Ratings based on 1,624 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville, Ontario

Great view and central location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Location, view, cleanliness, comfort and helpfulness of concierge.
Location: Must go to Eataly on East Ohio Street - amazing food and experience!
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Location was perfect; nice central location - easy walk to shopping, Millennium Park, Chicago Architecture Boat Tour and the subway system. Hotel rooms were clean, spacious and very comfortable. The fitness facilities were well received by our teenage children. Concierge services were extremely friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Decent Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Beds were comfortable.
Cons: Wifi should be included as standard.
Location: Location was great, walking distance to the Bean and Michigan Ave
Swissotel was nice but nothing fantastic. We stayed there as part of our honeymoon and unlike other hotels we've stayed in as part of this trip, they didn't try to make our honeymoon special. We were hoping for a little more from a hotel like this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location, Nice service from concierge

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Everything you could want EXCEPT no coffee in the rooms. Overall pleasing experience but if you are a coffee person it is a problem
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Perfectly located but not perfect.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Location and rooms
Cons: Service at reception desk. People were pleasant and helpful but slow and not adequately staffed.
Location: The Loop, Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile shopping, the river boat tours (highlight of the trip)
The hotel was beautiful and perfectly located overlooking the river and at the point where the Maginificient Mile and the Loop meet. That makes it wonderful to getting to so many of the sights. The rooms are wonderful. Concierge also very helpful. On the negative, there is no free wi-fi in the rooms which is ridiculous. Hotels all over the world provide free wi-fi and this includes smaller hotels, B&Bs, etc. No excuse for not offering this. Also, the service could use improvement. I'm not sure why it took so long to get people checked in. Also, when it's busy you should have more than 2 people working at reception. Having said all of that I would stay there again or at a comparable hotel in the same area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
We really enjoyed our three night stay at the Swissotel! We visited with our 3 and 4 year old and the concierge couldn't have been more helpful with our requests for kid friendly restaurants, pool access, and procuring a van to take us and our large amount of stuff to the airport. The hotel was beautiful, in a great location, and had everything we could have needed. We would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent hire great position n the river.

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Hotel location excellent for getting aroun Chicago. On the river with great views over looking the lake and navy pier. Easy walk to Magnificent Mile shopping. Staff were very helpfull
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Non welcoming

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location only
Cons: Better relationship between swissotel and expedia in terms of reservations - very poor.
Location: At the heart of the downtown
Upon arrival at 2:45pm at swissotel there was no reservation in their system - the staff blamed it on expedia and told us to wait while the tried to resolve the situation. I made the reservation at 9am that day on expedia. After showed the confirmation email including number - the still couldn't find the reservation. The problem was two different names were inputed - the last name being St. Pierre was I putted as Pierre...... When I spoke to the manager and requested compensation she indicated no as it was no 3pm ( which is check in time) it actually was 2:50. Eventually she allowed us to check in not using the expedia booking number and gave us on night of free internet service. I was not impressed with the rooms and the drinks including coffee was over priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good downtown location

Posted Jul 31, 2014
it is so convenient to everywhere... the hotel service is good too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Room service was a disaster. Not the actual food - that was fine. It was the service that was lacking. I was in one of those business situations where I didn't have much time or energy to go out, and was therefore very dependent on room service meals. Too bad . . . there was a service problem every single time. After three frustrating experiences, I went out to a local grocery store and stocked the fridge. It's really too bad - such a fine hotel with beautiful views and lots of amenities, and then they throw it all away on something as important as Room Service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Location: Navy Pier, AMC River East movie theatre, Millenium and Grant parks, Michigan Ave.
Have stayed at Swissotel previously - location is great. I am an early riser so I really like that they have coffee available in the lobby for guests for a couple hours early, early in the morning.