath linens.
Cons: Add more color to the room. Add some more exciting wall decorations.
Location: Close to the Magnificent Mile. Lots of restaurants and night spots close by.
The hotel lobby, the restaurants, and the bars are all lively with a lot of gregarious people. The big area of disappointment was the room. The bed linens and the bath linens were superb. But the room itself was rather disappointing. It was small, with a small bathroom, painted white, with a couple of small black and white pictures on the wall. The room could make you feel like you were in Motel 6.
4 out of 5
by Liz from mi

Quiet out of way hotel.

Posted May 29, 2014
Nice hotel. Rooms too bright with windows. Dated furniture. Quiet but far from shopping.