Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Wonderful hotel near downtown Evanaston

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The Homested Evanaton was affordable, well kept and full of character. Close to downtown shopping, theaters, and dining. The service was great, and the man who registered us was very friendly, accommodating had many thoughtful area suggestions. I definitely recommend this establishment!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Israel

Lovely atmosphere!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The open fire in the afternoons, the olde worlde decor, the personal touch.
Cons: A safe in the room would be nice.
Location: Near the centre of Evanston, shops and eateries nearby, very convenient.
Our suite was beautiful, with a lovely view, warm and welcoming. For people who want a personal rather than a corporate atmosphere, this is THE place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boyne City, MI

Quaint, friendly hotel!

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Great Evanston location between town & Lake Michigan. Very friendly & helpful staff. Close to ell & Metra.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dayton, OH

Quirky, but top-notch

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Nothing, really.
Location: See above.
The Homestead is an inn in the European tradition--except that each room has a private bath. The facilities are dated, but quaint and very comfortable. My room was a bit warm, but not stifling. The heavy winds caused my window to bang (don't ask), but the very helpful maintenance person promptly found a good solution to the problem. The cleaning staff was excellent and the front desk staff friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfasts and parking are real plusses. Of course, the neighborhood is safe and attractive and very close to the lake, downtown Evanston, Northwestern University, and the subway and train lines. All in all, the best choice in Evanston and one of my favorite homes away from home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lees Summit MO

Great location!

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Great location for restaurants and shops. Close to northwestern and the beautiful campus! Free parking is wonderful in this city! And free breakfast!
Cons: The bathroom could use some fixing up. Some of the tile in the shower/tub was cracked and needed cleaning up. Not able to open windows in bedroom area
Location: Great restaurants in the area. Beautiful streets
In Evanston to visit our son and found this lovely hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by B.from New York

Charming but older

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Homestead is a wonderful little place. The building is old, yes, but the owners clearly treat it with care and the staff is very helpful. If you want a modern, decked-out hotel, head to the Hotel Orrington around the corner. If you're looking for a bit quieter place on a lovely street, the Homestead fits the bill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable, reasonable price, and very convenient to restaurants, stores, public transportation. Breakfast mediocre. Parking arrangements great. Would definitely reserve again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mexico ny

Quaint lodging.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Even though we had an old TV and a clogged tub we enjoy the ambience of the facility.