Ratings based on 3,304 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond

Two night stay on recent business trip.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: great location in Chicago at a reasonable price. Room very clean, bedding comfortable. Hotel staff pleasant and helpful.
Cons: took several minutes for hot water to reach shower but eventually was okay - just had to wait a while.
Location: lots of shopping and fine dining located within walking distance. Easy short taxi ride to loop business district.
Whitehall Hotel fully met my expectations. Stayed two nights. Front desk staff pleasant and efficient. Bellman quick to help with obtaijing taxis. Room was clean and modern. AC worked well; large flat screen TV with full cable service and safe provided in closet. Desk and lighting adequate for work with easy access to hotel wifi. Bathroom clean and modern although a bit cramped. Still very adequate with plenty of towels and toiletries provided. Did not use hotel dining facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit suburbs, MI

Everything seems nice, but...

Posted Sep 17, 2014
I have never written a hotel review in my life. I've stayed at some great places and some not so great. In all cases...I got what I paid for and didn't feel the need to report it as such. However, I felt I had to write a review of The Whitehall Hotel because I will NEVER stay at this hotel again. I have nothing bad to say about the staff because everyone was nice & courteous. My complaint is with whoever runs this place. 1. Most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. Tossed & turned all 3-nights I was there and woke with sore back & neck every morning. 2. Bathroom sink was plugged and took forever to drain...and smelled. 3. Water temperature & pressure in shower fluctuated quite a bit. I expect that in places outside the US, but not Chicago. 4. Rooms come with fridges, but are really just mini-bars. The only way to open them is to call down to the front desk to have them unlock it. However, when you open it...it's jammed full of crap. And I was told if you take something out to put your stuff in, they'll charge you any way. You can have a mini-fridge brought to your room for $10/day. 5. Hotel needs some serious cleaning. Hotel location is great. I know this hotel is fairly inexpensive for Chicago, but I stayed at the Marriott on Ontario last year for similar $ and didn't have any complaints. All I expect from an inexpensive hotel is a semi-comfortable bed, decent plumbing, and a mini-fridge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Juan, P.R.

One of the best locations in Chicago next to Shops

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location second to none
Cons: Room refurbishment
Location: One block away from John Hancock Center and the best stores in the Magnificent Mile
Hotel is old but has a lot of details to make your stay more pleasant from telephones in the bathroom to outlets to recharge your i-pad and telephone. Bed is very comfortable as well as the pillows. Top quality toiletries
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Falicia at check was amazing she help out to tired travelers and made us feel at home!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

Small, But Perfect!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
I really enjoyed my stay here. The room was a little small and my view from my window was of a brick wall, but for the price I was able to get the room for, I CAN'T complain! Not the most modern of places, but hotel was clean, neat, and in a perfect location. Definitely would stay again and recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Awesome hotel close to Michigan Ave!

Posted Sep 9, 2014
The staff was very friendly and the bed was EXTREMELY comfortable!! After a 9 hour flight that's just what I needed. Plus, the hotel is right around the corner from Michigan Ave! It's perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Blanc, MI

We chose this hotel based on a recommendation

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Location, just off Michigan Ave. and Rush St., in the Gold Coast area.
Cons: The condition of the bath room, the shower head was low and the ceiling had water damage.
Location: Great location for both Michigan Ave and Rush st
This is a old hotel and it shows it, especially the bathroom, whish was very disappointing for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Reception staff cause confusion and problems

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Service, explanation of facilities and what 'holding your money means'
Location: Very central near the magnificent mile
The stay was very disappointing from the moment we tried to check in. We were early and told to come back at 2pm when we arrived back at 2pm we were told check in wasn't until 3pm. In the room there were unsafe electric sockets, a broken hairdryer, lights that didn't work, holes in the bed linen and when I mentioned this to the front desk who promised to ensure things got better we ended up with sheets with more holes in, an ice bucket rather than and replacement hairdyer the list is endless...... doorman nit moving out of the way and holding doors closed so you couldn't get into the hotel.............. 20 mins to retrieve our bags and to get a cab.......... We were told on check out that our credit card had been charged for sundries at $75/day and this would take 3 -5 days to refund. We queried this whether this was a charge or just authorisation and were told it was a charge/hold. We weren't told about tea and coffee facilities - available to all from 7 - 11am therefore we went to Starbucks every morning, we accidentally discovered the tea and coffee on our last day, it a shame we hadn't been told when we checked in 8 days earlier!!! The only positive is the location but you'd be better of staying in a cheaper chain hotel - I'm not sure I'd even stay there again even if we were offered a free room as it was so disappointing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Nice place for shopping and Loyola University

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Staywd for a week. Close walk to Chicago red line and near Michigan Ave shopping. Food choices were high and low end options. No complaints and I enjoyed my stay. I thought it was a good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fl

Awesome location. Great comfy rooms ! nice staff

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Third time staying at Whitehall. Will come back again. Excellent location ! Very nice rooms and very helpful staff. Chicago at its best !