Ratings based on 2,156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Nice hotel in need of new art

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: SERVICE!!! Every single person we engaged with from the hotel was A+++
Cons: The artwork behind the front desk is dated. By placing new artwork there the first impression of the hotel would be better.
Location: Magnificent Mile and Oak Street for shopping. Surgical Museum for something interesting and strange in a gorgeous old Gold Coast home.
Meridith, the bar tender was our first encounter with service excellence and it never dropped from there. Everything was an A+ (except the decor seems a bit dated and the finishes are a little worn). But I would stay there again. The rooms are large and VERY comfortable. They even have a bathtub, which is wonderful. Although a little short.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel! A big thumbs up!!

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Design, vibe, atmosphere, staff
Cons: More coffee making facilities in the room
Location: Very near north Michigan ave so great for shopping and major transport routes and connections.
I stayed at this hotel when I was running the marathon. The hotel is in a great location; easy to get to North Michigan ave and from there to all major neighbourhoods. The staff were always extremely friendly, personable and attentive without being overbearing. The room was big, clean and well furnished with great facilities. The views were great too! A big plus was the restaurant.... The food for both breakfast and dinner was always excellent and although a touch on the high side, I felt overall was pretty reasonably priced. I will absolutely recommend this hotel and would like to express thanks to al staff who made my stay so relaxed, comfortable and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mpls

Convenient to all downtown Chicago has to offer

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Clean, great view, convenient location, loved the morning complimentary coffee/tea, staff was terrific.
Cons: Carpeting was a bit dated but clean in our room.
Location: Very close to all Michigan Ave/State St has to offer. We loved the restaurants and shopping that was so close.
We had a great experience staying at Sofitel Water Tower North. It was expensive due to the Chicago marathon that weekend but we ended up very happy we stayed here due to its convenience to all downtown had to offer. The amenities were very nice. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to the Magnificent Mile

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: modern, clean, staff
Cons: water temperature at the sink
Location: close to shopping, bars, restaurants, but still quiet in AM
The hotel is absolutely amazing. It is very modern, and the staff is incredibly professional and accommodating. I cannot recall being waited on that well since vacations to all-inclusives in Mexico. It is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. My only complaint was that it was difficult to get cold, yes cold, water in the morning at the sink. For some odd reason the water was often unbearably hot at the sink. Other than that I would definitely stay at the Sofitel again. It's pricey, but well worth it given the amenities and quality of service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced arrogance

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Service was poor. Room was clean but mattress extremely soft and in need of replacement. Had to call for repairs to cable TV. Unimpressed compared to other Chicago hotels I've stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staying in the Gold Coast

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pleasant experience even though the staff appeared short. The reception guy mark wanted me to stay there longer because of his kindness.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Courteous staff clean and modern with excellent locstion
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel. Good bar. Great location.

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Breakfast. Probably typical of many hotels in the US but everything had to be ordered and charged for separately - coffee, juice, toast etc.
Location: Near Magnificent Mile, Hancock Centre, restaurants, City Tour bus
We spent four nights here early October and enjoyed our stay. The bedroom was spacious and very comfortable. The hotel bar was good. Breakfast was OK. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Had a great stay in Chicago and would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee

Fantastic location, and the view was beautiful.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Not one thing.
We have visited Chicago many times, and this is by far our favorite place to stay. The location couldn't really be any better if you are looking for shopping, dining, and entertainment along the Gold Coast, or the north end of the Magnificent Mile. Being just a block and a half off Michigan meant we were close to everything, yet the heavy traffic was not on our doorstep. Loved the little park across the street. The complimentary breakfast was actually a breakfast! Well done all around. We have found our new go-to place for staying in Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Great hotel

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Position, staff and bed
Cons: Nothing
Excellent hotel in a very convenient location, great staff and fantastic bed.