Ratings based on 2,154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york, ny

Friendly staff, close to all

Posted Feb 26, 2015
This is the only hotel I stay in when I travel to Chicago. Great staff, very friendly and accommodating. The bed is very comfy and bathroom products are amazing! DB Primehouse is my favorite steak house; however the hotel bar and Jimmy next door are dead. The location is central and close to all...you won't be disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Great location and super courteous staff!

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Great location right in the heart of the Magnificent Mile and in walking distance, even in the cold of February, to all the downtown must do's.
Location: Walking distance to everything downtown, and it is located right in the Magnificent Mile.
We were greeted at the door of the James immediately upon our arrival by cab from the airport. The staff here were literally the first Chicagoans we met on our first time in the city and it set the tone for a fantastic Chicago experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Very Convenient Location-Pleasant Staff

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Cons: The lobby layout/flow is a bit cramped when busy but no big deal.
Location: Starbucks, Eataly, Trader Joe's, Driehaus Museum, it is just off Michigan Avenue so there is shopping, shopping, shopping!
I paid for the "upgrade" (nominal) that put us on the 14th floor with a view. It was very clean, very quiet, and the staff was at all times pleasant, helpful and professional. I have stayed in several other hotels in Chicago and this is a wonderfully convenient location just off Michigan Ave. The beds are made up with white sheeting over the comforter..none of those mysterious (ick) patterned spreads/comforters here. It was very crisp and clean. There are newspapers and coffee in the lobby and a bar and restaurant on site but plenty of options right out of the door as well. I also appreciated the original fine art and there is a business area (if needed) with computers and desks. Absolutely no complaints!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great hotel downtown

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Cons: there wasn't much storage in the room, only one little shelf
great location, the staff were very friendly. easily accessible to the subway, and walkable to many main attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Champaign, Illinois

Weekend Getaway

Posted Feb 17, 2015
I planned a weekend in Chicago for me and my wife, and no trip would be complete without staying at the James. From the moment we drove upper and had the car valet parked, to the moment we left, every staff member was awesome! They really understand customer service at this hotel, which is something some companies just seem to have forgotten these days. Great room with plenty of space. We have decided to always stay here from now on while in Chicago. Stay here...you too will love it and feel welcomed!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

more like a 3 star hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2015
I stayed here for 2 nights. The room was clean and organized. The Smart TV in the room would have been great if it didn't lag so much. On one of the nights we ordered fries and a beer through room service. We specifically asked for hot sauce, no ketchup. We were told the wait would be about 40 minutes. About 45 minutes later, we got a cold, stale order of fries with no hot sauce and a bottle of ketchup. The beer came in a glass with plastic wrap covering the lid. The price for the 2 items was $22. Not staying here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a great time with my wife.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Great hotel. Nicest staff you could ask for at a hotel. Definite recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MI

Valentine Weekend

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Stayed at The James Hotel with my valentine over the weekend.... My experience was amazing.... Staff was very polite and attentive. The hotel was beautiful. Our room was so creative and romantically put together. I am looking forward to staying there on my next trip
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Good location but weird and small rooms

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: location
Front desk guy was pleasant. Room was small and quite plain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First visit. Great location, great service.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: Location, gym, room size, service.
Cons: Bathroom could be bigger
Great stay at the James. Great smaller, boutique hotel in a great location in the heart of River North. Service was great. The bathroom could be a bit bigger, but other than, everything else was great!