Ratings based on 5,015 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Always Great

Posted Dec 16, 2014
The hotel is soooo beautiful. I'm always happy to be there. It also is a great location to catch the trains to various locations around the outer area of the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saint Paul, MN

Hotel close to Art Institute and train to Midway.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: It is a convenient location to museums and the train to Midway
Location: There are many good restaurants, shops, and coffee shops within walking distance.
It was easy to walk places - restaurants and attractions are near by. I love these old classic hotels with character right in the heart of the city. It is THE PLACE to be around Christmas, too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom indiana

Nice hotel... But it's too big!

Posted Dec 15, 2014
I'm not sure I would stay here again. Room was extremely small. I paid for breakfast in my package but couldn't use it because the line for the restaurant was over an hour to get in just to get the breakfast. The lines to get on the elevator were extremely long when we checked in on Friday and again in the afternoon on Saturday. They said they were sold out and I'm sure that they were, but the spaces are not conducive for that many people in the lobby, bar, restaurant, or elevator waiting area. I did however think the staff was amazing!! They were very helpful and beyond accommodating and extremely friendly!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Nice experience, too long to wait for elevators. pretty around the hoidays
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
The location is great. The hotel is fabulous in many aspects, although the room was small and without a coffee maker.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was within walking distance

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The history and look
Everything was great, room noise was not well insulated
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom iowa

SMALL

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: The lobby area and holiday decor were lovely.
Cons: Do something about the room size!
Location: Parking is easy, so you can drive anywhere, or use a taxi if you prefer.
Both of the hotel rooms we booked through Expedia were the smallest rooms with the smallest beds and bathrooms of any hotel EVER! We have stayed here before using other booking services and had a large room and bathroom. Unfortunately we had another couple with us, and we told them them about the hotel. They were NOT impressed to say the least!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mi

German Festival

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Palmer House staff was friendly and polite. Hotel has a lot of interesting history. Many entertainment options.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tampa, FL

Great location but check-in was frustrating!!

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: The location and the beds are comfortable.
Cons: I guess an upgraded computer system.
Location: Shopping is very close and Millennium Park to go ice skating was a must.
Check-in was at 3p and I made sure that we arrived after 3p since I was traveling with kids. When attempting to check-in at 3:15p I was told that the maid was putting the finishing touches on our room and the room was not ready yet but I would receive a txt when it was available. I said fine and thought 10-15 minutes tops should be fine. Well an hour later still nothing and the kids were getting very testy. I went up to the front desk and was told that their computer was down and it was not possible to check-in or assign rooms but it should be any minute. Well 30 minutes later still nothing - I went to check on the room now waiting almost 2 hours. I gave my name and the gentleman said "sure here's your room" like waiting 2 hours wasn't frustrating at all. We could have been offered a water or a snack for the children but nothing. The next morning we went for breakfast and had purchased the "bed and breakfast" special which included the breakfast buffet but when the server said that I needed a breakfast card and should have received it when checking in. I returned to the front desk yet again and had to wait again in a long line for the breakfast tickets. VERY FRUSTRATING!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Great location. Beautiful lobby. Old-school elegance. Would recommend to couples and business travelers, but not families.