Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 12, 2015
The hotel was dingy, but there are not many options in this area and online this looked like the less of all evils. People above us were very loud. Check-in was a painful process. We arrived at the hotel 40 minutes prior to check-in time and it was an ordeal for them to figure out if a room was ready. I had called earlier in the day to inform the hotel that we would be arriving early and the "concierge" said he would call me back regarding room availability and never did. I wasn't expecting much staying here and my expectations were met.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Don't take shuttle to graduation....

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Shuttle van to graduation was not safe in my opinion.
Cons: Better transportation to the Navel base. Better choice of breakfast
Location: If looking for places to eat, we went to Gurnee. A lot to choose from and a mall to walk around.
We there recently for Navel Graduation. Hotel staff was fine. I called to confirm my reservation on day of check in and to find out that they didn't have one. My trip was booked in April, with all the confirmations saying everything was fine. I didn't need to confirm. I was more then halfway to hotel, mind you over 5 hours into trip from our state. Very upset to have to keep calling to see if even having room when get there. Finally they said had room. Get there and check in was fine. Next morning taking shuttle over to Navel base. Breakfast that they had was cereal and toast. The shuttle to the Navel base was a beat up gray van. The van was so loud and back firing all the way to and from base. The fumes coming into the windows was very strong. A few times didn't think going to make it to and from the base. I warn anyone that is going for graduation, to take your own car to the base. The shuttle is not safe in my opinion. Only had a few tv channels on the tv to view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Excellent Choice/Great Price

Posted May 19, 2015
I came to the hotel for my son's graduation from Navy boot camp. I did some research before picking it. I was pleasantly surprised that is was such a nice place. The staff was excellent. The front desk person Julian was excellent. Really went out of his way to ensure I had a pleasant experience. He told me places to eat and places to go see. Not only gave me verbal directions but printed them out for me. Gave me toiletries that I didn't bring due to flying there. The location was very close to the graduation (about 2-3 miles). Very clean room, refrigerator and microwave. Nice tv (flat screen). Lots of places to eat near by. I especially enjoyed Gijo's 24 hr diner right up the street, decent food, great prices, friendly and excellent staff. Over all 5 star experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Posted May 4, 2015
The staff were really friendly, the bed was comfortable. The room and hotel was very clea. I was very impressed with this hotel.I would definitely book it again if I go back to waukegan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Hotel was o.k., better than some in this price ran

Posted Apr 30, 2015
It was all adequate except for the free breakfast which was on the lower end of the scale.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Great Red Roof Inn

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Very Clean, Comfortable Bed, Quiet,
Cons: There absolutely needs to be a better Contiential Breakfast! Last year I stayed at the Ramada Inn a few blocks away their breakfast was excellent!!
Location: Great loacation for my needs, just what I was looking for EXCEPT for the poor Continetal Breakfast! You gotta fix that ASAP!
I certainly can't speak for all of the Red Roof Inns around he country but the one in Waukeghan Illinois is really a nice facility.....so if you're in or around that area and need a place to stay I highly recommend it. Very Clean Rooms, Quiet, and Nice Staff that will work with you if you have a problem. I booked my stay about a month in advance and got a really great online rate! The one drawback and complaint that I have is the the fact that their Contiential Breakfast is terrible, so very limited! If you're hungry in the morning and most people are then be prepared to find a resturant for breakfast cause all you get here is cold cereal, toast and juice! I won't mention names but I've stayed at other hotels and I don't meant fancy hotels but ones ones on par with Red Roof that had an absolutely dynamite Contiental Breakfast. I wish these guys would add a lot more to their breakfast menu. I give it 4 stars and would go to 5 if they had a better breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from dandridge

navy graduation

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: gas station places to eat
everything was clean and the staff was excellent they went out of there way to help you very happy with the motel. I would tell every one if they was going to Great Lakes, IL. to stay at the Red Roof Inn.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

In town for a concert...

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
It served its purpose...we were in town for a concert and didn't feel like driving back to the City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by aidas from Kaunas

Red roof 382$ uz savaite , tinkama kaina

Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
savaitei buvom apsistoja , uz situs pinigus tikrai gerai , amerikoj jie visi vienodai prasti
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels