Ratings based on 1,732 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Epitome of customer service

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed recent stay at The James. Each and every staff member, from those on the front desk to those greeting & hailing cabs to those working in the spa, made us feel welcome and at home. Special kudos to Bill (concierge) for taking time to recommend restaurants and entertainment. I will definitely be back! Visitors to Chicago should try out this conveniently located, eco-friendly boutique hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Great location

Posted Jul 16, 2014
The James was a treat! We had a nice room the bed was comfy. Staff was very helpful. The James was right in the middle if everything. Close to the L and plenty of nice restuarants and shopping.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't feel like a 4.5 star hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Most 4.5 star hotels are pretty nice, but this one is different. I thought this hotel should be 3.5 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Loved the room and staff. Room could use another mirror for when the bathroom is occupied.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Location: Great location.
Room was beat up and Air Conditioner not working correctly. The repair service came to our room but couldnt do anything and they had no more rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Best Staff & Location

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The staff!
Location: Perfectly located to shopping, dining and night life....all in walking distance!
The moment we arrived at The James Hotel, we were greeted by very pleasant staff. Our room wasn't ready, so we were offered drinks (complimentary & delicious) in the lounge while we waited. The room was amazing! A lounge area in our room that had a projector TV with surround sound, a sitting area with another flat screen, and a very comfortable bed....of course with yet another flat screen! The rooms were very quiet. It's located in a very desirable area of downtown. The dinner was phenomenal! A must!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Disappointing

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hospitality and service. Be more WELCOMING.
A friend and I decided to book at The James hotel last minute at the 4th of July because everywhere else seemed to be booked. The moment we asked for help at the valet was a red flag and should have known better to stay with this hotel. The valet was very rude and unwelcoming as we were just trying to find other alternatives to park besides valet because we have had a bad experience in the past with valet services. The pretty much set the mood for the entire evening as we only stayed for one night. The double queen room we was very loud and uncomfortable as were trying to get a quiet nights rest. It was pretty obnoxious with all the police sirens and ambulances and overall noise from the streets as we could hear EVERYTHING. I would not recommend this hotel at all. The $250 plus $50 parking was not worth it period. Would have rather stayed somewhere else and paid for a much cheaper room not in the city had we known that it was going to be an experience like this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, ON CA

Friendly staff and great location

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Great experience and almost everything in walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Great stay in Chicago

Posted Jul 11, 2014
The concierge was very helpful, and the bikes came in very handy! The guys at the door were amazing, and so was the steak at Primehouse. Loved every minute of our stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from England

Chicago City Break

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Modern designer decor, rooms very comfortable and staff extremely helpful.
Cons: Cannot really fault for a 4 star hotel.
Location: Central - great shopping, restaurants, attractions.
The James hotel is ideally situated, just off the Magnificent Mile, and extremely close to all main attractions; whether you wish to walk or taxi. The staff are very polite and concierge extremely helpful. The hotel itself has a very bespoke feel and atmosphere adding to an all-round perfect stay. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay somewhere central with a special personal touch.