Ratings based on 4,498 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Old-school elegance, right in the middle of things

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: My one disappointment was that wifi was not free - for a hotel in that price range, nickel and diming for internet access seems a little much.
We stayed at the Palmer for a birthday weekend getaway to Chicago. It was a tremendous location to be touristy from - we walked everywhere (except when we were on a boat!) we wanted to see. The hotel is obviously very old, but at the same time very comfortable and elegant. One of the elevators for our bank of floors was out, which is the only thing I can remotely complain about with respect to the facilities. The room was great, the location was great, the staff was great... highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family night out

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location, lobby
Cons: None
Location: Millinium park, museum of art, great resteraunts.
I've stayed at the Palmer House before and wasn't dissapointed. This particular stay was different as we were given a larger room that was very spacious and accommodated my family of four very well. This is a good classic hotel, the lobby is amazing and it's a great location for Millinium park and the loop. However the bathroom was quite small, but we managed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Stayed here for one night. No complaints. Hotel was really nice, room was clean, bed was comfortable. Hotel bar downstairs was fun and lively.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Perfect Chicago location

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Perfect old world experience.... glamorous and first class.....only knock was poor response on phone from concierge.... Had to go down for immediate assistance.... all staff excellent and best bar lobby in Chicago....food first class!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice heritage property - well priced too

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Good. Comfortable!!! Nice experience - though the staff at the restaurant could be more hospitable and prompt
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne. Australia.

Excellent high class hotel. Central location.

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Record and rooms.
Cons: 5 stars, what's to improve?
Location: Close to the L and subways. Many eating choices within walking!ing distance. Millennium Park a must see.
Staff extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms spacious and spotless. Love the hotel record.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver

Weekend Stay

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: location
Location: easy walk to shopping and restaurants. Also quick cab rides late at night. Great access to walking/running trail. Close to the water.
Arrived and our room was ready which was great. Check In was easy and pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Enjoyed Experience

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: The first impression from the lobby and surrounding was very grand. Has a lot of charm and character.
Cons: Update rooms.
Location: Wonderful location. Walked to park and shops. Many cafes and shopping opportunities close.
THe hotel lobby and area was grand. Very ornate and impressive. Was little disappointed in the room itself. Very small bathroom and temperature hard to adjust. Bed was nice. Furnishings a little worn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bloomfield Hills, MI

One of the nicest stays we have had.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Wonderful location. We went to the Chicago Art Institute which shouldn't be missed. Also a few blocks way was Millenium Park. Wow!
The lobby is spectacular! We upgraded to one of the refurbished rooms when we checked in and it was well worth it. We had breakfast and appetizers from 5-7 each day and the room was very nice. We had a corner room on the 22nd floor with a nice view of the lake. We were very comfortable at the Palmer House and would highly recommend it. The staff was great also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exquisite hotel experience.

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Enjoyed our trip immensely. will definitely be coming back.