Ratings based on 5,728 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient for Chicago theater venues

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Great location, great classic Chicago hotel.
We've been at the Palmer House several times and always have a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom OrangeCounty,CA

convenient and safe location

Posted Apr 21, 2015
I booked this hotel over the phone through Expedia and received excellent customer service. I booked Congress Hotel nearby Palmer Hotel and read reviews online that Congress Hotel was haunted. I immediately called Expedia and request to book Palmer Hotel instead. It was probably the best decision I made on this trip because this location is near everything I wanted to see. I watched the Book of Mormon at Bank of America Theatre which is a block away from the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Good, very very slow elevators. Long waits to come and go, otherwise good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Deep South

Excellent Location, Historic Building

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Location; beautiful lobby; helpful staff
Cons: The room was not as quiet as I'd have liked; I could hear a neighbor's music and the phone conversations of other neighbors.
Location: Art Institute of Chicago is extremely close, as are subway stations that will help you get nearly any place you'd like to go.
In Chicago for a weekend, I needed quick access to the Art Institute and chose this place. Its historic character and relatively good price also appealed to me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Tolle Lobby, tolle Lage, etwas angestaubt

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Lobby Lage
Cons: Qualität und Ausstattung der Zimmer Sicherheitsvorkehrungen (Fahrstuhl-Codes z.B.)
Location: Super Zentral
Tolle Lobby, tolle Lage, etwas angestaubte Zimmer. Aussergewöhnliche Lobby mit Bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles, CA

Historic property that has stood the test of time.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
The Palmer house is an historic hotel that offers excellent service and amenities. The staff was always helpful and always had a smile. I was also fortunate enough to have great weather while I was in Chicago. The staff was helpful with suggestions for great local food choices and other activities. The room was surprisingly small but when you take into consideration the age and the history that goes with this property, I guess it is understandable. Another fun fact would be the trivia questions that can be seen while riding the elevator or on the menu section on the televisions. The great history of the property jumps out at you as you read all of these interesting tid bits about the famous people that stayed at this property over its amazing history. One more thing about the staff. I must say they have to be one of the friendliest group of people I have ever encountered while staying at a hotel. Not only did they always have a smile but they always had a kind word of two to share. One situation that stands out was on the day of my departure. i was leaving the room with my luggage and one of the employees sees me and says, "why are you leaving us?". I felt more like a family friend than a stranger staying in a hotel. I thought to myself, I'm going to use that in my job. It really made my day. What a great property with a great staff. The location ain't bad either. Right in the middle of downtown Chicago. A short walk from all sorts of entertainment. A stay will be enjoyed!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The feel of history
Great location, good facility and echos of the past.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Wonderful find! Great hotel!

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Our room was very nice. The bathroom was clean, and modern with granite counter tops. We had a huge walk in closet, with plenty of space.
Cons: On two occasions, we walked by the head of house-keeping telling someone off in her office with the door wide open. That was pretty awkward for us.
Location: Millenium park with the Cloud Gate (The Bean), Willis Tower with the Skydeck, The Art Institute of Chicago
We absolutely loved this hotel. It is a really neat hotel to begin with, with lots of character, but still clean, fresh, and well maintained. It is also in an excellent location. We were within a couple minutes walk from Millenium Park, The Art Institute of Chicago, as well as lots and lots of restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice hotel close to shoppings

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: nice and big historical
Cons: thy need to improve the windows
Location: walking to Michigan ave night clubs shopping's restaurant
I see a lot of people and torus cars high rise historical buildings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland

Spring Break / Visiting my daughter

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: The lobby
Cons: The doors facing north are a bit of a wind tunnel
Best hotel experience in Chicago yet. Easy check in, nice room, comfortable and quiet. Love the Merlot in the lobby, could have just stayed there. They checked our bicycles for free, awesome place to walk to the Lake Shore bike path then ride. Be sure to visit the Chicago History Museum up by Lincoln Park, you really get to learn about the City. Tesori across the street, great place to eat as is Hackneys a few blocks south. Parking is a bit of an issue...but that's Chicago for ya'. The highlight of the trip though, was talking with Ed Asner in the lobby. Great guy !