Ratings based on 4,282 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener, ON

Beautiful hotel, very central, lots of history

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Just stayed for two nights to do some sightseeing and shopping. We loved this hotel because it's a beautifully restored building with a wonderful lobby and architectural detail. Our room with 2 double beds was very large and although we had a view of a brick wall, the size and d├ęcor of the room and good sized bathroom made up for the lack of view since we were out all day anyway. Also we loved the location - very central for Millennium Park, State Street shopping and the Art Institute. We found the Concierge desk very helpful and all staff were friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown Chicago like it should be.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Great historic Chicago hotel. Close to everything Chicago has to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In town for a concert

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Beautiful inside, nice rooms. Loved the shower head!
Cons: Valet was slow in bringing my car up, there was a mix up but they offered to comp the parking. That was appreciated.
Great location to the park. Park and walk the Loop area downtown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Perfect location in downtown Chicago!

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Staff were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful.
Cons: Room set-up (e.g. the TV was mounted on the wall adjacent to the bed, rather than at the foot of the bed - making it akward to view)
Location: Great local restaurants/pubs within one block of the hotel; shopping as well. Millenium Park and the Riverwalk are both within walking distance.
Staff were friendly and accommodating. Arrived by 9:30am and was able to check-in to an available room. Location is perfect for access to public transportion, and only 2 blocks from the Double Decker Bus/Trolley stop. Great local pubs within 2 blocks of this hotel, as well as endless shopping options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Beautiful, comfortable & elegant hotel with gorgeous artwork and very nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

historic chicago hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
if you want to feel history and explore the hotel past, then it is right for you. located in the center of the city, close to everything, convenient location. staff is attentive to your requests, breakfast was complete and nutritious. we liked it. the only minus was that our room was on the 20th floor and we had to wait for the elevator for a long time since only few of them were operating to the higher floors. but overall not bad for the century old building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun in Chicago

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Coffee available in room. Free breakfast?
Location: Transportation to points of interest close by, taxi, bus, train. LOVED Chicago's bus system!
Spent five nights at the Palmer House Hilton. Easy access from hotel to the Chicago Art Institute, the Field Museum, the Shedd Aquarium, the Planetarium & Science Museum. Tilted on top of the John Handcock Building. Stood on the glass extensions at the Willis Tower. Took an Architectural Cruise Tour on the Chicago River followed by a visit to Frank Lloyd Wright's home and studio in Oak Park. Spent a day at the Lincoln Park Zoo and even had a Ron Emanuel sighting at the 312 Avenue Restaurant. All in all, a fabulous trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great location, great staff

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff. Clean rooms. Great location.
Cons: Bathroom redesign!
Location: The hotel is located one block from the CTA Blue Line. Walking distance of the lake and conveniently located in the Loop near tons of shops and food.
We were very happy with our stay at the Palmer House. The staff were very pleasant and the room was clean. Overall it was a decent sized room, however we had a very tiny bathroom. It was also poorly designed with the toilet up next to the sink so that it was difficult to move around - probably not the best for families with little children who might need help reaching the sink. The location is great - a block from the train to the airport and within walking distance of the lake shore and tons of restaurants. We arrived early - about 11am - and our room wasn't ready yet. The bell desk was happy to store our bags while we went out and explored. When we got back around 2:30pm, our room still wasn't ready, but the employee at the registration desk happily changed us to a room on a higher floor that was ready. We stayed on the 21st floor, so we did not hear any street noise, but I would imagine the lower floors would be a bit noisy - especially those near the "L". Overall, we were very happy with the stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Impressive Old Hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: History. Well maintained.
Stayed a couple nights on business trip. Lots of history with hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Comfortable, No Fuss Stay

Posted Aug 18, 2014
I liked this hotel. The room was small but clean. It's an old hotel but the facilities have been upgraded. The staff are friendly and efficient. The location was perfect for us and the parking at 55 E Monroe was convenient and easy.