Ratings based on 2,786 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sofitel Chicago

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Walking distance to the John Hancock, water tower and magnificent mile. Also, close to several restaurants: Giordano's, Lou Malanati's, and Amorino.
We had a wonderful experience at the hotel. The staff was friendly, welcoming and happy to help. The concierge gave us advice on places to eat and how to best get around Chicago. The hotel was beautifully kept even the rooms. We were given an upgrade, in which our room was on a higher view - we were quite happy with the spectacular view of the city. The room was clean and spacious. The only small complaint I have is that there was no where to get a bottle of water as they had no shop or vending machine. The water in the room was obviously overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Upscale hotel at north end of down town Chicsgo

Posted Aug 2, 2015
New and modern hotel of French background. Very nice and spacious rooms with large and beautiful bathroom! Our room had a great and open north view towards the John Hancock tower with lots of natural light. The Cafe Le Architectes was very good (we had a tasty Brunch there). Great concierge service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great location, close to shopping & restaurants

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Rooms are incredibly comfortable, clean, lovely bathrooms. Hotel service was wonderful, everyone incredibly helpful. The only downsides were, the lighting behind the bathroom mirror was so bright it was almost blinding could really use a dimmer. And the TV system was really out of date, no working guide so you had no idea what was on. Otherwise a wonderful location, the rooms are wonderful, would definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Location: Many great restaurants near by.
I respected the efforts made to conserve water, energy, and resources. I feel better about staying in a hotel that is conscious of its footprint.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Location: Close enough to walk most places and the lake
Check in was fast and very accommodating. The room was acceptable and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Exceptional Hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: The rooms are beautifully appointed we also had excellent views. The fitness center is modern and well maintained. Very quiet also.
Cons: My whole career has centered around customer service and customer satisfaction and I can't think of a single improvement. Top Notch!
Location: This location is excellent for tourism. We didn't even rent a car. Taxis are plentiful and there are many great things to see and experience nearby.
Modern amenities served up with European flair. The staff and the facilities are equally exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Lovely hotel, friendly staff

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, nice bar area and comfortable rooms
Cons: price for the drinks in the mini bar in the room very high indeed 7.50 for bottle of water!
Location: near to the lake beach and a short walk to the pier area
Lovely hotel, in the center of Chicago. Easy walk to the shops on miracle mile, close to restaurants etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tuscola, Il

Different. But different is good...Right?

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: The staff was friendly and the hotel was clean and quiet.
Cons: I think the staff have done a very good job accommodating its typical clientele. I am just a farm fed country girl who likes it simple.
Location: You are downtown Chicago. Everything is possible and close by!
Was in town for the Blackhawks Convention. This was our first time staying at this hotel. The hotel was a little more upper scale than we prefer, but everyone was very nice. The room was like an ice box when we walked in. But then again, it was 112 degrees outside..so my husband enjoyed the coldness. The food on the menu was not in our taste, but the hotel sits in perfect location for great food. The bed was comfortable and the room was very spacious. Very very clean!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Clean, excellent staff
Location: Near many shops and restaurants.
Excellent hotel! Comfortable rooms. Staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire, UK

In a neighbourhood but also at the centre

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Excellent postion - can walk to all the central attractions but also in a neighbourhood where local people live and wprk
Cons: Some possibility to open the window, even slightly
Location: Next to Hancock Tower and Michigan Avenue and also with walking distance to the Lake, millennium Park, Sears Tower etc
Staff all helpful and very pleased to see the guests