Ratings based on 3,501 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

Too expensive and too hard to find

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Broken things need fixed.
Location: Horrible location blocked by construction. Very hard to find.
The room was in disrepair and directly next to the train. Very noisy and very uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2015
Good choice for a downtown stay, close to most business locations, very nice recently remodeled rooms and facilities. Beautifullly done décor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Nice hotel in a great location.

Posted May 12, 2015
Wonderful experience at the Silversmith Hotel over NFL Draft weekend. The staff was very accommodating to our needs and was helpful with any questions we had asked. The bartender at the hotel bar was very nice as well and offered some suggestions for where to go in the vicinity. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Sam, thank you for your review. I’m happy to hear that our team members provided you with exceptional customer service. We’re looking forward to your next stay. Best, Frank Leone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2015
Perfect hotel for a romantic getaway - stayed here after proposing to my girlfriend, very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Congratulations on your recent engagement – I’m happy to hear that you decided to celebrate this special occasion with us. Best of luck in your upcoming nuptials and we hope to see you again soon. Best, Frank Leone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted May 11, 2015
Excellent amenities and best burger I've ever had even if it was $16.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 20, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Silversmith Hotel. I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay along with the delicious food at Adamus. I’ll be sure to pass along your kind words about our burgers to Chef Nelson. We hope to see you again soon. Best, Frank Leone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom reading

Great value.

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Rooms, staff, cleanliness.
Location: Shops and restaurants plentiful. Navy pier a shortish walk away.
Check-in quick and easy. Rooms huge, and kept clean. Staff excellent. Close to main parks and shops - Magnificent Mile. Excellent transport links - loop and metro. Quiet, despite being right under loop. Not many bars in immediate vicinity, but plenty in several areas a short ride away.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Ted, thank you for your review. I’m glad to hear that your recent stay with us was a fantastic one. We love being in the heart of the Windy City. Please come back and see us again soon. Best, Frank Leone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay, friendliest staff

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Decor, staff
Location: GREAT location, right in the Loop, two blocks from art institute.
We only stayed here one night, but it was lovely! Staff was the friendliest I've ever experienced, and the room was great - clean, well decorated, comfy! Love love love this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I’m very happy to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful location and our personable team members. We hope to see you again soon. Best, Frank Leone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Decor was great. For breakfast, I ordered smoked salmon and bagel. There must have been 3/8 lb of lox and it was delicious.
Cons: There was no ice machine available to guests; you had to call for room service to bring ice.
Location: The food at the burger place next door was great.
Hotel was very nice but there was street construction going on so you had to get dropped off 1/2 block away from hotel entrance. It wasn't too bad until the last day or 2 when it was cold and raining.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Stephan, thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The smoked salmon bagel is one of our favorite food items. We hope to see you again soon. Best, Frank Leone
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable and safe hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Cons: Housekeeping's attention to detail.
Room was extrenely comfortable, spacious, and generally clean. It was also quiet. No views, but that was ok. Don't bother eating breakfast there unless you are looking for a grease bomb. Scrambled eggs looked like they had been scrambled with charcoal. Bar had limited choices except for scotch and the service there seemed overwhelmed with even a few people at the bar. The front desk staff as well as the rest of the support staff was excellent. They tried hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The location was great as well as reasonably safe. Overall, a little pricey and worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Silversmith Hotel. I apologize for your experience at Adamus and will be sure to bring these issues to Chef and the team. We would love to have you stay with us again. Best, Frank Leone
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located, not so clean, not 4 stars

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: light/sound proofing of room doors, cleaning strategies (ALL mirrors in ALL rooms I have seen were filthy), under furtniture, etc.
We were staying at the silvermith for business. After a 14 hour travel, we were assigned a room with shaving stubs in the the sink, plenty of toothpaste in the mirror, etc. We requested a cleaned room, were assigned a new one without a desk. The third room had a desk, but the same cleanliness problems. I found hairs in the shower, I had to use a wipe to remove very visible stains on the toilet seat. At this point, I was just too tired to complain and was not willing to drag my stuff to another room. We went to bed, and realized that the curtains were broken, and spent our first night in the bright Chicago lights. Great that I had a meeting a 8 the next morning... After 2 calls, curtains were fixed. On the last day, my room was simply not cleaned :-( When I complained about all of this, the manager offered me a small discount. I appreciated that, but all this agravation made my business travel more complicated and stressful than necessary.