Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: The view!
Cons: The breakfast
Wonderful views of the city from the 40 th floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 日本

空港からCTAブルーラインで一本でホテルに直結

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: 部屋が広く静か、眺望が良い
Cons: 食事にひと工夫、食パン置いて欲しい
Location: どこに行くのも便利、アンタッチャブルの撮影に使用したアムトラックユニオン駅徒歩13分 シカゴ川クルーズ乗り場徒歩10分、シカゴ美術館20分など
シカゴ、オヘア空港からCTAで40分ブルーラインのラサル駅下車、進行方向左側出口1分、ホテルはビジネスビルディングの最上階の40階にあり、1階のインフォメーションで14時からチェックイン・チェックアウトする。早い時間に着いた時は荷物預けOK親切です 部屋も広く静か眺望はミシガン湖まで開け、夜景は最高に綺麗です、 一つ欠点は食事は典型的なアメリカらしいコーヒーにパンです(電子レンジあり)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel downtown Chicago

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Room was clean and comfy. Nice view too! Staff was friendly and very helpful.I enjoyed my stay. Wish I hadn't missed breakfast. Finding the hotel entrance was a bit confusing otherwise good location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saint Simons Island, GA

underwhelming

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: the maids were nice and efficient
Cons: The entire staff needs to go through a Customer Service class. Very poor.
Location: fine, no complaints
poor customer service and the facilities were under construction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Well located hotel.

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Located across the street from the Merc Exchange. I got in on a red-eye flight, and they let me check in at 530 in the morning, which was fantastic! Very quiet as there is only one floor of hotel rooms on the top floor of a 40 story high rise building. I will definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, CA

Perfect place for visiting Chicago

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Location, Amenities, Views
Location: Its dead spot in center of Chicago, you can walk in 15 minutes to all the important places. Both transportation and sight seeing.
The hotel is on top of Chicago Stock Exchange, there are offices on the bottom 39 floors and the hotel is on 40th floor with special elevator going there from 39th floor. It's location, both in the city and on top of the building is perfect. All rooms have great view of the city and being located at the loop it is in walking distance of everything important and when you need to go further, the train is right there. The hotel itself is simple, but the Wifi was excellent (first time this happened to me in any hotel) and the rooms very nice. Only problem I had was that the athletic club was renovating so I did not have chance to use it or the pool on my stay, and the access to it is through lobby and separate elevator, so be prepared to bring a small gym bag that you can take with you there. Its 5 min from Sears tower, 10 min from Chicago Art Institute and Millennium Park (concerts), 15 min from Fields museum and Aquarium and 20 to Planetarium and Cubs stadium.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very nice, impressive building

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Upmarket building facility
Location: Great location
Unusual to have a hotel atop an office block but this is something special.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Douglas from Denver

Breakfast needs help

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
The remodel of the athletic club has some negative impacts on any stay right now. The breakfast is very down market with stale croissants and rolls and cold coffee. Hope that the hotel gets back to its former better condition after the remodel is completed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great experience, very good value, excellent staff

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
My 8 year old son and I stayed at the Buckingham for a Spring Break vacation. I chose the hotel for its proximity to the museum campus and price. It was definitely a great value. We walked to the Field Museum and Shedd Aquarium in about 30 minutes. The room itself was very nice. There were just a few cosmetic fixes that might have made it look a bit nicer, but it was a very good value. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was pretty simple, but there was a variety of items and we were able to fill up before our adventures each day. We only used the pool/hot tub in the fitness club, but they were both very nice. The locker room and showers were also excellent. I would definitely recommend the hotel and will be staying again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place, Cool Location.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Being on the 40th floor, it is secluded and private but close to the action and L. The room was large and very comfortable.
Location: Less than a block away from an L station and a Blue Line subway stop plus the LaSalle St Metra train station is next door. Many restaurants nearby.
This place is cool. It has the feel of a private club and the rooms are very large compared to other similar priced hotels downtown. It is located in a busy area but with the rooms on the 40th floor, it is very quiet so you get the best of both worlds. The south edge of the L inner loop is half a block away so you can get anywhere downtown fast but there is a lot to do in the neighborhood. The Chicago Board of Trade building is 1 block away (CAF has tours available). There are many restaurants and bars in the area. The room I had faced south away from downtown but the view was incredible, especially at night. You could see the Metra Rail trains leaving the station and the track signals for miles in the distance. I'm sure a room facing east or north would be even better. I would definitely stay here again.