Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Disappointing Stay

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Hotel was clean.
Cons: Put a phone in room. Put alarm clock in room. Include wi-fi password in room.
Location: Mostly a suburban area. the usual restaurants etc.
Our room was next to the elevator creating more noise than I wanted. However that wasn't the extent of my disappointment. It wasn't so much the big things as a lot of little things. Our room had neither a phone nor alarm clock creating a problem if you need to be somewhere at a specific time. The breakfast was also a disappointment. It consisted of coffee, fruit and prepackaged pastries, a much smaller selection than is typical of similar motels. No password for wi-fi was posted in the room, meaning I had to go to the desk to get that information. All in all I'd choose differently if i had it to do over.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Ann McAdams, Hotel Management
I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. I would've liked if you would have told us about these missing items in your room. As far as we go we check our rooms every other day to make sure these items are in each and every room. My apologies once again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Not good at all

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed back, although we wish you would have voiced any issues you had been experiencing while you were staying with us, therefor we would have been able to accommodate you in any way possible.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom H

Sad to say not the worst hotel I have ever stayed

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Took forever to get checked in. The room smelled of something sweet (I think they were trying to cover up the smell of tobacco smoke). It was almost overwhelming... Stayed only because we knew it would be for long enough to sleep. They had a sign up that said the kitchen was out of service and the breakfast was pretty awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Supervisor, Hotel Management
I apologize for the time period that it took for you to get checked in. At the moment we are in the process of updating our property, in which us organizing just one floor for smoking is in our plans.. We hope to see you again sometime.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and reasonable price

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Location to Wedding and had a White Castle and a Denny's across the street.
Cons: New carpet in rooms and a friendlier and/ or younger staff.
Stayed at this hotel because of location to Wedding hall (2) doors down. Hotel was OLD, but they tried to improve the look.Walls had fresh coat of paint, but rooms could of used a new carpet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed back. At the moment we are in the process of updating/upgrading our property. I appreciate you noticing our effort. Hope to se you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Elizabeth

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2015 by Brenda, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating. We hope to see you again and welcome you into our property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ericfrom Illinois

great hotel great staff

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff. Room clean. Will stay again
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Brenda, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back. We appreciate it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom r

Code to the express way

Posted Dec 10, 2014
It was ok ! The price was very good room clean and bed good ! But I believe the air filters needed to be cleaned
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Supervisor, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feed back. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Samehfrom indiana

Horrible

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
it was unforgetable experience. I won't recommend this place to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2015 by Brenda, Hotel Management
I'm sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. We would have appreciated if you would have notified our front desk.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Acceptable.

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Inexpensive. Friendly staff. Clean bedding. Furniture in good condition.
Cons: New carpets/
Location: It was conveniently close to the interstate.
The hotel staff member on duty was polite and friendly. The room was comfortable and clean except that the rug was dirty and had cigarette burn marks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Supervisor, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feed back! We'd like to apologize for any carpet inconvenience. We are in the process of updating our property.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by johnfrom Apple Valley, MN

you get what you pay for

Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I requested a 5 am wake up call and they didn't do it. Also I had a non-smoking room but it was right next to a smoking room and smelled terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2015 by Betty Assistant Manager, Hotel Management
I would like to apologize for any inconvenience.. Im sorry in regards to your wake up, we always make sure we call our guest more than once.