Ratings based on 1,777 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire England

Faded elegance only goes so far ....

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The staff - I normally stay at the Omni where I believed the staff couldn't be bettered but the Drake proved me wrong.
Cons: Plumbing , elevators , general refurbishment
Location: Great location close to amazing shopping
The Drake have an amazing bunch of people working fir them big plus is that they all understand what customer service is all about unfortunately the product they have to work with is old faded and in need of serious refurbishment Third world plumbing , poor water pressure and such small bathrooms I'm just glad I didn't have my wife with me on this trip ,you can hear anyone in next doors bathroom doing whatever - this needs addressing sharpish... Restaurants and Palm Court real gems food very good - just get in there and spend some money refurbishing the rooms and the public areas Would I stay again yes I would thing is would they have me after this review ?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Keene, NH

Grande Dame of Chicago history

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: History, ambience.
Cons: Staff attitude, WiFi charge.
Location: Very convenient to Miracle Mile shopping, etc.
I've always liked this hotel for meetings but this was my first stay. Irritated by staff attitude that I had booked through a "third-party site" (Expedia) so I get no benefit from HHonors, not even the usual free WiFi. Categorically refuse to pay for that, just use my iPhone's hotspot feature. However, the room was very comfortable and have to note the exceptional room darkening of the blinds. Would have preferred to be able to open the window as the weather was lovely, but it had been sealed, so had to use A/C even though it was in the 50s outside. Somehow a spurious minibar charge appeared on my bill (what is a LINTRL?) and a rather cranky desk clerk had to remove it at check-out. Still overall a nice place to stay, recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Drake is grand - but not very green

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Wood and other natural materials, high ceilings, beautiful rooms, great food in bar and breakfast buffet.
Cons: Change light bulbs to compact fluoro /LED and signage to encourage guests to re-use towels and sheets, and make temp closer to outdoors. Green it!
This is a marvellous, atmospheric hotel in a fantastic location. Great food and services. I've stayed there twice, including one year ago. What is disappointing is the total (apparent) lack of progress in making it greener over the past year. All the room lights (as far as were visible) were incandescent -- surely it's time to make them all compact fluorescent or LED?! There were no signs providing a means to re-use sheets or towels. And the corridors and public areas were chilled by air conditioning to a very uncomfortable low temp. Given the number of guests using all these facilities, energy wastage, etc., it was disappointing that the Drake and Hilton chain obviously make almost no effort to be environmentally friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Location

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Non mouldy fruit in breakfast fruit bowl
Great location for exploring. Food was ok. Hotel remedied wrong room assignment and we ended up staying another night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Great Classic Place, Highly recommend. Perfect location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Updated older grand hotel in convenient location.
Cons: Some street noise could still be heard on 9th floor along Michigan Ave side.
Spent 3 nights at the Drake over Labor Day weekend and was very glad with my selection. Had visited the hotel bar on a few prior trips and was pleased to see it offered.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is good.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
The head board was squeaky. The bathroom door was so old that my son couldn't open it very easily. Room was clean but not my style. Too old.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from efg

An old big hotel

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Courtesy , renovation
Broken sink, old bathroom, carpets from 50's, none of staff open the door for you even when you have heavy luggage, no one says hello when you come and go, there are many steps from the street level to receptionist desk, big rooms, retired noisy bed, very old fashion, the door of all rooms slump very loudly and continuously good luck getting sleep, thin walls, be careful when you make out, 13$/day Internet charges and they don't honor and don't offer free Internet to Hiltoon members/customers either. This hotel is a part of Hilton chain! With this price, you could have a much better deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Got a good discount booking the same day. ............
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brazil

Very nice and beautiful hotel!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Location: Walking along Michigan Ave is a must, but don't miss Rush St. nearby, with it's flowers and good restaurants.
We loved our stay at The Drake! Nice hotel, beautiful room, good restaurant and Lavazza Coffee in the lobby.