Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overpriced for what you recieve.

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: The history.
Cons: Furniture, carpet, walls are dated and deteriorating. Service at breakfast was awol.
Location: Excellent on all counts.
Stepped back into the English countryside. A nice break from contemporary upscale hotels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a complete overhaul.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
I stayed her a year ago. This time i found carpets worn, poor paint jobs, my room bit as clean as it should be and the overall hotel in need if a complete upgrade. Staff were snippy except for the doorman.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great location, great charm

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: location and charm
Cons: could be "crisper"; some deferred maintenance, attention to details
Location: lovely restaurants and high end shopping nearby, close to the Lake
room small, small bathroom as well; great location and charming facility; staff was good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EWHfrom Summit, NJ

I have stayed at this hotel for almost 40 years.

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location
The hotel really needs a major upgrade. It is in a great location, in a great town. They upgraded the bar and restaurant a while ago but certainly need to do the same for the rooms and halls.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Franklinfrom Wisconsin

Have friends that live in Lake Forest

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: You finally got air conditioning!!! The food at the Deerpath is excellent.
Cons: I think the rooms are pricey for the size. The double rooms are similar to European standards. In other words, extremely small.
I have showed horses for years, so even though I live in Wisconsin I have friends that live in Lake Bluff and Lake Forest. The Deerpath is an extremely convienent location when I come to stay. Even though it was a busy weekend (I believe two weddings were taking place) the room was quiet. The staff was excellent and I loved the room service. The food was quite good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely historic hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2013
We were treated very well, even upgraded. Staff were all pleasant and accommodating. Room was very nice, comfortable. We like the not so very new, so we were very pleased. Being right in town is a true plus- it's such a beautiful town and so well kept- the hotel fit right in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Johnfrom New York, NY

Deer Path stay.

Posted Jan 3, 2012
The pub was closed all weekend, which was very disappointing. It old and charming.