Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

very nice hotel in a great and accessible location

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: excellent location and extremely friendly staff
Location: plenty of shopping nearby and a short walk to some great restaurants on Rush St
as two guests with minimal needs outside check in/out, i can only say that the staff was extremely friendly and courteous and that our room was very clean
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from knoxville tn

Great location but service not what I expected

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Housekeeping was more than great. She kept our room so neat even as messy as we were and location and the view from the room was amazing
Cons: Doormen and coffee people
Location: Location was great. John Hancock and mall nearby
Enjoyed our stay but was expecting more from the Ritz. I had not stay in one before but my daughter has and she did feel it was not up to par eithersuch as doors not being opened for us and she said when she asked about how the coffee machine worked she felt like she was bothering him for the morning coffee downstairs which if had not been the Ritz we would not think anything abouT either of these. Other hotels havE given better services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Location: Perfect
We loved everything about the hotel. Ambience was great and beds were fabulous.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could have been better

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The hotel is very old. Needs some update. Definitely not for young travelers. It looks like a fancy retirement home. The location is good but there are lots hotels close to the bridge that have a better location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Chicago best location hotel.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Everything except the pool: to small cold water and the Jacuzzi is extremely hot!
Cons: Remove the swimming lines on the pool, nobody is training here.
Location: Perfect!
Great location, great room with very nice view, excellent food at the restaurant and room service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Enjoyed our stay.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Everything was first class
Cons: Longer hours in the restaurant and bar. More entertainment in the bar.
Location: We saw Motown, two 4th of July parades, fireworks at the Navy Pier and jazz in the lobby/bar.
We were very comfortable. The room had great a view. The staff was extremely helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

Relaxation getaway

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Great hotel, and even better service. Clean too!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Traverse City, MI

Classy and friendly hotel, gorgeous views!

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Sophisticated friendly staff, views, large suite, location to Michigan Avenue and attached to Water Tower place.
Cons: Bathroom faucets, shower and toilet need to be updated along with the vanity (seemed to be painted instead of replaced).
Location: Convenient to Mag Mile, Rush Street, Navy Pier, attached to Water Tower Place is a bonus. Close to shops, restaurants. Walk to river for boat tours.
We (with my adult daughter) were greeted with professional and very friendly staff. Gorgeous hotel. We stayed in a Michigan Avenue King Suite on 21st floor with window, windows, windows framing jaw dropping views of both Michigan Avenue and Lake Michigan onto the Navy Pier. Being our home is in Traverse City, Michigan, it was wonderful to again see our Lake Michigan from the big city viewpoint. Room was up to date with simple elegant furnishing. Although we were disappointed that the bathroom faucets and fixtures were a bit out of date, the huge size and design were perfect with separate shower and sink areas. Two nice, separate closets where we could each have our own was convenient. Living area was very nice with french doors separating the bedroom. Classy touches of complimentary shoe shine and evening turn down service with bottled water. Stayed four nights, wish it was longer!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Hotel Too Expensive

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: There is a shopping mall down stairs, guest went to the mall to buy food and water, because it was very expensive in the hotel.
Cons: They should at least offer free drinking water, and add microwave to the rooms. Also always make sure the bed linen is not smelling cigarette smoke.
Location: The location is very good. There is a mall and it is close to Navy Pier.
For the cost of a room you would expect to get more free services, instead you have to pay for every thing you touch. It was a disappointing experience, The name is very popular but the service did not live up to that name at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Wonderful hotel close to everything and everywhere

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: We really appreciated the following.... -friendly staff -great service -quiet rooms -superb view of the skyline and the water
Cons: Nothing at all. It was perfect.
Location: Excellent location for -shopping -transportation -dinning -attractions -pet and family friendly
The Ritz at Water Tower was the best experience in Chicago. It was our first time in Chicago and everything was excellent. Maggie welcomed us to the hotel and upgrated us to a two double bed. It really helped our trip since we were a group of three. The free wifi was a real added value since many hotels charge for that service. Everything we needed was downstairs at the mall and if we needed to get to a place the concierge was more than helpful. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We found the whole city in general was very friendly and safe. We were very surperized how easy and safe Chicago was. We will come back again soon and stay at the Ritz! The only regret was that the time (5 days) went by too quickly!