Ratings based on 3,120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
The Whitehall is my go-to Chicago hotel for personal visits on the weekends. Excellent location, reasonable price and a friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Great hotel and close to all attractions.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The look - It is a great looking boutique hotel.
Location: You are within walking distance to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile, Rush Street for restaurants/entertainment.
This is my second stay at the Whitehall and both have been excellent. The hotel is in a perfect location, close to all attractions. I would highly recommend the Whitehall and hope to stay again on a return to Chicago.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern suburbs of Chicago

Not so nice after all

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Small rooms, dusty. Moldy bathrooms, unable to control air conditioner. Staff was nice but hotel glory days are gone and needs renovating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from MIAMI

BUSINESS TRIP TO CHICAGO

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: VERY PRETTY AND CLOSE TO EVERYTHING
Location: ALL SHOPS AND NICE RESTAURANTS
IT WAS COMFY AND VERY CENTRICAL. CLOSE TO EVERYTHING
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel! Great service! Great beds!

Posted Jul 18, 2014
We loved the way we were treated by the entire staff. Very helpful. Very kind. Great beds. Comfortable. Incredible experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Review.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
The hotel is in a terrific location about a block from magnificent mile. However it was a little dark and dreary. It was clean and the help was nice and helpful. I requested a king bed but got a small queen and it was a little soft.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Mesa, CA

Nice hotel.. has an older air of luxury about it

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Nice hotel. Room was as described and bed was comfortable. Not as new as others in the area but satisfying accommodations for the price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Overland Park, KS

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The location was the best. 1 block from the Hancock building, 4 blocks from nightlife, excellent food and close to the "L".
Cons: The concierge was not there until 11 in the morning and that is too late for people that want to enjoy the city from early morning to late evening.
Location: You can enjoy the view from the Hancock building, walk 4 block for nightlife as well as wonderful restaurants and close proximity to downtown.
We stayed 3 nights and had a very nice experience. The rate was reasonable, the rooms were very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. If we go back for another long weekend in Chicago, we will definitely try to stay at this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Chicago Waterfall Hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff, lots of comfortable pillows on the bed
Cons: The rooms need updating. There was no outlet by the bed, which we found odd. Nothing but breakfast service for in-room dining.
I booked this hotel at this last minute using Expedia's unpublished rates (where you cannot see the hotel until you purchase it). The location was good, the staff was very pleasant, and the room was clean and comfortable; however, my daughter and I found it very worn out. The furniture seem aged and worn, as did the walls with peeling paper, the floors with ragged edge carpet, etc. Nothing to the point that I would call and complain - the hotel simply seems in bad need of an update. For a room downtown Chicago right off the Magnificient Mile, the price was excellent and the discount rate I paid was in line with the room. I would have been highly disappointed had I paid more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canton , Michigan

Heavenly comfortable beds and pillows.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Very nice, clean, double room. Beautiful bathroom with nice tile and marble sink. Quiet , despite room next to elevator. Staff and doorman very friendly. Close, 1/2 block,to the hop-on, hop off double decker bus. Good location. Only dislike, the cost of the valet parking, but unavoidable if you drive.