Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southern U.S.

Evanston hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The convenient location and free parking.
Cons: It would be nice to have coffee makers in the rooms. The carpet in the elevator is worn and needs replacing.
Location: The location is outstanding, near the parking garage (free for guests), downtown Evanston, and the Northwestern campus.
I needed a hotel near Northwestern University but didn't want a place as expensive as the Orrington or the Hilton. The Homestead was just blocks from the university and worked well for me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel for Northwestern Univ

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Very convenient for university visits. The ambiance is nice and the neighborhood really safe.
Cons: Retrain the lady who mans the front desk in the evenings
Location: Great area, great food and the university and the lake just a skip away
We arrived at 4 pm after a long drive and the lady at the desk told me that my reservation dates were different. It was lucky that I had a fax from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Comfortable, homey and well-located

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The spaciousness of the suite and the Homestead's porch, great both for relaxing and for people watching.
Cons: Emphatically No!
Location: Please see the above.
Our family rented a delightful suite for the week. We chose the Homestead because of the space the suite provided and because of its location - close to the lake front, Northwestern and family, but also because it is in a more residential section of Evanston. The hotel fulfilled everything that we wanted.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Old world charm with all the bells and whistles. We loved it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Wonderful experience. A very quaint hotel with wonderful charm. Was clean and comfortable. Small rooms and beds but not an issue if traveling with a small party.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Classic hotel with excellent staff

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Quiet, classic, comfortable
Cons: The AC had trouble keeping up with 90 degree days.The onsite restaurant is closed Mondays, and with that, the bar in the lobby -- keep it open.
Location: It is in the heart of Evanston, everything is nearby. The parking is a block away and was never crowded. We could easily access anything.
We stayed two nights. Our check in was easy, the staff was very helpful, and as we walked by, would greet us by name. The hotel IS a 'vintage' style. Rooms are small compared to a chain hotel, steam radiators and window AC units, but vintage is vintage. Don't expect a big work desk and a plasma tv, they do not belong here. The hotel is two or fewer block from more great restaurants than we were able to try in the time we were there, free parking, free wifi, free breakfast, and a fairly reasonable Expedia price made it a great deal (most places charge for those, so the deal isn't much of a deal at the end of the day). We will return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upstate NY

Highly Recommend

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Excellent restaurant on site, great location, friendly & accommodating staff; nice to relax on the front porch
Cons: Bathrooms very clean but definitely in need of an upgrade, and air conditioning units need to be replaced- the noise was my biggest complaint.
Location: Location is perfect for everything in the Evanston area-
I highly recommend this boutique hotel, although it really could use some upgrading. We travel a lot, and this staff is among the friendliest and most accommodating I have encountered. (Kudos to Todd, he is excellent!!) Because of the location and outstanding customer service, I can forgive the fact that the air conditioning was really noisy and the bathroom really could use a facelift. The room itself was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The Homestead is walking distance to many bars and restaurants, great shopping and Northwestern U. This was our second stay, and I am sure we will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Dayton, OH

Quaint hotel in wonderful neighborhood

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Air conditioning.
Location: Too much to tell-ideal in this respect/
This cozy, older hotel has a European flavor which sets it apart from the big-box chain hotels. The rooms are charming and clean with adequate facilities. The room air conditioning unit was a bit loud, but otherwise everything was satisfactory. The complimentary continental breakfast is better than average and served in a pleasing setting. The grounds are well-landscaped and the staff is pleasant and helpful. Parking is free in a nearby municipal lot and restaurants, shopping, and the Northwestern University campus is nearby. I feel it is clearly the best of the three hotels in Evanston near campus , although all three are satisfactory.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy poace

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Full of charm and character. Breakfast is very basic. Slightly pricy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Dayton

Homey inn near campus.

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: the free parking and the close proximity to attractions.
Cons: The shower stall.
Location: As above.
This hotel has a lot of character and charm with a European flavor to it. The rooms are pleasant enough and clean, but the small shower stall made bathing difficult. The surrounding area is lovely--green, safe, and architecturally attractive. Great restaurants and shops are close by, as is the Northwestern University campus. Best of all--parking is free in the parking garage two blocks away. Street parking is sometimes available right outside the hotel, but is limited to two hours after 9 am.