Ratings based on 4,508 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Nice Hotel with easy access to many attractions.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Clean room, clean bathroom, big room!
Location: Near Michigan Ave., State Street, Millennium Park, Chicago Art Museum, trains and busses.
Stayed here over Chicago Marathon weekend...the experience at the hotel was wonderful! Clean, spacious room, great bathroom, great climate control. I would definitely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Lobby is great, but rooms need freshened up.

Posted Oct 19, 2014
The historic lobby area and exterior are a great sight, but once in our room we found worn seating, wallpaper falling off the wall, broken drapes, and an overall need for a coat of paint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chicago's Palmer House Hotel is Terrific

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Perfect as is - maybe a service person at the front desk to help guests with simple requests - i.e., a new key, etc.
Location: See above
The Palmer House in Chicago is my favorite hotel - EVER! What a story this historic hotel tells - It is the history of modern Chicago with lots of famous people from the late 19th century - worthy of a tv series! The lobby is second to none in beauty, famous restaurants, great bars with friendly staff. The rooms are beautifully appointed - wonderfully quiet sleeping floors. Enough cannot be said about the location - A block from the Art Institute and Milennium Park. Theaters are walkable distance and every kind of ethnic restaurant you can think of, plus State Street shopping at the old Marshall Field and Company department store along with all kinds of well known and specialty stores.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Old-school elegance, right in the middle of things

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: My one disappointment was that wifi was not free - for a hotel in that price range, nickel and diming for internet access seems a little much.
We stayed at the Palmer for a birthday weekend getaway to Chicago. It was a tremendous location to be touristy from - we walked everywhere (except when we were on a boat!) we wanted to see. The hotel is obviously very old, but at the same time very comfortable and elegant. One of the elevators for our bank of floors was out, which is the only thing I can remotely complain about with respect to the facilities. The room was great, the location was great, the staff was great... highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family night out

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Location, lobby
Cons: None
Location: Millinium park, museum of art, great resteraunts.
I've stayed at the Palmer House before and wasn't dissapointed. This particular stay was different as we were given a larger room that was very spacious and accommodated my family of four very well. This is a good classic hotel, the lobby is amazing and it's a great location for Millinium park and the loop. However the bathroom was quite small, but we managed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Stayed here for one night. No complaints. Hotel was really nice, room was clean, bed was comfortable. Hotel bar downstairs was fun and lively.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa

Perfect Chicago location

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Perfect old world experience.... glamorous and first class.....only knock was poor response on phone from concierge.... Had to go down for immediate assistance.... all staff excellent and best bar lobby in Chicago....food first class!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice heritage property - well priced too

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Good. Comfortable!!! Nice experience - though the staff at the restaurant could be more hospitable and prompt
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne. Australia.

Excellent high class hotel. Central location.

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Record and rooms.
Cons: 5 stars, what's to improve?
Location: Close to the L and subways. Many eating choices within walking!ing distance. Millennium Park a must see.
Staff extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms spacious and spotless. Love the hotel record.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Denver

Weekend Stay

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: location
Location: easy walk to shopping and restaurants. Also quick cab rides late at night. Great access to walking/running trail. Close to the water.
Arrived and our room was ready which was great. Check In was easy and pleasant.