Ratings based on 226 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Wonderful hotel near downtown Evanaston

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The Homested Evanaton was affordable, well kept and full of character. Close to downtown shopping, theaters, and dining. The service was great, and the man who registered us was very friendly, accommodating had many thoughtful area suggestions. I definitely recommend this establishment!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by markfrom west virginia

a warm place against the cold

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
courteous staff, quiet neighborhood, nice continental breakfast in comfortable surrondings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marcfrom Madison

Thumbs Up.

Posted Nov 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comfortable room, friendly staff, in nice neighborhood within walking distance of Northwestern University. Lots of restaurants in the area. Free parking provided nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnfrom Wilmette

Great get away

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The stay was get. My girlfriend and i had fun. The breakfast bar can use some hot breakfast like scammabled eggs sausage and greek yogurt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Israel

Lovely atmosphere!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The open fire in the afternoons, the olde worlde decor, the personal touch.
Cons: A safe in the room would be nice.
Location: Near the centre of Evanston, shops and eateries nearby, very convenient.
Our suite was beautiful, with a lovely view, warm and welcoming. For people who want a personal rather than a corporate atmosphere, this is THE place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boyne City, MI

Quaint, friendly hotel!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Great Evanston location between town & Lake Michigan. Very friendly & helpful staff. Close to ell & Metra.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dayton, OH

Quirky, but top-notch

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Nothing, really.
Location: See above.
The Homestead is an inn in the European tradition--except that each room has a private bath. The facilities are dated, but quaint and very comfortable. My room was a bit warm, but not stifling. The heavy winds caused my window to bang (don't ask), but the very helpful maintenance person promptly found a good solution to the problem. The cleaning staff was excellent and the front desk staff friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfasts and parking are real plusses. Of course, the neighborhood is safe and attractive and very close to the lake, downtown Evanston, Northwestern University, and the subway and train lines. All in all, the best choice in Evanston and one of my favorite homes away from home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

古いが快適

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
部屋は古いが清潔感があり従業員も親切で快適に過ごせた。朝食もついており、ランドリーもホテル内にあるので数週間などの少し長めの滞在には便利だと思う。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Emily

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jillfrom Schnecksville, PA

A classic European hotel!

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved being able to control the heat in our room with radiator heat controls. It was also nice to have an air conditioner and the ability to open our windows. It was also nice to have extra pillows and blankets. Group of 6 had 3 adjoining rooms booked months ahead at 100 Euros per night including breakfast and free wifi. A great bargain. Front desk very helpful with many questions our companions had. Great variety at breakfast buffet. Rooms were small but a great value and a very nice bathroom. Would not hesitate to stay here again should we ever return to Rome. An astounding number of sites of interest are within 30 minute walk. Downtown Evanston is less than a 5 minute walk. Northwestern University is less than 3 blocks away! The elevator is a classic. Top notch English bath products, plush towels and is a value compared to other chain hotels. If you don't know what a classic European hotel is, do not stay here. This is a diamond in the rough and we're glad we found this hotel. The front desk staff were extremely friendly and the continental breakfast was more than we expected. If you're looking for an American chain hotel, this hotel is not for you, but if you want a neat European experience, then stay here!