Ratings based on 1,722 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location, dated inside

Posted Nov 25, 2014
In general, it has the perfect location at a good price. Overall, it had the worst bed I've slept in at a hotel. It just looks very dated inside and it was especially striking how the walls are made up of cheap office looking material.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2014
The hotel was a pleasant surprise for the price. The room and facilities were nice, and the staff was excellent. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Chicago. The location is excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Great hotel and pricing for the best location - if you want to be near the Mag-Miles attractions!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indiana

we stayed mainly to sleep so it was fine

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: location and security measures
Cons: include breakfast, muffins, donuts, coffee, etc.
Location: our trip was to the House of Blues and then we shopped
the rooms are small but I got that info from other reviews so no surprise there. The room was comfortable and clean. Next time I will ask for a window view of water not alley.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Cons: The toilet seat was dirty. YUCK.
Location: Literally 100 yards or less of a walk to the Magnificent Mile! Perfect location and a great price!
Everything was quite nice. I enjoyed how the hallways were not long and narrow, but more like a "maze." It was still easy to find my room, but there was ZERO hallway noise from people outside the room due to the wonderful hallway set up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

Perfect location

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Location, clean, nice rooms
Cons: Key to elevators were frustrating at times, would engage until moving to wrong floor.
Location: Great and close to transit and able to walk to a lot of our destinations
Upgraded to a better room with an amazing view due to construction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

5 star location

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Location can't be beaten. Just in between The Loop and Magnificient Mile, it allows you to be in the major attractions within minutes. Extremely safe district. Check-in was super efficient. Staff was courteous. Room amenities were not renovated as they should. Good value for money. Room equipment a bit dated, very spacious though. Nice views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas City MO

A New Chicago Hotel Find!

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Virtually everything
Cons: Room size, but this is not a deal breaker
Location: Already covered above in Write about your experience
Everything about our experience was terrific: The staff was helpful and friendly; the room was immaculate (as was the entire hotel); excellent Italian restaurant off the lobby, great location convenient to both State Street and Michigan Avenue shopping & restaurants, etc., etc., etc. Our only quibble is that the room was a bit small for the three of us, but that is a quibble, since the price was right and everything else wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great Location

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, facilities.
Location: Great location overlooking the river. There's a good coffee shop on the corner for breakfast. River/harbour trips start nearby.
Our room was a bit small, although our son had a larger one all to himself! However, it was clean and comfortable. All the staff we dealt ith were friendly, efficient and helpful. Good business facilites (PC, printer, etc) and excellent laundry facilities in the basement. We liked the fact that extra bottled water, coffee, iron etc. were all available on our floor. With suitcases it's a bit of a hike from the nearest "L" station - we took a taxi for the 5 minute journey. If you have a car, parking is expensive but there are cheaper options 10-15 minutes walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Mississauga, ON

Best boutique hotel in Chicago!

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Recently stayed at the River Hotel during attendance at the Chicago Pack Expo 2014. Room was clean and the property was maintained well. The staff was extremely friendly and was always willing to assist. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would choose the River Hotel for future visits to Chicago!