Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Williamfrom Rosebush, MI

Great Atmosphere andn Location

Posted Dec 23, 2005
The Talbot is a great boutique hotel that has that wonderful old-time atmosphere. It is off Michigan Ave. just enough to be in a quiet, relaxed area. But it is close to great shopping. The bar is a pleasant place to unwind. Our room was large and comfortable. The water pressure in the shower (on the 16th floor) could have been better, but that was our only complaint.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NE

rude front desk and dining room staff

Posted Dec 22, 2005
The evening crew at the front desk and in he small dining room/ bar were rude, arguementative, and could have cared less in even trying to meet our needs after a late arrival by train. We ended up going across the street for service. The doorman, bell staff and others were nice, but when the night "managers" were of such poor quality, we will not return to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom kankakee, ill

nice atmosphere

Posted Dec 21, 2005
I misunderstood that contenintal breakfast was not free. Only one elevator was working. Hard to get up or down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom houston.TX

British Cozy

Posted Nov 30, 2005
Great location. This felt like a small British hotel. All the people were very helpful and cheerful. We missed the Brownies but apparently they serve them between 7 and 9 and they are said to be wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Kentucky

Excellent Hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2005
Wonderful accomodations, with a very helpful concierge. Lobby and restaurant were cozy and the food was delicious.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Cozy hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2005
This is a cozy charming little hotel. If you are in Chicago for power shop along Mag Mile and Oak street, the location of this hotel is great. The room is generous size. If you are light sleeper, like I am, might bother you hearing the noise -elevator motor noise? - I killed that noise by turn on the a/c.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Topeka, KS

A great Hotel close to the Mile

Posted Oct 19, 2005
This was our first time in Chicago and our first time staying in a Talbot hotel. The only reason I rated our overall experience a 4 instead of a 5 was due to the lack-luster wait staff in the hotel restaurant. We had dinner and a breakfast their and both times our waitress (2 different people) were horribly slow and inattentive. However, the food at the restaurant was reasonably priced and excellent. The room was clean and comfortable and the hotel staff was exceptional. I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

Great place...very accomodiating

Posted Oct 12, 2005
Very nice rooms..very spacious...great staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Repeat guest

Posted Jun 12, 2005
Good location and very pleasant accomodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom California

A surprising find

Posted Jun 1, 2005
Disclaimer: We usually wouldn't stay at this class of hotel and are more used to a rather more 'down to earth' experience. That said, we thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Very clean, very friendly and just far enough off Michigan avenue to be comfortable. Basil's bar/cafe served some good food whilst being an accomodating bar with helpful staff. Did not try their in room breakfast as it didn't appeal greatly, but it seemed standard sort of fare from when we have (fairly rarely) stayed in similar accomodation. I wish hotels would branch out from (badly) standardised forms for such things but I guess it keeps it simple for them. Overall a great experience. The friendly staff really made the trip and I would certainly stay there again.