Ratings based on 2,903 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dartmouth, MA

Affordable comfort one block from Millenium Park

Posted Sep 14, 2014
The Silversmith exceeded our every expectation--great location three minutes from Millenium Park and the busy Michigan avenue scene. Art? You're a six minute stroll from the world class Art Insitute of Chicago and just a ten minute hike from the Chicago Architecure Foundation and it's many guided tour options. But back to the Silversmith. Located in Chicago's jewelry district, this Daniel Burnham-designed boutique hotel is a classic of the Chicago style on the outside with a newly refinished lobby in harmony with it's design heritage. Our room on the tenth floor facing away from the street was in mint condition and very roomy even with its king-sized bed. Well-appointed bathroom with tub and shower, un-stocked refrigerator, safe, huge closet, free wifi, Keurig coffee machine and supplies, writing desk complete the picture. We did notice the traffic on the El, Chicago's elevated train system, which runs outside the front of the hotel on Wabash Avenue--actually we experienced it as a quiet "whoosh", repeatedly mistaking it for a gust of wind, so no problem for us, but don't know how it sounds from rooms on the lower floors facing the street. Finally, the staff was super friendly and helpful. We felt safe and very much at home at the wonderful Silversmith and are looking forward to our next stay with them. Five stars!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Nice bar and restaurant
Cons: Housekeeping
Location: Excellent location to the L (train) literally a half block away. Centrally located easy walk to surrounding attractions.
Hotel was clean staff was nice. The only thing that was a bummer was one day housekeeping did not clean our room, and forgot to leave clean towels on another day. A quick call downstairs and fresh warm towels were brought up to the room. I personally am ok with the fact the room was missed one day, and the towels were forgotten on another day. It would NOT keep me from staying there again. I just think that it should be mentioned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. Our newly renovated hotel offers large guest bedrooms and clean, modern decor that makes for a most comfortable stay. We take our housekeeping services very seriously and I am surprised by the service you received. I will look immediately to find where the breakdown in service occurred to remedy this for future visits. We do hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in Chicago. Regards, Hans Ritten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle, wa

My next stay in Chicago-Silversmith

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Staff. Modern. Classy
Cons: can't think of any
Location: For me it was a perfect base. I had business at McCormick Place very easy to get to and Rosemount center took the "L" very easy
First time saying at the Silversmith will be my go to place to stay when on business in Chicago. It will be my place to stay when I'm playing in Chicago. The staff has to be some of the best in the business. They made my stay enjoyable. I don't do many reviews but when I do there's a reason and the Silversmith earned my 5 STAR's.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Andy, thank you for your review of the The Silversmith Hotel. Our recently renovated hotel is perfect for both business and pleasure with large guest bedrooms, state of the art amenities and artfully designed interiors. Our seasoned team here at Silversmith strives to accommodate with friendly, personable and efficient customer service, and we are so glad to have left a lasting impression on you. We very much look forward to your next visit, Andy, when perhaps you may enjoy a quick bite at our newly opened Adamus Restaurant and Lounge. Regards, Hans Ritten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Beautiful hotel downtown (loop) Chicago

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Modern look, cleanliness, friendly hotel staff, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and cosy lounge and bar.
Cons: They could use a higher grade toilet paper and facial tissues. No big deal but the hotel was so perfect this was the only thing I could think of.
Location: Downtown - the loop. Close to Millennium park, Magnificent mile and almost everything is within walking distance; if not, subway tracks are steps away
This hotel is fantastic. The staff are amazing and so friendly, the recent remodel is spectacular and the rooms are impeccable. It's a rare find in downtown Chicago. You are a short walk away from Millennium Park and the subway is literally steps outside the front door. Most attractions are within a short walking distance. I plan to go to Chicago again on vacation and although I prefer to switch things up and stay new places - it will be very hard to go to any other hotel as I would know what I am missing at the Silversmith. There is a slight train noise at night but it was not very audible in the room we stayed in - other rooms closer to the elevated tracks may be louder. What we heard was quieter than putting the fan on the high setting on the A/C. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, although if you are a family with young children - be advised that there is no pool. This hotel is perfect for young adults through to the elderly. Very modern, clean and well kept.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Chris, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad to have left a lasting impression on you with our friendly, attentive and personable customer service. We too love our prime location in the heart of the city, within walking distance of premier landmarks and famed locations. We very much look forward to your next visit, when perhaps you may enjoy a quick bite at our newly opened Adamus Restaurant and Lounge. Regards, Hans Ritten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Beautiful Downtown Hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2014
We really enjoyed the stay here! Beautiful hotel located in downtown Chicago. The staff were professional and friendly. There are many dining options in the area .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Lynn, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us in our prime location right alongside the loop! Our team strives to shape a memorable experience for all of our guests and we are so glad to have left a lasting impression on you. We look forward to your next visit, Lynn. Regards, Hans Ritten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Above and beyond expectations!

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Location: The Cloud Gate is SO close, you have to go in the early morning when no one is there! Navy Pier & Soldier Field is a hike, but do-able.
We had selected the Silversmith based on the awesome Expedia deal we found, but were completely blown away with the results. We saw that it looked like a 5-star hotel, but it was so much more than we were expecting. Right off the bat, we were greeted with the friendliest doorman, who helped 5 girls who over packed take our luggage up to our room. The entire staff was phenomenal, and saw to our requests right away. Whether it was more ice, clean towels, extra pillows & blankets, and even bandaids - everything was done promptly and with a smile. We were treated as if we were the only guests, and the entire staff could not have been any nicer. I will definitely be booking here every time I come back to Chicago!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Jess, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated hotel with spacious guest bedrooms and modern, chic interior design. Our team strives to provide personable customer service, and we are happy to have left a lasting impression on you! We very much look forward to your next visit with us the next time you find yourself in Chicago. Regards, Hans Ritten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location. And even better staff.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
What a wonderful hotel - excellent location in the loop. Easy access to everything and trains. Outstanding staff - very helpful and courteous. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. Our prime location right alongside the loop is perfect for exploring all that the Windy City has to offer! Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide optimal customer service and we are so happy to have left a lasting impression on you. We look forward to your next visit. Regards, Hans Ritten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chile

Location, location, location

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Excelent in every way. Staff very attentive. Rooms spacious and clean. Best of all, the hotel is very well located, within walkable distance of the major attractions in Chicago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Victoria, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We too love our location in the heart of Chicago, right alongside the loop. Our recently renovated hotel extend large guest bedrooms and modern, chic decor. We are so happy to have left a lasting impression on you and we hope to see you again the next time you find yourself in Chicago. Regards, Hans Ritten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Great location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Vending machines and a more convenient ice machine.
Location: Close to the Chicago Orchestra and the theatre district. Lots of dining choices. Couldn't be closer to metro transporation.
This hotel is located just off of the Orange Line in Chicago which means we took the L directly from Midway Airport, disembarked at the correct street location, walked down one flight of stairs, and were at our hotel. The convenience could not be beat. The event we were attending was two blocks from the hotel. This train ride cost $2.50 one way while a taxi would have charged at least $40. The hotel was nice, cool and the employees very helpful. It was just as convenient and economically heading back to Midway the next day for our flight home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Beth, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We too love our convenient location right alongside the loop within walking distance of our favorite attractions and premier shopping & dining. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests and we are so glad that we have left a lasting impression on you. We look forward to your next visit, Beth! Regards, Hans Ritten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in central downtown

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Quiet, comfortable, with good air conditioning
Location: In downtown Chicago, close to subways, restaurants, Millenium Park, shopping and galleries. Easy walk to banking and business district.
Spent four nights in August 2014. Great central location for sightseeing and for business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Silversmith Hotel. We too love our location right alongside the loop, within walking distance of famed attractions and premier shopping & dining. We do hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in Chicago, when perhaps you may enjoy a meal at our signature farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea. Best, Hans Ritten