Ratings based on 867 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom michigan

Close

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Hotel Staff, at checkin and porters .. the bed was very comfortable, and the blinds blocked the the light to get a great rest.
Cons: Wait staff at the restaurant , the guy seemed like we were inconvenient him when we asked, for to see the menu again and a drink. Very rude
Location: Breakfast .. Yoke, late night ..red head piano bar.
Within walking of many venues since we liked to walk and see the sites
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Mark (front desk) is amazing

Posted Feb 14, 2015
First time in Chicago for me and the family. Great location, able to walk to a wide array of restaurants and bars. Easy walk to all shopping and museums and the staff here was great. The only downside was the parking rates!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Celebrating the Hubbie's 30th

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Location, Ambiance, J-E-T-T-E-D T-U-B!!! Sable, View, Amenities, Staff who seem truly genuine & go the extra mile to ensure you have a perfect stay!
Cons: n/a
Location: Location was great, corner of Grand & State, close 2 tons of restaurants, bars, shopping, Mich Ave, etc- great 4 tourists & Chicago residents like us!
If I only had one word to describe our evening @ the Palomar it would be "perfect!" From the moment we walked in to the moment we checked out it was absolute bliss. The hubbie turned 30 over this past weekend so I planned a romantic evening including dinner (Del Friscos!) and a night @ the Palomar. We checked in early Friday evening & were greeted by Ben @ the front desk who was extremely pleasant, helpful & seemed truly genuine. He got our keys for us quickly & explained how to get up to our room & told us we made a great choice with the King Spa Suite (agree!!). Spending a bit extra on this room was more than worth it- lovely king suite including a fabulous jetted tub!! About 10 mins after checking in Ben @ the front desk called to make sure we were loving the room & to see if we needed anything- love that! More over about 15 mins later we got a knock @ the door with a card from Ben wishing my Ben a Happy Birthday & included a bowl of candies to munch on- over the top & loved it! Ben @ the front desk really went out of his way to make sure we had a memorable evening & I'm super thankful for that! Our evening was really lovely- dinner @ Del Friscos & back @ the hotel to enjoy our evening. Also enjoyed the city views & late check out the following morning. 100% will stay here again. Thank you again for a lovely evening!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Northwest Ohio

Did not live up to expectations.

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Pros: Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Get coffee makers that will make a good cup of HOT coffee.
Location: Art museum was well worth it but expect to spend most of your day there.
Could not get a good cup of coffee anywhere in hotel. Keurig coffee makers are available on request. But they only brew half a cup which is too strong and not hot at all. Coffee in the lobby only until 10:00 am and no flavored creamers. That coffee in the insulated containers, luke warm at best. The restaurant only had a breakfast buffet for $20. Not a big breakfast person so to pay that much for a piece of toast or bagel.....NOT. Was told at checkout that the restaurant had flavored cream, you just have to ask for it. Why?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NRW

Sehr comfortabel, gemütlich, höhes Niveau

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Gemütlichkeit
Wir hatten keine Probleme Der Blick aus dem Fenster in unserem Zimmer hat mit sehr gefallen. Wir hatten einen Eindruck, dass wir genau im Zentrum von Chicago sind. Wir waren von Wolkenkrätzer vollständig umgeringt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely hotel and courteous helpful staff. We staye

Posted Jan 12, 2015
We stayed on the coldest night/day of the year in Chicago. Everywhere in the hotel was warm, cosy and comfortable. Great location. Great bar and excellent food! My very favourite hotel to date.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Perfect spot for NYE

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Location: River North area, close to Eately (Italian marketplace and eatery), Nordstroms and the mall, Trump (check out Rebar), Andys for Jazz, House of Blues.
Great hotel and close to where we were spending New Year's Eve. Note: this is a dog friendly hotel, so don't be surprised to see them walking around. They all were well behaved, so no skirmishes, fights, or accidents, and we couldn't hear any barking. The staff were great, especially the doorman who helped us with cabs, etc. The beds were phenomenal. The complimentary continental breakfast was very average, but there are plenty of places for breakfast and brunch all over the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Fantastic Place in Chi-Town

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Absolutely everything.
Cons: Absolutely nothing......a perfect hotel.
Location: One of my wife's & my favorite restaurants in the world (Quartino's) is two blocks away......highly recommended: great, lively, fantastic Italian food
The Palomar is a great place and it starts with the check-in. The "greet staff" has personality plus and are incredibly decent people, especially Abdul. The room we had was also incredibly great with full views of State Street and the city. The hotel restaurant is very, very, very good. We had breakfast there and talked to a couple in the elevator who said dinner was even better....and it was. Venison that melts in your mouth. We took out the car three times and the valet service was smooth as silk, plus the doormen, especially Stan, were incredibly (again "incredibly") personable with both adults and children and we saw him with a 4 & a 3 year old and he (& they) melted our hearts. All in all, we could not have asked for a better experience........wish we could rate this hotel higher.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Overall, excellent hotel in walking distance to Michigan Ave and restaurants. Room was comfortable and quiet. Pool on 17th floor was warm and lounge chairs comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location friendly staff

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Love the free drinks 5-6 pm and morning coffee or hot chocolate till 10am. Friendly young staff - very helpful .... Good swimming pool ( though a little cold) but no one else seemed to notice. Room good size and great view. Very sound proof.