Ratings based on 2,882 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chile

Location, location, location

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Excelent in every way. Staff very attentive. Rooms spacious and clean. Best of all, the hotel is very well located, within walkable distance of the major attractions in Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Great location

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Vending machines and a more convenient ice machine.
Location: Close to the Chicago Orchestra and the theatre district. Lots of dining choices. Couldn't be closer to metro transporation.
This hotel is located just off of the Orange Line in Chicago which means we took the L directly from Midway Airport, disembarked at the correct street location, walked down one flight of stairs, and were at our hotel. The convenience could not be beat. The event we were attending was two blocks from the hotel. This train ride cost $2.50 one way while a taxi would have charged at least $40. The hotel was nice, cool and the employees very helpful. It was just as convenient and economically heading back to Midway the next day for our flight home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable hotel in central downtown

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Quiet, comfortable, with good air conditioning
Location: In downtown Chicago, close to subways, restaurants, Millenium Park, shopping and galleries. Easy walk to banking and business district.
Spent four nights in August 2014. Great central location for sightseeing and for business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Silversmith Hotel. We too love our location right alongside the loop, within walking distance of famed attractions and premier shopping & dining. We do hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in Chicago, when perhaps you may enjoy a meal at our signature farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea. Best, Hans Ritten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Very nice hotel close to everything.

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Really friendly staff a great experience. Location is phenomenal. Great value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Bobby, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that our team here at Silversmith left a lasting impression on you with our attentive, personable and friendly customer service. We too love our location right alongside the loop within walking distance of famed attractions and premier destinations. We look forward to your next visit with us, when perhaps you may enjoy a meal at our newly opened Adamus Restaurant and Lounge. Best, Hans Ritten
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Bobby, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide optimal customer service, and we are thrilled that we have left a lasting impression on you. We too love our prime location in the heart of Chicago, within walking distance of famed attractions and premier shopping and dining. We look forward to your next stop in the Windy City, Bobby! Regards, Hans Ritten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Very nice location that near the subway. But the wireless are terrible. Hard to connect, weak wifi
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We too love our location right alongside the loop, giving our guests the opportunity to explore all that the Windy City has to offer. We apologize for the WiFi service you experienced and will look immediately into improving this service. Thank you again for your review and we do hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in Chicago. Regards, Hans Ritten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Jersey

Great location-great staff

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The location was perfect for staying in downtown.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance of major downtown attractions like Magnificent Mile, Millenium Park, the Art Musuem.
The staff was great-Ariel who checked us in was fantastic!!! She gave us some recommendations for dinner (Giordanos!!!) and where to watch the fireworks without sitting in the Navy Pier crowd! The hotel was in the perfect location-right outside the subway-multiple lines but especially the Orange line which comes from Midway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location
Nice, clean, well-appointed hotel conveniently located within the Loop near many of the attractions that you would want to see in Chicago. There is an El stop practically right in front of the hotel and stops for the red and blue line right around the corner. We had the Go Chicago Card and the hotel was the perfect staging area. For the hop-on/hop-off trolley tour and the bus tours, these tours start at the Palmer House just a half block away. The Bean, Millennium Park, the Lake Shore, the Art Institute, Buckingham Fountain are all within walking distance. TIP: Don't rent a car because parking rates are crazy. Purchase a multi-day CTA Ventra pass and catch the local transit - whether bus or train. The Navy Pier and the Magnificent Mile shopping north of the river are all within a short bus ride away. Buses are clean and come often. The hotel was perfect because we could do activities in the first part of the day in one part of Chicago, stop off at the hotel to drop off things and freshen up, then head the opposite direction for more activities. Our room was on the fourth floor, but the noise from El was not an issue for us as our room did not face the street. All in all, would definitely stay here again if I am ever in Chicago.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We too love our prime location right alongside the loop, within close proximity to famed attractions and national landmarks. We are so glad to hear you were able to explore all that the Windy City has to offer! We do hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in Chicago! Regards, Hans Ritten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Great stay with my 16 year old son. Very helpful and kind staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Pia, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. Our team here at Silversmith is happy to provide their most attentive and personable service, and we are so glad to have left a lasting impression on your and your son. We look forward to the next time you find yourself in Chicago and visit us again, Pia. Regards, Hans Ritten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Mb

Great central loop location.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Comfortable room does not describe what it's like to sleep on a cloud! I've never slept late in any other hotel I've ever stayed in. The staff were more than courteous, helpful and accommodating. Close enough to attractions in the loop and the lake side parks to walk and appreciate the scenery. Amazing architecture surrounds. Close to the Mag Mile and discount stores, definitely shopping for everyone. Will visit Chicago again and would stay at the Silversmith in a heartbeat!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
CL, we are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed our recently renovated guest bedrooms, offering luxury amenities and chic, modern decor. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide helpful, attentive and personable customer service and we are so glad we left a lasting impression on you. We very much look forward to your next visit to the Windy City, when we may have another chance to further impress you! Thank you for your review. Regards, Hans Ritten
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
CL, thank your for your review of Silversmith Hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our recently renovated guest bedrooms with luxury amenities and chic, modern decor. Our staff here at Silversmith strives to provide helpful, attentive and personable service, and we are glad to hear we could leave a lasting impression on you. We very much look forward to the next time you visit the Windy City, CL! Regards, Hans Ritten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Excellent location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Room size Location Quality Free access to computer, internet and printer in the business area
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to shopping, in the loop, near Millenium Park, lots of restaurants and the Cultural Centre
Excellent location, in the loop, easy access to the Millenium Park and to the Metro to the airport. Luxury rooms, with comfortable beds. Very helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Emily, Hotel Management
Thank you Jane, for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. Our location is great for guests to looking to explore the many attractions and famed locations of Chicago. Our recently reinvented space provides large guest bedrooms and luxury amenities. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed! We look forward to your next visit, Jane. Best, Hans Ritten