Ratings based on 1,817 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Room was on top of a trucking facility ...

Posted Aug 21, 2014
24-7 operation with trailers drop off and pick up. None stop noise. 3 nights there and not one good night of sleep. On top of that their valet made is wait nearly 30 min for the car. Yikes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, On

Great hotel - perfect location

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Everything about the James was great. Staff were super friendly and helpful, location was perfect and hotel was clean and we'll kept. Would definitely stay here again in the future and recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Great location to use as a base for a downtown Chicago visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay. I am very glad that you were so satisfied with the location of the hotel and that it met all of your needs while in Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, N. S.

Great location, fabulous staff

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Cons: Personal preference would see firmer mattresses
From the moment we stepped out of the cab, we were greated with a big smile and a helping hand. The location is fantastic if you want to walk to all of the downtown attractions from the Hancock Tower down to Millenium park. The L is close at hand for further trips. The Ribhouse is world class and the servers were superior. This is a great deal for an excellent value!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Fred, The location brings you in and the service keeps you coming back. I am happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable experience at David Burke's Primehouse during your stay, it is a great experience. We look forward for the opportunity to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Great staff, perfect location.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
I have stayed at The James before, and it seems to only get better as the years go by. The location is outstanding, the staff is professional and friendly and I have never had one complaint with the quality or cleanliness of the rooms. This is my go-to hotel in Chicago. Looking forward to staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Paul, Always great to hear from a return guest. I take great pride in knowing that guests continue to return to The James with so many other options in Chicago. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel!!!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
James at the front desk was awesome!!! Such a help. This hotel is a great stay. Definitely staying here next time I'm in Chicago!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2014 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the kind words! I am happy to hear that our staff was able to assist you with all of your needs, James is definitely an asset to our front desk team. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and Great location

Posted Aug 1, 2014
I would highly recommend The James Hotel. It's in a perfect location. The staff, hotel, room, and restaurant were all fantastic!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Stephen Blackford, Hotel Management
I am so glad to hear that you were satisfied with everything our hotel had to offer during your time in Chicago. We are blessed to be in an ideal location, just one block off Michigan Ave. It makes me very proud that our staff in all areas of the hotel were very accommodating for you. I hope we have the opportunity to see you the next time you visit Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago Suburbs

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Very clean and conveniently located.
Cons: Nothing
Location: My husband and I had tickets to the Chicago Theatre. We were in walking distance to many restaurants and the theatre an. Not to mention Michigan Ave
I booked this hotel solely based on the reviews. All the reviews stated it was very clean, friendly staff and conveniently located. The reviews were all correct. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Well located with smallish bathrooms, average closet space and only one single drawer in which to put clothing. Very friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Everything was great. We loves the late check out time of 2 pm, the location and the good sized rooms. The concierge could have been more helpful