Ratings based on 3,772 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

I love the fact of it being downtown!

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: The workers were really nice.
Cons: Not being charged for snacks in the room and it could be cleaning as far as dust.
Location: I love the fact that it's downtown. I was just able to walk to the stores, shop and walk back to my hotel the next block.
I was overall pleased with my hotel room but I would suggest that they should dust everything before the resident comes into the room and I didn't like the fact of being charged for the snacks that were placed in the room. My room also smelled like smoke and it was a nonsmoking room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown Chicago

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Rooms are clean and modern. The Lobby is very classy and competitive with big chain hotels. Half a block away from the Magnificent Mile.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Nice for the price.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
This hotel is just fine as long as you aren't looking for cookie-cutter "luxury." Our room with one king bed was plenty big, everything was clean, everything worked, the staff was helpful and the free coffee and tea were fine. Only complaint: a noisy heating system. (We just turned it off at night.). If you want your hotel to be part of your vacation, go somewhere else. If you think of it as a place to sleep, change, and clean up, but require a certain level of cleanliness and comfort, this is fine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible!Horrible valet parking!!!

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: room
Cons: parking
My stay during the Christmas time was terrible. I would say the room is pretty small but clean though. and staff were friendly actually. But remeber, if you decided to stay in this hotel, do not use the valet parking!! I gave them my car and it got scatches when they returned it to me, obviously someone hit my car and they refused to show me vedio. and the worst thing is that they even refused to take responsibilty of that. what I got from them is that they can free my three day parking if I decided to let this go, and I refused his "offer". They told me that the insurance company was going to contact me within two or three weeks, but no call till now. Anyway, DO NOT USE VALET PARKING
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Great room but very clumsy hall way. Nice staff. The facilities are great. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

Great Location!

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Great location & close to major Chicago attractions! Staff was very friendly & helpful!! Great Aisan restaurant within the hotel & nice relaxing bar. Overall great experience!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London Ontario Canada

Great hotel very close to Downtown Chicago.

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Great location, staff very helpful, very clean & great price!
Cons: Concierge hours. We wanted to be up & at it early but sometimes the concierge was not in until 11am & we wanted to be our touring by 9...
Location: Navy Pier, Millenium Park, Hancock Tower, Water Tower...lots of restaurants & shopping. Minutes from the CTA that took us pretty much everywhere!
Pleasant stay!! Had an issue with no heat in our room when we got there but we were quickly upgraded to a junior suite once it was determined that the issue would not be fixed immeadiately. Great location, pleasant & helpful staff. Very reasonably priced!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

room was either too cold or too hot

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Thermostat didn't work right. Toilet was old and hard to flush. No room service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom g

Great location

Posted Jan 8, 2015
I've been staying at the Whitehall since the late '80s through various remodels and owners. It is a decent hotel with a great location in a safe area, 1/2 block off Michigan Ave. The hotel could use a sprucing up as the finishes are a bit tired but it is a good value, especially over the holidays.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2015
The hotel was just ok. The room was smaller then expected. The bathroom had small things broken and shower plumbing backwards, while the toilet is awkwardly placed in the middle. The hotel did have a very excellent staff.