Ratings based on 2,485 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice newly renovated hotel in Theatre distric

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Nice high ceilings, furnishings and amenities. Great work out room. Nice bar. Employees all very friendly and helpful
Cons: Need towel bars in bathroom.
Location: Great location near Millenium Park, the Art Institute, Theatres, and great dining
Great hotel, friendly staff, nice quiet room and amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and very convenient

Posted Apr 20, 2014
hotel was near museums and sights in downtown Chicago. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was large and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The location was perfect for a nice getaway.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
The hotel and room were in great condition. It was immaculate, and I couldn't have been happier with my stay with my boyfriend for our first getaway in Chicago. I wish at times the front desk and greeters at the door were more helpful to two, young, mature, out-of-state visitors in a new city (as far as directions). However, we met some really awesome Chicago natives who were able to guide us along our journey. Overall, great experience and would definitely do it again in a heartbeat. Privacy was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

A Grand Hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Unique design.
Location: Near the Art Institute and first rate shopping.
As close as you can get to a wonderful "Grand Hotel" with being a millionaire! Staff is delightfully helpful, food is excellent and the location ideal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

A Grand Hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Unique design.
Location: Near the Art Institute and first rate shopping.
As close as you can get to a wonderful "Grand Hotel" with being a millionaire! Staff is delightfully helpful, food is excellent and the location ideal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ML from Bend, Oregon

A great stay!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: comfortable room. Location.
Cons: can't think of anything!
Location: walk in Millennium Park, down Michigan Ave, great restaurants, theater, take the "L" to/from the airport
We REALLY loved staying at The Silversmith --everything was better than we expected. The location is so convenient--we took the Blue Line from the airport, got off at Washington and walked a short 2 blocks. The Red Line was very close too, and we used that several times. The hotel is right beside the "L" (other lines) but as other reviewers said the 'noise' isn't a bother. It's kind of like wind or white noise, and not too frequent at night. The Madison/Wabash location is very convenient for Millennium Park, Michigan Ave, restaurants, theater, coffee shops, ETC! The staff was very friendly and helpful, all of them. The rooms are lovely and comfortable--the towels soft and they smell good :). The bed linens are heavenly. A Kuerig coffee maker and good TV, free and easy wifi, and nice amenities are all included. The bar/lounge is nice to have a night cap at the end of a busy day. We didn't eat any meals there but there is a restaurant open for more than breakfast. The Expedia deal was great, so I hope we can stay there again--!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Great location, downtown Chicago. The cab there from O'Hare was only $40. Very clean, newly remodeled!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time away!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Very clean and great location!
Location: Mellenium Park! Walking distance to public transit!
Very welcoming … clean … would recommend &/or stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Houston TX

Downtown Hotel in Chicago near Millennium Park

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The friendly, outgoing staff and the comfortable beds. very reasonable price.
Cons: nothing in particular (I wish the room could be a little bigger, but that obviously cannot be changed.
Location: L station right outside and the "Blue Line" is two blocks away. tons of restaurants, right in the middle of downtown activities.
The hotel was very clean. the staff was very outgoing, friendly and helpful. Everyone was cheerful all the time. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The rooms were very clean, though small, but that is not unusual in downtown hotels. beds were very comfortable. free coffee and Wi-Fi, the business center was also free so we were able to print off our boarding passes without having to sign up and pay. that was a nice touch. The hotel had a bar and restaurant that we never got to use. The L train is right outside, the Blue Line to O'Hare is two blocks away; restaurants are all around the area so it is convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Perfect on all accounts. Room was gorgeous. So clean!